We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful five-star dining experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Normandie Restaurant at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok

Le Normandie Restaurant at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
48 Oriental Avenue, Bangkok 10500, Thailand (Bang Rak)
+66 2 659 9000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 9,512 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $153
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Bang Rak
Description: Under refurbishment and will reopen in December 2015
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A beautiful five-star dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is not only a wonderful restaurant for Thailand, but a wonderful restaurant of the world. Above all, the service was a standout - the waiters were remarkably attentive in every possible way.

Secondly, the atmosphere is beautiful. Waiters wear white jackets, men must wear coats, ladies are to wear elegant attire, unique flowers adorn each table and the lights of the Chao Phraya River shine below.

The food is expensive for Thailand but not expensive for what it is. We have eaten at many fine dining restaurants in Australia and the service at Le Normandie exceeded all of them. In fact, this is one of the best restaurants we have been to in the world.

Everything was perfect. Would love to go back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Australian_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pleasant French Dinner over looking Chao Praya River”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The restaurant etiquette has been changed since my last visit few years ago. The service become more casual and the food too. The food was good but not as good as before. I took gastronomic menu with wine pairing but the wines chosen didn't really match with the food ex: very dry and bitter after taste wine with foie gras (sweet and fruity wine would be more appropriated)....and the wines were not generously served. The room lighting is too bright for romantic dining. Yet Le Normandie still one of the best restaurant to experience in Bangkok.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nadmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pleasant dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

Visited Le Normandie for a lunch with my friend. The set lunch was, although not excellent in taste, very reasonable considering the atmosphere, excellent service and atmosphere. Lobster bisque, which was not in the set, was superb though. Will certainly go back.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hachi111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best French Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I love the fact that the hotel always invite Micheline-starred chef to this restaurant and the food is always super! The location is great and the service is impeccable. But there's no alfresco dining area though.

Dining here, however, you need to dress formally--no jeans. And of course, very expensive. But if it's for your special occasion, I think it's worth it.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Krittybo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I was lucky enough to have dinner here while on holiday in Thailand and Vietnam in 2008. I didn't know what to expect and was blown away by the experience. The view is fantastic from the restaurant, looking over the city. The service was exceptional and all the staff were very happy to help. I bought a suit in Bangkok just so i could wear it to dinner. Thank you for the great experience.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Erik J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Normandie Restaurant at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok also viewed

 

Been to Le Normandie Restaurant at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing