We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Indian food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rang Mahal Restaurant

Rang Mahal Restaurant
19 Sukhumvit Soi 18, Sukhumvit Road, Klong Toei | On the 26th floor at The Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
+66 2 261 7100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #113 of 7,818 restaurants in Bangkok
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Street Food
Description: Traditionally, "Rang Mahal" was the pleasure house and banqueting room specially decorated by Indian Kings. Rang Mahal concentrates on offering truly, authentic Northern India delicacies all whilst taking in some of the best views of Bangkok. Winner of Thailand Tatler's Best Restaurant for over a decade.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Indian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Well if you like Indian food when your visiting Bangkok. Rang mahal is the place. We had the window seats so was a great atmosphere and also very cozy. Service was very good as well.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    178
    83
    38
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“gr8 food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

one of the best indian food ive ever had.classic lovely staff...service with a smile. the scenic view was good went after going through a horrible experience to a indian restaurent called bukhara at asok was a change altogether.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aix-en-Provence, France
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Scenic view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

The concierge of my Hotel , recommend us to go there. It's a Nice place, with an amazing view of BKK' s city. ( book a table near the windows) , i recommend to make a réservation. (Dress code, casual) There are 4 rooms, 1 big, 2 small, and a big one behind for the group with a live band. We ve been in the small Room, only 4 tables. The food is very good, Good teste and flavours ... One of the best indian restaurant where we have been ( face, indus). We have ordered Samosa, chicken tikka, lamb shese kebab, lamb curry massaman, Nan bread.... However, i don't Like the staff, not friendly, never smile....very cold ambiance . It' s very pricey ( 9000bath/ 5 pers incl. Wine)

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Too expensive and The taste just was ok.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I were there just because I heard some nice reviews before, Ummm the view was great and what I think was great also is Live Indien Music...really good and I really loved it but for the food taste I would like to say GOOD but can be better in another restaurent. The prise really HIGH and I think because its located in hotel then the prise always special schocked customer! :-)

I think, 3 points already enough for Nice live indien music, Nice view, Good service.
When the prise cheaper...then get my last 2 points!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“A great yet a little to formal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Love Rang Mahal, though the only negative comment i can say is that its not a just rock up in your jeans kind of place, I always feel the need to dress up as it just exudes that ambience, The food though is amazing, the Kebabs and curries are amazing and the array of indian breads are just fantastic... mmmm i am hungry just thinking of the place

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rang Mahal Restaurant also viewed

 
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Rang Mahal Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rang Mahal Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.