We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and Valuable Price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sala Rim Naam at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok

Sala Rim Naam at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
48 Oriental Avenue, Bangkok, Thailand (Bang Rak)
+66 2 659 9000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #133 of 7,619 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $56
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Bang Rak
Description: Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok's signature Thai restaurant has been transformed into a miniature palace serving fine Thai cuisine. A lavish Thai buffet lunch is served daily and guests can also enjoy a gourmet set dinner menu accompanied by the region's most spectacular cultural performance and dance show nightly. A welcome addition is the Terrace Rim Naam, an open-air pavilion adjacent to the restaurant overlooking the splendid Chao Phraya River.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Food and Valuable Price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Great Food and Valuable Price. MUST try in bangkok, even not staying the hotel
Detail please read my hotel review
user name: Fake N

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    92
    34
    21
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Average food, excellent dance shows and services”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

As many pointed out before me, the food was average and bland. Thai food in my opinion should be strong and with many flavors. Nevertheless the food served in this restaurant was mild. The desserts though were definitely the highlight of the entire meal.

I chose to come here because I wanted to watch a dance show albeit without being among hundreds of people in a crowded & noisy buffet setting. The dinner served this purpose very well. The setting was quiet and intimate. The services were top-notch. The dance show was lovely. It was overall a great experience if you aren't too picky on the food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
73 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice location. As for the rest...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I can see why a first time tourist in Bangkok (with a thick wallet though) might give 5 out of 5 to that place.
The location is nice, the short boat ride to cross the Chao Praya "soooo typical" and the show was quite OK (but nothing exceptional). And the food is tailored for their palates.
I was there for an official function with local and foreign VIPs. The local VIPs and us, who have been living here for some time, really though the food was not at all what we would expect from a MO restaurant. Of course they can't make it a spicy as Thai would love, but try at least to make it less bland!
The service was OK, but again, this is Oriental, i would expect a bit better, And the show... maybe I am partial as i have seen too many over the years, but i would have expected at least some comments in English for the foreign guests, explaining exactly their performance instead of relying only on a the pamphlet.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
118 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great cultural experience in Bangkok”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Took my visiting family here so that they could experience some true Thai food and culture and we weren't disappointed. The short ferry ride on a teak boat, was a nice precursor to a lovely evening. Staff were very attentive, the food was presented to a high standard and tasted very good. The best element was the thai dancing and music.

Highly recommend this place if you would like a dining experience with a bit of culture thrown in. We would go back but as we have seen the cultural performance, next time we will opt for the outdoor dining on the terrace as the riverside location looked very romantic and here you have a choice of an al-a-carte menu whereas if you sit inside to experience the cultural performance, you must have a set menu.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya
Level Contributor
91 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Average food and service; lovely atmosphere and cultural dance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

The boat ride on the river from one end of the hotel to the restaurant was really nice. Cultural performance was good. Food was ok but service was not what I'd expect for MO

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sala Rim Naam at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok also viewed

 

Been to Sala Rim Naam at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sala Rim Naam at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.