We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, exhilerating experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flight of the Gibbon

Flight of the Gibbon
29/4-5 Kachasarn Rd | Chang Klan, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
+66 899 70 55 11
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #31 of 272 activities in Chiang Mai
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Flight of the Gibbon is a unique zipline and nature adventure experience that lets you "fly" through our premier location deep within the pristine, 1,500-year old rainforest. After a short hike into the scenic rainforest, our friendly Sky Rangers safely lead you through 24 platforms, sky bridges and lowering stations that connect 7 km of ziplines. Discover firsthand the beauty of the rainforest ecosystem and experience flying with our namesake gibbons. Based in Chiang Mai, Thailand, Flight of the Gibbon is proud of and active in rainforest restoration and primate rehabilitation projects in the area.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic, exhilerating experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I did the Flight of the Gibbon day tour in April last year and had an awesome day!! I had never done zippling before and it was such an exhilerating experience, so much fun! The guides were very friendly and always made sure everyone was safe. It also seems to be a very minimal impact on the forest as there a just small wooden platforms around some of the trees. A great full day of fun and excitement. Money well spent!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    929
    180
    46
    17
    17
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“I believe I could fly....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Don't think twice.....just do it
Experience and Warm Staff ,who really took time to make the group feel special.
The fringes like the lunch and waterfall was very average ,but you can skip all that and perhaps hire a driver back to hotel or wait around for a lift back.
Wear trainers and gym clothes it's so much more practical .......
You cannot hold anything so don't go with any valuables .
A fantastic experience .

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fun day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Great mountain setting, friendly staff well trained and caring, safe equipment, well maintained. A touch overpriced.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburton, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This was one of the highlights of our trip to Thailand. We were so well looked after by the crew and felt very safe the whole time - and entertained by their treetop antics. We were picked up at our hotel, given the safety briefing and supplied with lockers to keep our belongings safe before we embarked on hours of zip lining fun. The lunch afterwards was great and better than some of the typical buffet lunches you get on excursions. I would definitely recommend this trip - just awesome!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Both good and bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

The actual experience of doing the zip-lining was fantastic, absolutely loads of fun and the staff where great. The food at the end was not-bad as long as you dont mind your food quite spicy, which seeing as your in Thailand you probably don't. BUT it was expensive compared to some of the other company's offering it, and we had a lot of hassels with the add-ons. they were supposed to pay for one nights accommodation and give us 2 zoo passes did not initially do so despite the fact that it was part of the package we bought, and we had to spend a long time arguing with them before they finally reimburse us and give the passes, which was very aggravating to be doing while on holidays, also the accommodation chosen from there list of possible places was of much much lower standard than everywhere else in Thailand that we staid - it was very very dated and ugly and desperately in need of renovation. also the corridors were dark and they and the room smelt funky and not in a good way. The fee zoo pass you revived is also not worth using - the zoo was a big wast of our time, and far worse than any other zoo I have ever visited, most of the exhibits were closed down, and dilapidated, the whole place looked on the brink of closing down also it was hugely spread out so you had to either walk for 15 mins between each still open attraction or catch a bus that came round every 15 min. SO basically we spent an hour or so waiting for buses, saw very few poor exhibits then before realizing what a wast of our time it was a hightailing it out of there, which involved sitting a 25 min bus ride back to the entrance. Even if you had children you would be doing them a dis-service by bringing them to this zoo. Lastly while it was fee the taxi fare there and back is not cheap so we felt very ripped off by the end of the whole thing.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flight of the Gibbon also viewed

Chiang Mai Province, Thailand
 
Mae Taeng, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Flight of the Gibbon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flight of the Gibbon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.