We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Thai dining experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sala Rim Naam at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok

Sala Rim Naam at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
48 Oriental Avenue, Bangkok, Thailand (Bang Rak)
+66 (2) 659 9000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #83 of 7,183 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Bang Rak
London, England
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Perfect Thai dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

From the river crossing to the restaurant from the main hotel to the dining experience itself, this is a high quality evening. It isn't cheap but you get what you pay for. We booked a table at the outdoor terrace as we didn't want the set meal and have seen many Thai dancers in our frequent visits to Thailand!

The variety of food on the menu is excellent and the quality is what you would expect from the Mandarin Oriental: beautifully cooked and presented. Advice was freely given about the dishes and the items identified on the menu as "spicy" weren't overly so: the ingredients are slanted towards more delicate palates... Highly recommended all round.

P.S. The dancers in their wonderful costumes parade across the outdoor terrace before their show, so à la carte diners get a chance to see them!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    81
    31
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great dinner and spectacle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Had dinner with he show here and it is truly lovely. The food is from a fixed menu delivered in phases with lots of variety and flavours. The show was great and adds to the authenticity of the whole experience. Service was great and it's a fun night out with top food to boot. Highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
“Nice Atmosphere!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We have dinner at terrace, It's very nice Atmosphere.
Very nice cocktail and lovely Thai Dace show.
but i have to rating pulled down because of I have order "Kai Tun"
and it come like a liquid but it's should be harder, Like a pudding!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Perfect 10”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

We seldom dine in fine dining but since it's my birthday why not! I was extremely surprised food was so good and service was spot on, plus a Thai dance with several scenes, truly enjoyed the meal and staff wished me a happy birthday, trip by boat from the pier & back was delightful
Will definitely come back some day soon if you are in BKK give it a try, email the restaurant to book & reply was quick spent 8400baht inclusive one bottle
proseco + set menu for 2

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, perfect service, enjoyable show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This dinner was really a fun experience. First we took off from the Oriental Mandarin hotel on a small boat across the river. You arrive at a beautiful place and are seated inside. All the tables have a good view of the show - so, don't worry. The traditional thai dance is a bit slow, but that isn't much of a problem since you are having dinner while it's happening. The Thai Boxing part of the show was very funny! Go try it out ;)

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sala Rim Naam at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok also viewed

 

Been to Sala Rim Naam at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sala Rim Naam at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.