We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended guesthouse in a Garden of Eden” 5 of 5 stars
Review of PJ's Place

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Mai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
PJ's Place
Save
You added PJ's Place to your Saves list
19, Soi Plubplueng | Huay Kaew Road, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 502 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Recommended guesthouse in a Garden of Eden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2010

Definitely one of the nicest places I've stayed - outdoing even some of the ***** hotels I've been. PJ's Place is a comfortably secluded miniature-resort, carefully designed where each point of view reveals new detail. The garden is a sea of tranquility, a Garden of Eden that seems to support it's own little eco-system. We spent a week, including Songkran and even though I love getting wet 'n' wild, it was easy to retreat and recharge the batteries before rejoining the hustle and bustle. Great food at the nearby Lemon Tree at more than reasonable prices and the very nice Soho bar next door made that we hardly had to leave the area for a complete and totally satisfying week's holiday. Thank you Peter, thank you Jiab!

Please note that the amenities I did not check (swimming pool, restaurant, etc.) are all present at "less than walking distance"

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
33
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
las palmas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2010

I have stayed in many hotels in Chiang Maim but after staying at PJs I will always return there. It is a small Botique Hotel with only 6 rooms and a suite. It was immaculate and the pwners were most helpfiul and friendly It is situated in the centre of town a few minutes walk away from The main shopping mall. A English breakfast is also provided.
Archie Dunlop

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Endicott, NY
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2010

Truly an oasis in Chiang Mai. I stayed in both accommodation levels, De-luxe double and Luxury suite. The suite was so nice I had to remind myself each day that I was in Chiang Mai to see the city and not stay inside a fantastic room. The owners are the best reason to stay at PJ’s Place. They insure that guests needs are met, from airport pickup and drop-off to providing advice on things to see and do. All done with sensitivity to what the guest wants. They provide travel services and more, just ask. Nothing is pushed on you. Breakfast is cooked to order daily. The rooms and grounds are kept in perfect shape, everything is in its place. The rooms are spotlessly clean. Free wireless internet access in rooms. They also had a computer in the lobby for guest internet access. Located on a quiet Soi just a short walk to a big shopping mall. There is a beautiful garden all around the place, with lounges and chairs to relax outside. The smell of the flowers was just wonderful. I highly recommend PJ’s Place to anyone want a nice place to stay in Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2009

PJ's Place is a true home away from home, minus the disadvantages of having to do the building, the decoration, the housework, paying the taxes etc.

The hosts Peter & Jiab, aided y their staff, run the guesthouse like all guesthouses should be. Attending to heir guests' needs, they have succesfully created an inviroment where you can fully relax or enjoy one of the many made to order tours by Jiab.

The rooms and grounds are kept to the highest level possible.

The location makes it easy to shop, go bar hopping or explore the city.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2009

If you are thinking of staying @ a quiet guesthouse, but want the access to the city - you have to stay at PJs! Jieb and Peter are great and the staff will make you feel like you are so special. What a treat! The service is exceptional and Jieb and Peter make sure they pay attention to every detail! Jieb is a geat tour guide and goes out of his way to make sure his guests feel right at home. What a wonderful experience. Thanks Peter and Jeib for making our first (but not last) trip to Chiang Mai most memorable!
Kevin and Jo

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Samui, Thailand
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2009

.


I had originally made reservations at another guest house but when I arrived at that other place, I knew right away I needed to move!

I had already researched PJ’s Place and had my Thai friend take me over immediately by motor bike. The moment Peter (one of the English owners) showed me what my room would look like, I was hooked.

2 days later I moved from my previous stay to PJ’s and experienced awesome service in a very private environment. The room was not only super clean but warm and inviting with enough “Thai” style mixed in with modern conveniences to make it a perfect stay at a very fair price.

It is located close to everything; in fact I often walked to many places. But, it is not far from My Buddy motor bike rental and of course loads of public transportation.

I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2009

I have stayed at PJs' twice now. I cannot think of anywhere I would rather stay in Chiang Mai. The greeting is warm and professional and this continues for the whole of your stay. Peter and Jiab do everything they can to ensure your stay is perfect. Nothing is too much bother for these guys. Jiab is also an authorised travel guide and can offer you some exciting travel itineries. The rooms and suites are of an excellent quality and are cleaned daily by the very friendly staff who greet you so warmly at breakfast. You really must give this place a visit, you will not be unhappy with your choice.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to PJ's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PJ's Place

Address: 19, Soi Plubplueng | Huay Kaew Road, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 502 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PJ's Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.