We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eat Me Restaurant

Eat Me Restaurant
20 metres off Convent Rd | (In Soi Pipat 2), Silom, Bangkok 10500, Thailand (Bang Rak)
+66 2 238 0931
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #97 of 8,519 Restaurants in Bangkok
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Doing business, Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Bang Rak
Bangkok
2 reviews
“1st class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

On our recent visit to Bangkok we visited this fantastic Restaurant on 4 occasions, the food, the staff attention to detail and service, and the ambiance which we found to be unequaled in the other 7 Restaurants we visited during our stay in Bangkok. The last time we went to this Restaurant was in 2010 and found then that this establishment was going to change the fine dining experience in Bangkok and found this to be so. We once again enjoyed the experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    512
    280
    83
    22
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“You must eat here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We came to Eat Me with friends who lived in Bangkok for 7 years and ranked this restaurant at the top of their list.

The menu is eclectic, yet we didn't have a dish we didn't absolutely love.

The prices are really reasonable for foreigners (on the expensive side for locals).

I had the heirloom tomato salad with olive oil ice cream. It was absolutely amazing.

Make sure you save room for dessert! The sticky date pudding was AMAZING. I wanted to order a second. We also had the flourless chocolate cake, which was incredibly light in texture, and the pavlova.

Cocktails aren't bad here, and they pour you a special Snicker's shot at the end of your meal!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“disappointing and very expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The restaurant is located in a pleasant house and has a nice modern design. You can choose to have dinner either on the terrace or in the dining room.
We come to Bangkok every 2 to 3 years and have had dinner at Eat Me at each of our visits. We were really disappointed during our latest visit in February 2013. The menu is promising with exciting descriptions - but what you get is rather heavy, flavours are not really blended.
Prices are incredibly expensive for Bangkok - indeed not very different from our home city Paris. We selected one of the cheapest wines on the wine list because we could not afford the other ones and we could not finish the bottle because of its very coarse and dull taste.
Service is rather professional - even if it is a little irritating to have a waiter proposing to add pepper from his huge pepper pot on all your courses (why the hell don't they do it in the kitchen if they think it is required, or why don't they provide pepper on the table to avoid disturbing the guests ?).
Much to our regret, we cannot really recommend this restaurant - and Bangkok provides today many other more recommendable options with more value for your money.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
331 reviews 331 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
333 helpful votes 333 helpful votes
“Where else would you go?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

A TOP PICK: Trendy attracting date nights and wanna be cool business dinners, patrons are all nicely dressed. Excellent service from bevy of staff. Located near Patpong, short walk from subways (2 stations nearby). It's not that big and popular with locals and ex-pats - you need a reservation or risk disappointment.

Ground floor is a chic bar, please stop, definitely order one of the special cocktails - bartender does an amazing job with local fresh ingredients. Restaurant is 2nd floor with in/out seating (open courtyard).

The menu is a head twister. It's fusion or simply an eclectic mix of "stuff". The one miss was the homemade ravioli with blue cheese and fig sauce. Sadly, the ravioli (while handmade) didn't have enough filling and came off more as a carb fest. The grilled chicken thai style was excellent and more than enough for 2 to share. Probably not a bad dish on the menu.

The wine list isn't extensive (3 red/3 white). Thailand has uber taxes on wine. The owner smartly has all the local wine distributors in a huff, he buys close out deals and buys in bulk. The good news - a price of decent bottle of wine won't break your bank.

The total bill considering this is likely my #1 'go to' in Bangkok is a relative bargain.

All in all - this is the place to be, be seen and enjoy a nice evening. Not touristy and hopefully if YOU go, try not to junk up the place BE LOCAL.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
“A bit overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Had been wanting to visit the restaurant and valentines day was a good occasion. Everything was looking great since I walked in. Warm greetings from the waiters. a little impressed with the quality of service for the fact that staffs were very attention. Great food presentation. Unfortunately there's nothing special for the food. I started with the prawn and scallop ceviche with pomegranate for the taste was too light and a bit bland. Had salmon steak for main course. its just ok.
3 stars for the food. but definitely 5 stars giving to the ambient and service.
Probably go back and try different dishes.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eat Me Restaurant also viewed

 
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Eat Me Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eat Me Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.