We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Fun!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Siam Rice Thai Cookery School

Siam Rice Thai Cookery School
211 Moo 13 Soy 5 | Canal rd.,T.Suthep, Mueng, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
841773160
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 326 Activities in Chiang Mai
Type: Classes/Workshops, Classes
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Hi Everyone, if you're in Chiang Mai you should go to Siam Rice Cooking School! It was so much fun and our teacher Sim made the experience awesome! The food we cooked was so tasty.. It wasnt hard to do and Sim was willing to explain any areas where I got confused! You also got a typed out book with all the recipes of the dishes cooked/mentioned in the class! Do the full day :)

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,022
    101
    18
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape May, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good management”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We forget the teacher's name but he is really good. He was able to manage a big group of students with different choices of dishes. Instructions were clear and we all had excellent hand on experience in cooking Thai food.

The arrangement was flexible. The owners proposed to divide our group of 11 into two classes and taught by two different instructors. The class was fun.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“great class/great teacher”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

A group of 6 of us signed up for the evening class, and we're thrilled that we did. The owner, Pot, taught the class with humor and expertise. We started at the market, learning about the ingredients, and then each participant chose the dishes he/she wanted to cook- I think 4 or 5, each. Everything was delicious and the recipes and instructions were easy to follow. My husband, who is not a fan of cooking, really enjoyed himself, and we all had a great time, and were stuffed, eating our home made goodies. Can't wait to make some of these dishes at home. A great way to start our northern Thailand vacation. Helped us to know what foods to order as we traveled.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The 1/2 day was more than enough. Great Food! Lots of Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

My husband and I did the half-day at Siam Rice Thai Cookery, the morning session. They pick you up at your hotel and you go straight to the outdoor market where you get a brief lesson the ingredients, which is fun. Then you have some time to explore the market and off to the cooking school - which is an adorable house and all the cooking is done outside.

COME HUNGRY! do not eat breakfast. If you do a half day, you cook 3 items - 1) a soup of your choice, 2) a noodle of your choice, 3) a curry of your choice. All are made with chicken but they will substitute items for vegetarians. If you are dead set on making papaya salad you need to do a longer session for it is not an option on a half-day. We were stuffed after the noodles so I don't even know how you could do the full day.

We were nervous about feeling that this would be a waste of time - being halfway across the world to be in a cooking lesson seemed like a waste, but it was a actually a really fun day and we got to try more food than we otherwise did on our own. Plus, the local market was an experience on its own.

The session is lots of fun - my husband and i picked different dishes. The lesson is simple and easy and the instructions are specific. You get a recipe book so you can repeat at home if you like. The instructor we had was hilarious and made the day a lot of fun and worth the time.

Tip: Pick the drunken noodles - when you cook them they flame up and it is great photos!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gongju, South Korea
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A taste of Thailand”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

My friends and I had so much fun taking the full day course with Siam. The market tour, along with the hands-on class was a great experience. I didn't know a lot about Thai food before, so this course was very informative and fun, as it went step-by-step in preparing, cooking, and eating 7 different thai courses. I can't wait to take what I learned and recreate these dishes back home, with the help of the new cookbook provided by the cooking school!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Siam Rice Thai Cookery School also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Siam Rice Thai Cookery School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Siam Rice Thai Cookery School, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.