We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“always great food & quality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chesa Swiss Restaurant

Chesa Swiss Restaurant
5 Sukhumvit Soi 20, Sukhumvit Road, Bangkok 10110, Thailand (Sukhumvit)
+66 2 261 6650
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #252 of 9,494 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: German, Swiss, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Sukhumvit
Bangkok
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“always great food & quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Chesa is one of the favorite restaurant of my little son. He always enjoys the beef fondue and the waitress always ask him whether he wants this. The menu has a great variety of authentic Swiss food and even you come here often like we do, we tend to go for the same again. Rosti is even better made here at Chesa than in Switzerland. Thomas & Rene will welcome you very friendly.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michiel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

My return to this gem of restaurant and mrs first visit! What a find. The fondues were out of this world. Mrs chose a great crisp white to break down the starch and proteins. Highly recommend asking Thomas to select the meal for you. Staff took care of 8 week old so we can dine, great team and great atmosphere

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dutchy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Authentic Swiss food but the service was a let down”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

The food and atmosphere were really great. We tried the fondue, the roesti and the raclette. The roesti was the best I've had outside Switzerland! The staff however could have done a better job. We went to the restaurant at 10pm after confirming that they would seat us as their last order was 10.30pm. From the outset the staff was unhappy with our presence and they just hurried through the service. My request for desert at the end of the meal was declined as the kitchen was closed. We were not even asked if we wanted to place a last order before it closed! I will probably return to Chesa for the food and I hope the service will be better next time.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Holok23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
53 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very god food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The food here is excellent and the atmosphere is decent. There's a nice little area outside where you can sit and have a drink before dinner.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“not only for home sich Swisspeople”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The quality of the food served is since years on a pretty high level. My Thai friends love to eat exotic. Therefore I invite them under other restaurant to Chesa. Most of them are returning there without me as they love the food and atmosphere. Particularly the brunch on Sunday is a giveaway. Perfect food at discretion, well understood served to the table.
Apart of some very traditional Swiss dishes try "Capuns". Very often better then in the Swiss "Bündner" alps.
The servants are exclusively Thai which makes it even more easy to explain to locals some rather unknown dishes.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank buzytraveller2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chesa Swiss Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Chesa Swiss Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing