We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flight of the Gibbon

Flight of the Gibbon
29/4-5 Kachasarn Rd | Chang Klan, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
+66 89 970 5511
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
$111*
and up
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Flight of the Gibbon is Asia's top zipline and nature adventure experience. "Fly" from 33 platforms deep within the pristine, 1,500-year old rainforest. After a short hike into the scenic rainforest, our friendly Sky Rangers safely lead you through an experience of a lifetime. Sky bridges and steep descents from ancient trees connect 7 km of ziplines. Discover firsthand the beauty of the rainforest ecosystem and experience flying with our namesake gibbons. Flight of the Gibbon is a leader in rainforest restoration and primate rehabilitation projects in the area.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Chiang Mai, Thailand
1 review
“Incredible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This was such an amazing experience, went expecting just to get the rush of ziplining, which I did, but also got to see a real rain forest from a really cool angle! Saw real gibbons living wild! The guides were really fun and made the experience even better. 800 meter zip line was crazy! Loved it! Want to go again!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,471 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,149
    229
    55
    19
    19
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great adventure, totally safe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We are over 65 (couple) and simply loved this adventure. The guides are very professional, safety always comes first and it's thrilling but not scary at all! For almost all age groups. Yet, you ought to be fit and a bit sporty! The organization that is behind it should just watch that they keep the high standard and the scientific approach (first comes: we want to protect nature and wilderness, etc... And not first comes money)! Make sure the guides are not under performance pressure with too big or too many groups. We felt their involvement and dedication and their 'safety first' attitude! Lets not spoil it! By the way the included lunch was simple but actually better than expexted.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

The instructors were great (Bas and Eddie), they were really fun and helpful. We felt completely safe with the equiptment. The service was fantastic. Lunch was ok but could have been better. We had a lot of fun and would love to do it again.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I don't enjoy heights, was scared terribley but the staff was so kind, so caring, so encouraging, so coddling that I got through it. Was highly professional, highly safe, so enjoyable if you like zip lining over jungle tops . I highly recommend for those who love this kind of activity. Totally worth the price and service including transport from hotel, lunch Thai style with authentic music, trip to waterfall, all including for the ridiculoous sum of 1500 bat I believe through the Metayell, it's an Israeli group in the center of town, they get the best deals best service we checked all prices through agencies.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Unique experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Our family of five had mixed feelings before we began. My husband is afraid of heights but had bravely agreed to participate. Our eldest child (10) was gung-ho and couldn't wait to get flying. Our middle child (8)was indifferent. And our youngest (6) was terrified.
The zipline tour starts you off easy - short little flights that build up to the long one (800m) lasting 30 seconds. The equipment is clearly well maintained and everything works beautifully. The rope bridges and platforms don't show any signs of wear and tear, everything is very stable and we appreciated the occasional signboards with information about the jungle flora and fauna. Have to hand it to Flying Gibbon for their professionalism!
After 3 solid hours of ziplining, hiking, climbing and abseiling - we agreed : This is really fun and we would absolutely do it again!
Our Sky Rangers, Tim and Boat - were fantastic. They were obsessive about our safety and comfort, light-hearted and positive when we were nervous, encouraging when a child started to balk. They kept us moving at a good pace as well. As you zip through the trees it can be hard to focus on the scenery as it's all pretty much a blur. The sensation of flying, the whine of the cable, and the sounds of the jungle - make for a really amazing experience. Make sure you spray with mozzie repellent before you get suited up! We did the early session and by 11am were getting some bites regardless.
The lunch provided afterwards was tasty and it was pleasant to sit above a mountain stream and listen to traditional Thai music being played by a group of musicians. We did not enjoy the trip to the waterfall as we were really tired after the ziplining and the endless stairs to the top of the waterfall were wet and slippery and too much for the kids. Suggest you skip it.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flight of the Gibbon also viewed

 
Mae Rim, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai Province, Thailand
 

Been to Flight of the Gibbon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flight of the Gibbon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.