We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charcoa Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Charcoa Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Charcoa Bed and Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   4 Soi 1 Sriphum Rd. | Inner The old town, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Booking Direct
Ranked #127 of 537 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

Charcoa House is a wonderful little hotel within the city moat in Chiang Mai. The staff are kind and attentive and you feel like you are at a friend's guest house when you are there. The rooms are immaculate and very nicely designed and well thought out. Included in your room is breakfast which can be chosen from a short list which includes of pancakes, waffles, eggs, muesli, or noodle soup and the usual coffee, tea or juice. The rooms have television, kettle with coffee or tea included, complimentary water, shampoo and soap, clean fluffy towels and crisp white sheets. There is also a hair dryer in each room which is nice as you don't always find this in Thailand and handy to dry items quickly. Some rooms are two level and stairs accessing the bedroom above.

The hotel can assist with tours and also rents cute little bicycles. Wifi is free in the hotel and restaurant although those with iphones may have trouble connecting for some reason. However, there is an accessible computer in the reception area if you don't have your own laptop.

The hotel is close to some great restaurants within walking distance including a great organic vegetarian restaurant (Blue Diamond) and a great fusion, western restaurant (Ginger @ Kafe). Tuk tuks and red taxis are plentiful just a few steps away except in the late evening in which case you may need to ask the reception desk for assistance in calling a taxi or tuk tuk.

There is a bar across the street which sometimes plays music quite late although not every evening. This may disturb your sleep if you are a light sleeper however, in most of Chiang Mai you can hear noise of all sorts days and night so this is not unusual if you are in the city environs.

Great location to walk to all the major sights and temples in town.
Highly recommended hotel in Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    55
    11
    3
    3
See reviews for
12
52
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2010

We booked in advance into Charcoa House in Chaing Mai. We arrived and found the place as described and the facilities were good.
We did however have a problem with staff. We wanted to see some elephants in a way which respected them and helped them so we choose to book into the elephant nature park. We spoke to the woman at reception who had the best English and seemed to be in charge. She went to a corner and pulled out the brochure for the Elephant Nature Park from a large pile (it wasn’t displayed like the other elephant companies). She rang up in front of us and booked us into it for the following day. She confirmed after getting off the phone that she had booked us in for the following day and gave us details of when and where they would pick us up from. When we returned from our outings that day she came up to us and said that the Nature Park had rung back and said that they now didn’t have space for us tomorrow and because of that she had booked us into another one for the following day. She handed us the brochure, it was one of the ones displayed prominently.
We said we definitely wanted to go to the Elephant Nature park and could she please ring up and book us into them the day after tomorrow, she didn’t do this in front of us and we were quite suspicious of this, so we asked her again and she finally rang up in front of us and booked us in for the day after tomorrow. We were quite suspicious and went back to our room and rang the place directly and they said they had room the following day and so we changed the booking ourselves and went, as we wanted to, the following day. We therefore think she lied to us to go on a different company. The reason, we don’t know for sure, but probably commission, or the size of commission between the companies. Pretty disappointed. We won’t stay there again because of this.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

stayed there for 3 nites in the superior room. cosy country settings. location is abt 20-25 mins walk away from the night baazar. 20 mins drive from airport. customer service were extremely polite and friendly. breakfast selection might be a little limited. would be good to try their ala carte food which was excellent! (esp the strawberry shortcake) free wifi is an additional plus!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

After spending 6 days on the back of a motorcycle touring around Northern Thailand arriving into the cool secluded haven of Charcoa house was a welcome and needed relief!
The bed was so comfy and the breakfast very delicious.
It was a little bit away from the main markets but it's in a nice popular area.
The room was gorgeous and it was a pleasure to stay there.
It was a bit pricey for Thailand's standards but for us it was just what we needed!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2010

Situated at the north east tip of the walled old town this is a lovely hotel with a peaceful atmosphere away from the hustle and bustle of the town centre. I was with a party of four, me and my girlfriend taking a pantry suite which has the bathroom (a wetroom) and living area downstairs including an lcd tv, fridge, sink and microwave, and the large double bed upstairs with another tv and hifi system. There was plenty of room both upstairs and down, and the aircon was effective and quiet. Our friends stayed in a standard double room which was still well proportioned and well equipped. The hotel offered a decent breakfast selection and there's a shop just next door for emergency beer runs. We walked all over the old town during our stay and found nowhere better to stay. Recommended.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2010

This place is a dream - absolutely spotless, staff really friendly, sweet rooms with complimentary water & tea and delicious food. Breakfast is awesome and we had dinner there every night as well.
Also enjoy the little rooftop bar right opposite the hotel - it's really worth a visit.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poitiers, France
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2010

Having read all the glowing reports about the Charcoa, we were really looking forward to staying there. It looked so pretty in the photos and the 'de luxe suite' promised to be a real treat.
Alas, treats were not on the cards. Room #4, nearest to reception (and clearly the worst room in the Charcoa!) was minute, had no window - just a glass door opening onto a well-like structure.
The bed was crammed against a wall making access difficult and reading in bed impossible. Noise from the reception area just outside our room made it difficult to get to sleep, added to which, the mattress was like a brick and we awoke next morning aching all over.
The staff were helpful and offered us another, much better room but at an extra 500 baht per night we declined their offer. The problem with the Charcoa is that is has clearly made the mistake of believing its own publicity and, like many hotels/guest houses that have received gushing reviews from Lonely Planet etc, there is, inevitably, an element of resting on past laurels.
Eventually we were moved to a better room (#8) at no extra charge and enjoyed the rest of our stay. On the plus side, most of the staff were helpful and free wi-fi was a definite bonus. Breakfasts were ok but hardly fantastic as they'd been described by another reviewer. Location was fine and cleanliness certainly wasn't an issue.
I would recommed the Charcoa to a friend but with the proviso that they avoided the downstairs rooms like the plague!
Go to the Siam Celadon for a stylish lunch in a pretty shady garden while in Chiang Mai Also, the Tamarind Village Hotel is an oasis of cool chic and great for a sandwich lunch around the pool.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Charcoa Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charcoa Bed and Breakfast

Address: 4 Soi 1 Sriphum Rd. | Inner The old town, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 537 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Charcoa Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are sure you will enjoy your stay in this beautiful European country house Hotel. Our lovely Restaurant serving you an international meals, original Thai food, different appetizers and delicious coffee grown in the surrounding mountains of Northern Thailand. We would like to invite you to stay at our exclusive Bed & Breakfast and enjoy your holidays in Chiang Mai - The Rose of Thailand. We will be always at your service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Charcoa Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charcoa b&b
Charcoa Hotel Chiang Mai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charcoa Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.