We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Boutique hotel in Chiang Mai” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   351 / 1 Charoen Prathet Road | T Changklan, A Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 333 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Boutique hotel in Chiang Mai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

This was our last stop in Thailand and the hotel was a very nice example of a classic boutique property. We stayed in the White Elephant suite with a beautiful walk out balcony over looking the river. The room layout was a little odd but still charming. My only real complaint was that the bed was very hard. (this is something we noticed as a few of the non chain hotel brands we stayed with. They have free bikes to rent which was great for getting around the Old Town area, or to get to a great massage. The maintenance on the bikes was a little below average but im not sure how many guests actually take advantage of them. Overall a nice stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    160
    29
    4
    2
See reviews for
81
254
37
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Aruntara was our first stop in Thailand during our two week trip. It was our first time to visit Thailand and Chiang Mai was a great first stop, as it is not as busy as Bangkok. Furthermore, Aruntara was a great first hotel! It's authentic to the culture, but also very clean and crisp. The spa had very affordable prices and the breakfast was incredible! We hadn't eaten a real meal in a few days with our long flights, so we felt like we had stepped into a dream when we saw the breakfast spread. All of the staff was very helpful and easy to communicate with and they were very helpful in arranging all of our excursions. If I were to revisit Thailand (which I hope to!) then I would make a point to stay at the Aruntara hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We spent 5 nights at the hotel during the Lantern Festival. In order to accommodate as we needed to change rooms mid stay but that was a small inconvenience in order to stay at this property. The staff was extremely friendly and welcoming, the rooms were spotless and had a modern Thai vibe to them. Breakfast was included in our stay and was a small feast every morning. They also threw a party Sunday evening during the festival, it was really top notch. There was a massive amount of food and it allowed us to try many different types of Thai food we might otherwise have missed. The only downsides are that you will need to bike or take a tuk tuk to get into town since the hotel is a bit on the outskirts. Also, the pool is extremely small and doesn't really lend itself to a day spent laying out.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong SAR
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

I was accommodated in a standard room for 4 nights in Aruntara and welcomed with a nice smile from the receptionist. The iced welcoming tea was tasty and suitable for the summer time! The room was good and spacious with raised platform for the bed. All staff are nice and willing to chat and share travel recommendations. Location was not so remote but a tuk tuk is required for going to the old city. Fortunately they provide free bike for guests so I can get access to old city easily for free, this is especially suitable for solo travelers. The breakfast was not bad and you can it in front of a landscaped area near the river.

Some comments on the hotels are the morning call system and tuk tuk arrangement. The morning call was not working in my first 2 days there and I almost missed my day tour because of this. Though the tuk tuk waiting outside the hotel do not belong to the hotel, but I think some arrangement should be made to control the price set by the tuk tuk driver. In my last trip to Airport Plaza, the driver started with a price at 150 (i guess its overpriced) and I bargained it to 100 (though I think its still high). When I arrived Airport Plaza, the driver demanded 130. I was like being cheated and discounted my travel mood in Chiang Mai at the last moment. I think something could be done such as to coordinate the tuk tuk drivers waiting outside the hotel by setting a fair price system, if practicable. Also, the hotel location in google map is wrong.

Overall, I recommend this hotel to everyone who would like to have comfortable and quiet accommodation in Chiang Mai. Don't worry about the traveling arrangement as day tours can be booked and the guides will come to pick you up in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

I stayed in the White Elephant Room and enjoyed the spaciousness, with a terrace overlooking the quiet river (and jacuzzi tub!). The design of the hotel and room is impeccable and quaint, and you wouldn't be able to tell that you are just on the other side of a pretty busy road. Beds are a bit on the hard side but it didn't bother us too much.

Both breakfast and dinner were not outstanding, although eggs were made to offer and breakfast kept us full half the day. Not a great selection of food. I would recommend going to the night market for cheap local eats instead or visit another hotel for a higher quality meal

The garden is lovely to look at and nothing on the other side of the river to obstruct your view. It is true the location is a tuk tuk ride away from town and not much around the area to do or eat, but that's the price you pay for tranquility.

Service is pretty good, not intrusive but helpful when you need them.

I do wish the tea room could be a gym instead as it wasn't open anyway, and it's a shame the pool and lounge chairs are pretty much in the shade - no sun bathing here!

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osaka, Japan
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

First things first: The peaceful riverfront location is quiet and calming, but not much of anything is convenient. They will let you use bicycles for free, or better yet, just rent a scooter. Even if you do it through the hotel it's not more than ten bucks a day, and it gives you complete freedom. Two can ride on one bike.

The rooms are very tastefully decorated, with nice touches in the furnishings. Bathroom had a luxurious bath and spacious sink area, with a separate room containing the toilet and shower. Very nice to have when sharing bathroom facilities. Many people seem to think the bed was hard. I didn't even notice. Maybe it's from living in Japan.

The hotel has a very understated elegance feel to it. The ground were immaculate, and the breakfast was also a laid back but resplendent affair. Staff was great. I had a passport mishap and they went way beyond the call to help me out.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Pros:
Clean, delicious breakfast, room service was awesome, not bad location (5 minutes by car to night market). Not the best hotel but we still enjoyed our stay here for a good price. All the staff are very nice and helpful.

Cons:
bed was a bit hard, that's all

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel

Address: 351 / 1 Charoen Prathet Road | T Changklan, A Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 333 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aruntara Chiang Mai is a true treasure for hotel aficionados and the traveling cognoscenti alike. Its British colonial design is complimented by Northern Thai influences that embrace the present while respecting the past. High ceilings sit above beautiful towering teak columns traditionally crafted by Thai tradesman. Each of the luxurious guest rooms is designed to offer stylish accommodation with an expansive open-plan living area and an abundance of room to relax and unwind while glancing over Chiang Mai’s Mae Ping River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Splendia, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.