We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very hip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Koi Bangkok

Koi Bangkok
26, Sukhumvit 20, Sukhumvit Road, Klong Toey, Bangkok, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
6622581590
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #726 of 7,876 restaurants in Bangkok
Price range: $62 - $69
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very hip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Koi is a hip restaurant and bar combined. From outside it looks like cool with a modern garden and inside it is even more stylish. The food is mostly Japanese but it is not just sushi or not just the normal Japanese restaurant food, they have made their own twist. If there was one thing I didnt like it was that the waiters seemed like they need a bit more training or experience, maybe mine was a new recruit because seemed a bit confused.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    42
    26
    12
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“simply i like this place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

service, food, drinks, music , atmosphere...good to be there for a before ;)
I came many times and never had something bad there well i can recommand this venue sure ;)

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Very poor service, dark overpriced, inefficient.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Had dinner here tonight. The servers barely understood English. My smelt egg and ell special sashimi orders came 30 minutes after Set A sashimi, ordered together. They a good atpushing large plates but incompetent at explaining anything else. The sake bottle I ordered was not chilled I had to wait for it. The wait staff kept interrupting conversations and refilling glasses despite being told 3 times not to. The decor is cheesy and noveau riche. The food is adequate, but overpriced. The restaurant was empty at 830 pm on a Saturday evening. There are at least 50 better places, within walking distance

What more can I say? Avoid this place and save your time and money!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
302 helpful votes 302 helpful votes
“What happened to Koi?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Visited Koi after about a 6 month absence (so many good restaurants to choose from). Took important visitors for what I thought would be an impressive Japanese fusion dinner, in a restaurant that I know to have good food and nice decoration/ambience.

The service was terrible. Server couldn't explain 4-5 dishes, and had to go back to the chef - I appreciate the extra effort, but the menu doesn't change often enough that staff wouldn't know what the dishes are.

Additionally, dishes were served slowly - and when the "hot dishes" came, they were already cool or cold. This was not a busy night so it's difficult to understand why service and kitchen were so off. Inexcusable!

Flavors were good, but not great. Sushi rice was a little bland and overly wet - embarrassment for any sushi chef. Miso cod was nice (although cold). Only really bad dish was the Skirt steak - tough and tasteless. (Maybe should be braised or marinated to ensure softness?)

Physical part of Koi is still nice - good location, good bar, good decoration. But the equally important parts of a restaurant Service and Food - fell way short.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Atmosphere & Creative Japanese Fusion Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

I like to seat at the Sushi Bar & enjoy the chef recommendation of the day while zipping some warm Sake!!! Try the Dragon Roll, Toro Sushi , Steam Snowfish with Ginger, & Wagyu Beef Ribeye.
The bar is awesome for after dinner drink.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koi Bangkok also viewed

 
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Koi Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koi Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.