We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tradition and Unique Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Neil's Tavern Restaurant & Bake Shoppe

Neil's Tavern Restaurant & Bake Shoppe
58/4 Soi Ruam Rudee, Wireless Road, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
+66 2 256 6874-6, +66 2 256 6644
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,064 of 8,056 Restaurants in Bangkok
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
403 reviews 403 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 175 cities Reviews in 175 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
“Tradition and Unique Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Even though we had not been at the Neil's Tavern Restaurant for some time, we still look forward to go back again soon. The Tavern has some of our favorite dishes that we can not find in any other place. Their famous mussels baked with cheese, their spare ribs, and their way of presenting various type of steak for your choosing before cooking. The Tavern had been operated as a family business and tried to maintain their level of quality of food and service for all these years. Sometime in a fast moving F&B market as Bangkok, it is not so easy to do so.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    43
    15
    9
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Guantánamo, Guantanamo, Cuba
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great food and a bakery to die for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Not cheap but if you want to feel like your in another city fine dinning, this is it, no great views, good atmosphere , but very good food and fine service. makes you feel like your in an upscale place in a major US city.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Afternoon Cake”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I follow one of the blogger to eat at Neil's Tavern. I didn't have a chance to eat here yet, only went for afternoon cakes with girlfriends. They have like 30 choices ++ cakes and nice tea and coffee. So, I think it's a good place to chill out with friends in the afternoon. They have only 4-5 tables for the bakery zone. It's pretty small but it makes you feel like you are in the cafe in the States.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Repeat performance!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

You can't beat the smoked lobster! It is just about the best thing I have ever eaten. Garlic bread is great! Spinach au gratin is an excellent side dish. Wine is pricey. Dinner for two was B8,000. I will return. Maybe I should order two lobsters & forget about everything else?

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vientiane
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Like a favourite uncle...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Neil's Tavern isn't cheap. It's not very inventive. The decor is far from modern. The lighting is terrible. The menu is as predictable and old fashioned as it gets. They play a crackly Bing Crosby version of happy birthday for special occasions. And that's what makes it a great place.

If you want a great tender steak, the sort of buttered vegetables your grandmother used to prepare, salads that rely overwhelmingly on iceberg lettuce, or crepes suzette and irish coffee flamed and served at your table by a bow tie wearing waiter, then Neil's is the place for you.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Neil's Tavern Restaurant & Bake Shoppe also viewed

 

Been to Neil's Tavern Restaurant & Bake Shoppe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Neil's Tavern Restaurant & Bake Shoppe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.