We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in the City” 4 of 5 stars
Review of U Chiang Mai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added U Chiang Mai to your Saves list
U Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   70 Ratchadamnoen Road | Si Phum, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 330 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Oasis in the City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Great hotel from the start. We were greeted with fresh juice. The concierge helped us plan a few things during our stay and were very helpful with taxis, tuk tuks, and directions. The pool and entire area was so calming and inviting. Loved it here!
My only complaint was that they had only down comforters, which I am allergic to... So I slept with the oversized towels. Which were quite plush but obviously not ideal... especially for the price, there should have been an alternative blanket.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    566
    183
    44
    6
    3
See reviews for
115
444
49
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Just spent a week at the U Chiang Mai and really enjoyed it. The staff are great from the minute you arrive until you depart. They are always friendly and helpful with any request no matter how big or small. The breakfast is really nice with a decent selection of hot items that can be ordered. The location is fantastic and central to everything.
Restaurants near the hotel are all pretty good, but for that something different or slightly better try Colosseo Italian Restaurant just around the corner or Dash Restaurant & Bar.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The U Chiang Mai is one of the nicer hotels in Chiang Mai and is a good choice if you don't mind the price.

The location is excellent, being in the middle of the old town and an easy walk (or bike ride - they have free bikes on hand for guests) to the main temples and a lot of great restaurants. If you stay on Sunday, there is a weekend market held in the evening. Interesting, whilst the street outside is reasonably busy the hotel is built in such a way that the rooms are very quiet.

The rooms have all been recently renovated and are very comfortable. The bed was the most comfortable of our trip in Thailand. The bathroom has all the mod cons and a great rainshower. We had the pleasure of our room opening directly onto the pool.

The breakfast was excellent, with a great buffet (including lots of fresh fruit) and a cooked to order main of eggs and some Thai and Chinese options.

There is a spa on hand, with some very good discounts given to guests. I'd recommend booking early, as it's quite small and if you are keen on a specific slot you may find it has already been booked.

My only reservation about recommending this place wholeheartedly (and why I am giving it 4 stars instead of 5), is the price. Whilst it was a very nice hotel, it fell short of being a great hotel. To pick some nits, the grounds were a bit small (which can make the pool area feel a bit claustrophobic) and the staff were professional but didn't go hugely out of their way to help. Overall, I felt they priced themselves a little bit high for what they offered. But in general, a very nice hotel and a good option.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that opens out onto the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

It is right in the middle of the old town. VERY good location. We walked all over the place from the hotel. Easy to get to massage places and great restaurants.
The hotel is modern, new, and clean. Small botiqute hotel. Very comfortable and great service. They allow you to have breakfast anywhere you want: room, pool, lobby, etc. nice touch.
You get to pick out your soap scents too!
I was there for my honeymoon and they made the stay extra special by decorating our bed with roses.
We really loved it and hope to go back again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This is a small boutique hotel centrally located in the old city. We booked this hotel based on tripadvisor reviews, as we could not get into another hotel that we had used on a previous vacation. We were not disappointed.
The rooms are in good condition. The public areas such as the pool, lounge, and library were all very nice. Breakfast was very good with a la carte along with a buffet. A la carte had Chiang mai sausage which was a nice change from breakfast fare in other locations. Staff was very friendly and helpful and we were always greeted when we entered the hotel.
Hotel is well located, within walking distance of many restaurants and some of the major temples.
Would definitely return to this hotel.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I stayed at U Chiang Mai for 2 nights with my wife and another couple. The hotel is very centrally located, an easy walk to just about anywhere in the old part of the city, and a short tuk-tuk ride to the riverside restaurants. It's a little more expensive than most other properties in the area, but much nicer from what I could tell. We booked online and got a better flexible rate by booking early than we would have if we had waited.

The #1 thing I took away from this hotel is its impeccable service. Staff was always eager to help us and answer our questions. They recommended restaurants for us and suggested activities for us to do during our stay. We realized a few days after checking out that we had inadvertently left behind a pair of boots, so I emailed the hotel. They confirmed the boots were there and promptly shipped them to our home in the U.S.

The property is very clean and seems recently updated with modern decor. We stayed in a superior room with a pool view. One quirk that people should be aware of is that the bedroom is raised a few inches above the outside hall and the bathroom. We had to be conscious of the small step in the room when going to the bathroom (especially at night) or entering/exiting the room. The only other room complaint is that the shower water pressure was a bit weak.

The hotel has a restaurant which is just okay. We ate there for dinner one night because we were tired and didn't feel like leaving the property. There were no other customers and the food was just average. The breakfast, included in our rate, was pretty good. You choose from a list of several hot items made-to-order, and there's a small buffet of fruit, cereal, yogurt, juice, and breads/pastries. Coffee or tea is also served with breakfast.

We scheduled massages in the hotel spa one night and were disappointed, not in the masseuses but in the spa rooms. The room temperature was cold, we could hear music which I think came from the U Chiang Mai bar, and my wife got attacked by mosquitoes during the massage. The next day, the hotel had the entire property fumigated for mosquitoes. Props to them for addressing the issue, but we weren't offered any discount on the massages. Maybe that's our fault for not asking. If we had time for another spa treatment, we would have gone to the place next door, which was a little less expensive.

Chiang Mai has many temples to see and an overall great vibe. I only wish we had more time to spend in the city to take advantage of U Chiang Mai's central location. We spent most of our short stay on excursions outside of the city: an afternoon at Doi Suthep and a full day at Elephant Nature Park (highly recommended).

Room Tip: Pool view is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at U Chiangmai before, we loved it then and enjoyed our stay again. The service is great, friendly staff and nice rooms (albeit a bit on the small side). Lovely pool area which is so nice to relax by after a long day exploring. All day breakfast is an excellent service as is their 24-hour policy (if you check-in at 2pm, you can checkout the last day at 2pm, not 10am like most places). Excellent location, perfect for exploring the Sunday Walking Markets right outside your door. Great gym and do take advantage of the free activities. The early morning bike ride is really enjoyable. Please note this is a small boutique hotel, it is most suited to adults, not big families. We found our last visit far more enjoyable as there were only one or two quiet children. This stay was ruined by the screaming three children of one family who took up half the small pool area. It was really disappointing. Please don't bring your big families here, it is not suited for that many children. Stay at a bigger hotel or resort that specialises in accommodating big families.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to U Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about U Chiang Mai

Address: 70 Ratchadamnoen Road | Si Phum, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#10 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#15 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — U Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uncomplicated. Inspiring. You. A low-rise hotel comprised of 41 rooms located in the heart of the city on Ratchadamnoen Road. The Residents’ Lounge to welcome all of our guests is located in the refreshed past residence of Chiang Mai’s governor with a modern Thai accented interior design in keeping with its heritage setting. Only 20 minutes drive from Chiang Mai International Airport and minutes walk to the city’s famous walking streets. Unique concept of service such as 24 hour use of room, breakfast whenever/wherever and U Choose Programme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Priceline, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your U Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
u Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
u Hotel Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai u Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage U Chiang Mai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.