We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant day in the museum!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Museum of World Insects and Natural Wonders

Museum of World Insects and Natural Wonders
72 Nimmanhemin 13, Huay-Kaew Road, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
66 53 211 891
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 102 Attractions in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 stars 130 Reviews
Type: Natural History Museums, Science Museums, Museums
Attraction details
ludlow
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant day in the museum!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Today i went to this museum.. It is with in easy walking distance of the Chiang Mai city centre, I have had a very interesting day here,there are all sorts of different insects from all over the world and Thailand..from large spiders ,centepedes,beetles, stick insects,butterflys,sea shells,fossils and the beautiful types of different stones,,The staff was very helpful and explained what everything was..I now understand more about the mosquitoes and Malaria as there are 459 species in Thailand. i now know that they are not dangerous like people think they are...go and find out the truth about mosquitoes! After i visited this museum i found out that there was another museum owned by the same people..the other is smaller and is very quirky i loved this one... it has 3 floors to it and is packed with amazing things from insects to handmade crafted elephants all from different types of wood the smallest size from 0.5cm upwards so cleverly made,also a very interesting sculpture made from termites biting the wood from many years ago... a beautiful flower was made.. You will find this museum on Rachadamneon road,( Sunday walking street market) cantre of Chiang Mai i loved this museum and i think that all different ages will find it interesing.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    37
    12
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

Great place to visit and so interesting, a family run museum, so you get all the first hand info. Not relaying on a guide, which only knows half the story, I can't believe the doctor is 79!
A great visit.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

You can see thousands of insects and they will also allow you to touch ones that are not poisonous. They also have butterfly garden with beautiful species.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Glad we went....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

An interesting afternoon visiting this Museum. The lovely Dr Rampa Rattanarithikul and her daughter Joy were on hand to make us feel very welcome and explain about the exhibits and her lifetimes work on mosquitos. Highly informative and varied, interesting private collection of natural wonders including petrified wood, fossils, rocks, jems, shells, a plethora of mosquitos and other species and a variety of natures wonders which have been added to their museum over time. There is something for everyone here. A small, fun yet incredible museum, with notes and poems attached to their exhibits. A must do for nature lovers and specialists, we were there for about 2 enjoyable hours and came away with lots of photos.The location was easy to find and there are numerous places to eat nearby after. Well worth dropping in!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katmandu
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
65 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“weird ,but extremely interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

the owner of this museum told us that all the insects here collected where dead,I hope it's true.
the display of this little museum is amazing,one can have an idea of what is crawling or flying in the nature just around us..........the butterflies are fantastic,the coleopters scary,not to mention the terrible scorpions and scolopendras.
some good shell and fossils complete the collection,plus minerals ,all displayed with care ,even if not in a very scientific way.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of World Insects and Natural Wonders also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Museum of World Insects and Natural Wonders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum of World Insects and Natural Wonders, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.