We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable outside seating and good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Miguel's Cafe

Miguel's Cafe
106/1 Chaiyaphum Road | Sriphoom, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
053 874 148
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #186 of 1,361 Restaurants in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 stars 341 Reviews
Price range: $2 - $8
Cuisines: American, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Denver, CO
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Comfortable outside seating and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We enjoyed our Mexican food at Miguel's, which felt more authentic than you might expect in Thailand. The outdoor seating is quite nice as well. A little Cholula or some Mexican spice would have bumped the food up to a 5, but overall it was very nice.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    115
    39
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“When in Chiang Mai - Try Mexican food for a break!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My traveling companions from Texas saw this mexican place and we just had to stop and take a break from our Thai diet.

What a great call, excellent food, beer cold and margaritas pretty good. Service was quick and efficient, and although the restaurant is open air the fans kept the temperature within tolerance. One important fact the ladies in our parties pronounced the bathrooms both western and very clean.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Tex-Mex in Chiang Mai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I eat here weekly so I'm biased. Originally from California thus I need my Mexican food fix. Their salsa is out of this world, the portions are HUGE and the service rapido!! Highly recommend the taco salad. Prices are also uber cheap for the amount of food you're served. Margaritas are strong and cheap!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best Mexican food in Chiang Mai!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I've traveled all over Mexico. This isn't exactly 'authentic', but it's delicious, and a HUGE step up from the competition. I LOVE some Mexican food and since moving to Chiang Mai, have eaten at every Mexican place I can find (El Diablo, Loco Elvis, and even the 'other' Miguels down south is not as good). It's a bit pricey for Chiang Mai standards, but my favorite was the 250 baht combo (mini burrito, enchilada, taco, refried beans, rice). If you're in Chiang Mai, and have a craving for some great Mexican food, check this place out!

The only complaint that I have is that there is no aircon, and the fans were not doing the job. I've eaten at Miguel's a few times, and it feels like you're sitting in an oven.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Rare Find in Thailand”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I'm a Californian. I grew up on Mexican food. I live in the Mission district of San Francisco. Latin food surrounds me. I frequently travel to Thailand and the first food I always eat when I come back to the San Francisco is to make a run to my local Tacqueria. Why? Because I have never been able to find good Mexican food in the Land of Smiles. When I met the owner of Miguel's in a local bar and he told me he had a Mexican resteraunt... I scoffed. He challenged me to go check it out. I took my Thai friend the next day and was pleased that his first taste of the cuisine from America's southern neighbor was good enough. I ordered too much food because I wanted to see how it all tasted... cheese Enchilada... beef Enchilada... refried beans... rice. All tasty. A key for me.. was the cheese salty and smooth enough to be the same as the Queso I adore back home. yes. Were the refried beans made with enough lard content? Perhaps not.. but close. In 10 years of travelling to the Kingdom this is the best Mexican I have tasted. Give it a shot.. I don't think you'll be disappointed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miguel's Cafe also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Miguel's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miguel's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.