We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and Valuable Price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sala Rim Naam at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok

Sala Rim Naam at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
48 Oriental Avenue, Bangkok, Thailand (Pomprab)
+66 (2) 659 9000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #86 of 7,832 restaurants in Bangkok
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Pomprab
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Food and Valuable Price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Great Food and Valuable Price. MUST try in bangkok, even not staying the hotel
Detail please read my hotel review
user name: Fake N

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    158
    65
    19
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Average food, excellent dance shows and services”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

As many pointed out before me, the food was average and bland. Thai food in my opinion should be strong and with many flavors. Nevertheless the food served in this restaurant was mild. The desserts though were definitely the highlight of the entire meal.

I chose to come here because I wanted to watch a dance show albeit without being among hundreds of people in a crowded & noisy buffet setting. The dinner served this purpose very well. The setting was quiet and intimate. The services were top-notch. The dance show was lovely. It was overall a great experience if you aren't too picky on the food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Nice location. As for the rest...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I can see why a first time tourist in Bangkok (with a thick wallet though) might give 5 out of 5 to that place.
The location is nice, the short boat ride to cross the Chao Praya "soooo typical" and the show was quite OK (but nothing exceptional). And the food is tailored for their palates.
I was there for an official function with local and foreign VIPs. The local VIPs and us, who have been living here for some time, really though the food was not at all what we would expect from a MO restaurant. Of course they can't make it a spicy as Thai would love, but try at least to make it less bland!
The service was OK, but again, this is Oriental, i would expect a bit better, And the show... maybe I am partial as i have seen too many over the years, but i would have expected at least some comments in English for the foreign guests, explaining exactly their performance instead of relying only on a the pamphlet.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Great cultural experience in Bangkok”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Took my visiting family here so that they could experience some true Thai food and culture and we weren't disappointed. The short ferry ride on a teak boat, was a nice precursor to a lovely evening. Staff were very attentive, the food was presented to a high standard and tasted very good. The best element was the thai dancing and music.

Highly recommend this place if you would like a dining experience with a bit of culture thrown in. We would go back but as we have seen the cultural performance, next time we will opt for the outdoor dining on the terrace as the riverside location looked very romantic and here you have a choice of an al-a-carte menu whereas if you sit inside to experience the cultural performance, you must have a set menu.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Average food and service; lovely atmosphere and cultural dance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The boat ride on the river from one end of the hotel to the restaurant was really nice. Cultural performance was good. Food was ok but service was not what I'd expect for MO

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sala Rim Naam at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok also viewed

 

Been to Sala Rim Naam at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sala Rim Naam at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;