We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, peaceful boutique hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   351 / 1 Charoen Prathet Road | T Changklan, A Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 330 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Modern, peaceful boutique hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Modern, beautiful boutique hotel located by the Mae Ping river – 10/15 min walk away from the “old town” of Chiang Mai. We found it after disappointing stay in B/B outside the Chiang Mai. The lady at the reception desk showed us the room which was decorated with rose petal and swans made from towels. After checking in we received complimentary fruits which was very nice gesture.

We stayed at the Deluxe Room (I guess the “water element” one because of the blue interior) with a view on the courtyard and it was fantastic! The room was elegantly furnished, clean, specious, amazing bathtub separated from the room with wooden sliding doors. There was also separate shower and toilet. The bed was very big but a little bit hard. Buffet breakfast was quite good – beautiful breakfast area. Simple but charming and stylish garden with unique black swimming pool is a perfect place to relax after exploring Chiang Mai. Aruntara has amazing reception area with wide choice of beauty care products. Free bicycle rental and free shuttle service to the Night Bazaar (much cheaper than in Bangkok, Phuket or Khao Lak ;))

Staff was very friendly and helpful with arranging taxi’s, local transport, tours (Elephant Nature Park and Siam Rice Thai Cookery School) advising on sightseeing’s.

Couldn't be happier to spend couple of days of our honeymoon at the Aruntara.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    148
    28
    4
    2
See reviews for
76
242
36
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed for almost two weeks at this delightful and relaxing hotel. With a very friendly and helpful staff. A few times housekeeping needed to be called to fix or recheck supplies, but they always handled it promptly.
The hotel is located fairly close to city centre - and a red cab or tuc tuc will get you far.
Unless you are ready to hit the street food, you need to get away from the hotel in more than walking distance - try the River Market - a very nice restaurant. The hotel ofcourse has it's own restaurant with relatively long waiting time but decent a la carte - and they are very helpful towards children.
The hotel only lacks a gym.

Room Tip: 319 - very nice (Elephant White Suite)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights and loved it. It's a small, cosy but excellent in every way. I believe the service had a big part to play as nothing was too troublesome for them. I travelled with my aged parents who had difficulties in walking and the guys who helped with your bags would always help them over any stairs and doors when they see them coming. Their hospitality always came across as genuine.
Breakfast was a very quiet affair...with birds chirping all around you while you take in the pretty manicured garden right next to the Mae Ping rive. The spread is small but everything you'd want including your bacon, sausages & eggs how you would like them. My only request would be some tropical fruits that are only available in Thailand/ South East Asia be added in for good measure.
On, they have a free shuttle that leaves at 7pm to takes you to the night bazaar. You need to book a space though - although on both nights, we were the only ones on the shuttle. Highly recommended

Stayed February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krabi Town, Thailand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We absolutely loved our stay. The grounds floor were beautiful and serene. our garden balcony was so comfortable. The food was excellent. everyone was so friendly and helpful . We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Spent 6 nights at the Aruntara with my wife and young son at the end of January 2013. Everything in this hotel is superb. The staffs were outstanding. Our stay was wonderful Tara Elegance package which included dinner and free airport transfer. Room was fabulous with a large bath and shower, comfortable, clean, spacious. It's the little things like an iron and ironing board that we can request. They provide the daily free shuttle bus service to the night market great shopping. A little way from city centre (5 minute drive) but that is a good thing and they run shuttles to the main evening attractions and were able to give us a car and a driver when we wanted to drop somewhere else. For sure we will be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

The location, reviews and prices attracted us to stay at this hotel for three nights. The rooms were spacious although the doors are tricky to navigate given that they are narrow. The breakfast, whilst basic, is on par with other hotels we have stayed at. The staff are attentive, keen to please and helped us to arrange our time in Chiang Mai and made us feel welcome. Whilst situated on the outskirts of Chiang Mai, the hotel do provide a shuttle bus to parts of the city. But seats are limited and one night four people were left behind as the mini van was full and made their own way to city centre.

The pool is in a shaded part of the hotel so was too cold for us to enjoy. The back lawn, overlooking the river, has so much potential, and we were drawn in by the Tea room. But this was never open and does not appear ever to have been.

If you are looking for a relatively inexpensive hotel on the outskirts of the city, but within easy transport distance of the main city sights, I would thoroughly recommend this hotel. We have stayed at other hotels in Chiang Mai where we experienced a more enjoyable stay, hence the three stars.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles area
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

My students and I thoroughly enjoyed our one-week stay at Aruntara. What wonderful service and enjoyable atmosphere. Thank you so very much! We look forward to a return next year! The hotel was very centrally located in respect to our needs. It was quite easy to book local transportation to restaurants, shops, the Night Market, massage, and sites. Thank you for providing an excellent experience for my group.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel

Address: 351 / 1 Charoen Prathet Road | T Changklan, A Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 330 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aruntara Chiang Mai is a true treasure for hotel aficionados and the traveling cognoscenti alike. Its British colonial design is complimented by Northern Thai influences that embrace the present while respecting the past. High ceilings sit above beautiful towering teak columns traditionally crafted by Thai tradesman. Each of the luxurious guest rooms is designed to offer stylish accommodation with an expansive open-plan living area and an abundance of room to relax and unwind while glancing over Chiang Mai’s Mae Ping River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.