We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Bad Maintenance” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Centara Grand at CentralWorld

Save Saved
You added Centara Grand at CentralWorld to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Centara Grand at CentralWorld
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   999/99 Rama 1 Road, Bangkok 10330, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free THB 500 resort Spend
Ranked #130 of 751 hotels in Bangkok
Hong kong
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Location, Bad Maintenance”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

A well located hotel with spacious rooms. We checked in on Feb 10 for 4 nights stay. Arrived at the hotel at 10:30pm, was checked in and escorted to our rooms. Unfortunately after having unpacked and ready for a shower and a good rest, realized that the drainage of the bath was clogged. Call for assistance and the hotel's duty engineer appeared with a plunger and started to clear the clog. After a few minutes, out came a huge cluster of hair from the drainage which was enough to put me off. Subsequently, I went downstairs to request for a change of room. The receptionist on duty at front desk was most obliging and immediately reassigned a new room. This experience with the bathtub together with the overall condition of the room has totally deterred me from wanting to return to the hotel. Housekeeping and maintenance standards of the property is poor and does not demand the price nor the rating that does. This is my fourth visit to bangkok and my worse experience with a hotel. Cleanliness and maintenance of this hotel needs to be addressed. Other areas for attention - buffet breakfast (does not meet the standards of what a 5 star hotel would command), lifts from hotel lobby to rooms are insufficient to meet demands. And when a crowd starts to build up at the lift landing there is no obvious assistance from any of the staff members to help guests queue in an orderly manner.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,128 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    529
    401
    139
    41
    18
See reviews for
212
362
67
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed here on business for a week, it was fabulous.

The rooms are large and ideal for business travellers, lots of desk space AND a big deep bath so you can relax after work.

My only complaints are that the staff aren't as helpful with directions/recommendations as they could be and it's super annoying to have to get two elevators up to the rooms.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Situated just above Centralworld and within the shopping districts, Centara grand is definitely one of the most convenient hotels in Bangkok! In addition to that, the rooms are huge and comfortable with great furnishing. Went there for an event, and I absolutely enjoyed the 5 minute walk from my room to my workplace experience!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Bangkok is not a place for a holiday. It's a busy traffic-filled city & is perfect for a stop-over on a long trip or as an intermediate location when traveling elsewhere in Thailand. That said this hotel is ideal for business or as a convention centre. It's well located, is above a huge shopping centre & has all the cold, efficiency that this type of hotel offers, but don't look for any of the trimmings or little extra comforts.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol, uk
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I stayed here for a conference recently. The hotel is a modern looking high rise, attached to a large shopping mall. It is well located next to the train station.

Our room was large, with a great view of the city. The bathroom and shower particularly was wonderful: spacious and with a window looking onto the city. The room itself was a little worn in places. There was dust on some of the door surrounds.

On the rooftop is an open air restaurant and bar with a spectacular view of Bangkok. Even if you don't stay at the hotel, it's worth visiting the bar. We ate in the restaurant also. It was very expensive by Bangkok standards but the food was beautiful.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We went to Thailand in the month of July 2009 with friends. It was an office tour. The property is centrally located and is in the heart of Bangkok, the rooms are awesome, the furnishing is top of the line ..i must say the rooms are one of the best that i have every stayed in. Nothing bad in the property. The pool with a elephant waterfall was too good. The staff is extremely helpful.
There was one cook who even after being a westerner dished out great indian food some of his stuff like dal makhani was better than most of the places in India even.
The rates were very good and it was great value for money.
Kudos guys keep it up

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This was my second time staying at the Centara Grand Bangkok, the hotel is fantastic and extremely modern. I had one issue, I made my reservation for a non-smoking room several weeks in advance, however when I checked in I was told there were only smoking rooms available and there was no option for an alternate room, stuck between a rock and a hard place I had no other option to take the room. . The room didn’t smell of cigarette smoke but the hallway definitely did. Out of compensation the hotel gave me a free breakfast, the buffet breakfast is huge and very plentiful.

I definitely recommend the hotel minus the reservation issue.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Centara Grand at CentralWorld? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand at CentralWorld

Address: 999/99 Rama 1 Road, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#97 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#105 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#106 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Centara Grand at CentralWorld 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated right at the heart of the city, Bangkok has a state of the art Convention Centre, fully integrated with a Five Star Hotel and world class shopping and entertainment facilities. The Bangkok Convention Centre and the Centara Grand together make a stunning landmark on the city skyline. Inspired by the shape of a blooming lotus and its symbolic theme of the four elements of life: water, earth, air and fire, Bangkok has a new icon. Connected to CentralWorld, Bangkok's world class shopping centre which incorporates hundreds of retail and dining outlets including leading brand names such as Isetan Department store and 15 movie theatres, the whole development constitutes a unique and unbeatable combination of meeting, business, accommodation, entertainment and shopping facilities all together in one place - CentralWorld. Situated in the heart of Bangkok's business district, delegates will also find many Tourist attractions within easy reach. Easy access to the BTS (Skytrain), which also links to the MRTS (Sub Way) network and convenient access by car and coach to Rajdamri Road and Rama 1 Road provide convenient connections to other areas in the city centre and the inbound and outbound expressway - and Suvarnabhumi Airport is just half an hour away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Centara Grand at CentralWorld reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand And Bangkok Convention Centre At Centralworld:
Centara Grand & Bangkok Convention Centre At Centralworld: Hotel Bangkok
Centara Grand At Centralworld Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centara Grand at CentralWorld, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.