We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scenic view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rang Mahal Restaurant

Rang Mahal Restaurant
19 Sukhumvit Soi 18, Sukhumvit Road, Klong Toei | On the 26th floor at The Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
+66 2 261 7100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #132 of 8,055 Restaurants in Bangkok
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Street Food
Description: Traditionally, "Rang Mahal" was the pleasure house and banqueting room specially decorated by Indian Kings. Rang Mahal concentrates on offering truly, authentic Northern India delicacies all whilst taking in some of the best views of Bangkok. Winner of Thailand Tatler's Best Restaurant for over a decade.
Aix-en-Provence, France
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Scenic view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

The concierge of my Hotel , recommend us to go there. It's a Nice place, with an amazing view of BKK' s city. ( book a table near the windows) , i recommend to make a réservation. (Dress code, casual) There are 4 rooms, 1 big, 2 small, and a big one behind for the group with a live band. We ve been in the small Room, only 4 tables. The food is very good, Good teste and flavours ... One of the best indian restaurant where we have been ( face, indus). We have ordered Samosa, chicken tikka, lamb shese kebab, lamb curry massaman, Nan bread.... However, i don't Like the staff, not friendly, never smile....very cold ambiance . It' s very pricey ( 9000bath/ 5 pers incl. Wine)

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    102
    46
    7
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Too expensive and The taste just was ok.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I were there just because I heard some nice reviews before, Ummm the view was great and what I think was great also is Live Indien Music...really good and I really loved it but for the food taste I would like to say GOOD but can be better in another restaurent. The prise really HIGH and I think because its located in hotel then the prise always special schocked customer! :-)

I think, 3 points already enough for Nice live indien music, Nice view, Good service.
When the prise cheaper...then get my last 2 points!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“A great yet a little to formal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Love Rang Mahal, though the only negative comment i can say is that its not a just rock up in your jeans kind of place, I always feel the need to dress up as it just exudes that ambience, The food though is amazing, the Kebabs and curries are amazing and the array of indian breads are just fantastic... mmmm i am hungry just thinking of the place

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“What a view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The food here was great and there is a great view over Bangkok from 26 floors up! It was quite pricey but was worth it.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Top Contributor
501 reviews 501 reviews
258 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
290 helpful votes 290 helpful votes
“The best Indian food you can find in Bangkok”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Forget about the stand-alone Indian restaurants in the Sukhumvit area, no matter how posh their decoration or how old they are. Rang Mahal continues to set the standard for fine Indian dining in Bangkok. This is a feat considering it has been in business for a long while.

We had a Sunday brunch and it was wonderful. Although I was disappointed at not getting a few of my favorite Indian dishes like Biryani or Dal Makhni, one cannot fault the superb quality of the food on offer. I loved the Rogan Josh and the Paneer in gravy. The Pulao was nice, and the Lassi was even better.

Service was friendly and efficient. A big plus is you get a grand view of Bangkok from the 26th Floor of the Rembrandt Hotel, and there was soft live Indian music to help you thoroughly enjoy
the lunch.

Indian food is not hard to find in Bangkok these days, but great Indian food is. Rang Mahal does not disappoint one bit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rang Mahal Restaurant also viewed

Bangkok, Thailand
Bangkok, Thailand
 
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Rang Mahal Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rang Mahal Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.