We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fell In Love and Got Married at the Aruntara Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   351 / 1 Charoen Prathet Road | T Changklan, A Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 330 Hotels in Chiang Mai
NYC
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Fell In Love and Got Married at the Aruntara Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

The most romantic hotel in Chiang Mai. I've stayed at over a dozen hotels in CM and the Aruntara Hotel is my favorite. Food is outstanding, staff is wonderful, rooms are lovely. The hotel exudes romance from check in until check out. The lobby is thoughtfully laid-out and staffed by a group of warm and smiling people. A delicious cool tea is offered at check-in and the process is smooth and speedy. All rooms are accessed through a set of intentionally worn wooden doors that lead into a beautifully landscaped, horseshoe shaped courtyard. This is a real boutique hotel with a 28 room capacity standing at 3 stories. I prefer the first floor units which feature small gardens with a large and comfortable leather lounger at your front door. Rooms are warmly lit and comfortably appointed and the bathroom is large enough for two. The open layout of the room may not appeal to the more prudish but it holds great appeal to a loving couple. I fell in love during my first stay (November 2010) at the Aruntara and I held my wedding reception there one year later. The hotel began preparing the large garden area at the rear of the hotel the day before our evening reception and the results were spectacular. A petal strewn path led the 60+ guests to a flower-strewn heaven. The Mae-Ping River set the backdrop to a rollicking night. Chiang Mai has a vibrant Jazz community and my wedding band, led by my new brother in law, was a CM all-star band. The buffet, wedding cake, and services provided by the hotel were incredible. They couldn't do enough for us. Great thanks to the staff and the hotel manager Khun Dusit, Thanks to the friendly front desk staff, Namta, Aire, Guy and everyone else at the hotel that made my wedding and my stays, memorable. The Aruntara Hotel is a great place for grown-ups.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    148
    28
    4
    2
See reviews for
76
242
36
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Newton, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

Boutique correctly describes this hotel. The room, bed and bathrooms are clean and very comfortable, not luxurious. I had breakfast at the restaurant and would have liked more fresh fruit, but everything else about the breakfast including the fresh-made omelets were excellent. The front desk was always offering to help, as was everyone I encountered, and after I left they really amazed me. I had left a shopping bag in the lobby of the hotel, and I realized this only when I was at the airport and it was too late to go back. I called and asked if they could send it by taxi, but one of the staff brought it on a motorcycle as a courtesy. I highly recommend this hotel even before this unique and gratifying above-and-beyond service.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

We first booked the then #1 of hotels in Chiang Mai on TA, Secret Garden due to the almost fanatical rave reviews. We lasted 1 night only there because it is very much like a backpacker hostel the 50 and above crowd. We moved to Aruntara on the 2nd day and never looked back.

This was in March. I'm not sure if it was off-season or what but the beautiful hotel seemed empty. This wasn't a bad thing because the service was prompt and wonderful. It was a joy to have the place to ourselves. There were possibly 2 other couples at breakfast which was delicious and made-to-order. The hotel grounds at night was romantically lit up. You could sit at the big tables in the courtyard and even go swimming in their small plunge pool. It was like having a huge private villa to yourselves.

The only bad thing was that I woke up the morning of our first night with a huge mosquito bite on my eye. I'm slightly allergic so my eye was swollen for half the day. We showed the front desk staff and they upgraded us to a suite overlooking the river. Exquisite. Both our rooms were spacious, modern, very romantic (big bed, dark teak), and clean. Big bathrooms.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

Great boutique hotel - easily go for $$$ in San Francisco. Beds are hard, but my only complaint.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

We have visited Thailand many a times and have been to places like Bangkok, Pattaya,Phuket etc..but this experience of chiang mai has made us fall in love with thailand all over again..right from landing at the airport and seeing around chiang mai it was an exhilirating experience..the best thing about this entire trip is the hotel where we stayed that is Aruntara Hotel..no words to describe the experience staying in this hotel..excellent staff, food, ambience and the river flowing behind the hotel gives it a superb experience to stay..also it is not very far aways from the market place..in case if anyone wants to visit chiang mai they should try staying only at aruntara..also it is not at all expensive for the experience..

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor with a balcony..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

The Aruntara is an extremely attractive boutique hotel. It is also very good value as the price must be about half what it would be were it more centrally located. We loved the design and the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. We also particularly enjoyed the Loi Krathong dinner.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

We loved this hotel so much. The staff are super friendly, the spa is fantastic and the rooms are incredible. Amazing luxury for a great Thailand price!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel

Address: 351 / 1 Charoen Prathet Road | T Changklan, A Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 330 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aruntara Chiang Mai is a true treasure for hotel aficionados and the traveling cognoscenti alike. Its British colonial design is complimented by Northern Thai influences that embrace the present while respecting the past. High ceilings sit above beautiful towering teak columns traditionally crafted by Thai tradesman. Each of the luxurious guest rooms is designed to offer stylish accommodation with an expansive open-plan living area and an abundance of room to relax and unwind while glancing over Chiang Mai’s Mae Ping River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.