We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooftop view with amazing indian food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rang Mahal Restaurant

Rang Mahal Restaurant
19 Sukhumvit Soi 18, Sukhumvit Road, Klong Toei | On the 26th floor at The Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
+66 2 261 7100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #134 of 8,069 Restaurants in Bangkok
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Street Food
Description: Traditionally, "Rang Mahal" was the pleasure house and banqueting room specially decorated by Indian Kings. Rang Mahal concentrates on offering truly, authentic Northern India delicacies all whilst taking in some of the best views of Bangkok. Winner of Thailand Tatler's Best Restaurant for over a decade.
Beverly Hills, CA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Rooftop view with amazing indian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

I came here 4 years ago and it's just as good as I remember. The view is awesome. Service is great. Food is incredible. Samosas were a great starter. Masuman curry spicy yet great. Tandoori chicken was succulent. Biryan was incredible.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    102
    46
    7
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LED
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Great View, Disappointing Food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Rang Mahal offers beautiful views of Bangkok (it's on the 26th floor), great atmosphere and very attentive, pleasant service. The prices reflect all that, and would not be unreasonable if only the taste of the food was on par with everything else. Unfortunately, the menu is limited, and the food, although well-presented, is mediocre. That said, the naan was quite perfect; a shame that the bread was the best dish of the whole 2-person meal...

Bottom line: if you are after an Indian-themed dining experience, Rang Mahal will not disappoint: it looks right, sounds right, is clean and beautiful. However, if you simply want authentic, irresistibly delicios, rich Indian food, forget the dress code and look elsewhere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Lovely location and great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

High-quality Indian cousine, nicely presented and a good selection of wines, with a breath-taking view for a reasonable price.
Great experience, we reccomend to reserve a table in advance in order to have a window table. Highly recommended!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Rang Mahal...... Rank Mahal!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

After seeing an advertisement stating that this is the best Indian Restaurant in Thailand we decided that we must give the Rang Mahal a visit.

After being seated in a lovely looking restaurant with a spectacular view of Bangkok. Our first impressions were good.

The menu was rather limited so we assumed that a small variety of exceptionally tasting dishes must be what has won this restaurant so many awards.

Unfortunately this was not the case..... The popadoms which were supplied to us while we were waiting for our meals were exactly the same as the ones that you can buy from the supermarket.

I ordered one of the special kebabs which had a long enticing paragraph written about it on the menu. When it came it was more like some spicy pate / catfood accompanied by two Warbutons pancakes.

The cheapest bottle of red wine was 1000 baht. (Around £20) This was about as fine as Blossom Hill.

When we payed our bill, the waiter then gave our change to another couple!!!

To summerise, if this is the best Indian restaurant in Thailand. I would stick to Thai food where you can get a far tastier and substantial meal for around £1.50

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Probably the best Indian Restuarant in Bangkok”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We would never have found this excellent restaurant without the enthusiastic recommendation of our Indian tailor - George, of George Custom Tailors in Soi 15, Sukhumvit (check him out if you need any tailoring). The setting is stunning - a rooftop restaurant with wonderful views of the city all around, along with an outdoor viewing area, both worth a visit in themselves. The restaurant is sumptuously appointed with very fine furnishings. The staff are beautifully presented and very gracious. There is also a resident Indian musical trio, who will accept requests, and often an Indian dancer as well.
Having eaten a great deal of Indian food over the years, I always judge a restaurant by having the same two dishes on a first visit. Both were quite outstanding! My dining partner made different choices and was equally impressed.
This is an expensive restaurant for Bangkok, however, and the wine list, while extensive for the genre, is similarly pricy. That said, it was well worth it for this dining experience.
Finally, be aware that men in shorts are not permitted. But if, like us, you arrive in shorts having had a full day elsewhere, the restaurant is geared up to lend you a pair of long trousers!
If you enjoy Indian food, you will love the Rang Mahal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rang Mahal Restaurant also viewed

Bangkok, Thailand
Bangkok, Thailand
 
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Rang Mahal Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rang Mahal Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.