We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was Delicious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Girasole by La Gondola

Girasole by La Gondola
71 Rachadamnoen, Chiang Mai, Thailand
053-276388
Improve this listing
Ranked #299 of 1,361 Restaurants in Chiang Mai
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Bangkok
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Everything was Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner at Girasole. The ambiance, though not exceptional, is very pleasant, and the wait staff were wonderful. Salads were crisp and fresh, pastas were al dente, the min courses were great and the desserts were just extraordinary. There was a glitch with the white wine, which had been stored improperly and was bitter. Had we been paying better attention, we would have sent it back at the start, but we were preoccupied with the vodka sorbets, which are over the moon! I would go back to this little gem without thinking twice. With a drink each and sharing a bottle of wine, our bill was US$30 each. Alcohol was half the bill!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    45
    15
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, MD
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Pizza!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

I have been working in Thailand for over one month and I love Thai food. However, it was nice to find a great Italian restaurant with wonderful pizza. They also have a variety of pasta dishes. The eggplant appetizer was delicious!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, WA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful little Italian restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed our meal here. Great food and atmosphere and staff were also quite good. Recommend a meal here if you are in Chiang Mai

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almere
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fine Italian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Indoors in AC or outdoors, the food is wonderfull. True Italian food!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“For those who are desperate to eat western food...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012 via mobile

If you are really desperate to eat italian food, this is ok. But if know italian food, this is average. The milkshake is very good, the menu says that the vegetarian risotto has aspargo, but we could not find them! Them spagetti with sausages and fungi is ok, but them fungi is not fungi that normaly they use in Italy, is not tasteful... All them food seems to best sweet, and they make economy in the cheese. The place is ok near they walking street market, with air-conditioner, and this really valuable in Thailand...
The service is good, fast, but in some moments they forget that theres someone waiting for order. They are kind at least.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Girasole by La Gondola also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Girasole by La Gondola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Girasole by La Gondola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.