We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very god food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chesa Swiss Restaurant

Chesa Swiss Restaurant
5 Sukhumvit Soi 20, Sukhumvit Road, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
+66 2 261 6650
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #216 of 7,886 Restaurants in Bangkok
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Swiss
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Bristol, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very god food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The food here is excellent and the atmosphere is decent. There's a nice little area outside where you can sit and have a drink before dinner.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    76
    42
    10
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“not only for home sich Swisspeople”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The quality of the food served is since years on a pretty high level. My Thai friends love to eat exotic. Therefore I invite them under other restaurant to Chesa. Most of them are returning there without me as they love the food and atmosphere. Particularly the brunch on Sunday is a giveaway. Perfect food at discretion, well understood served to the table.
Apart of some very traditional Swiss dishes try "Capuns". Very often better then in the Swiss "Bündner" alps.
The servants are exclusively Thai which makes it even more easy to explain to locals some rather unknown dishes.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Favorite restaurant in BKK”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

We go to BKK frequently and no trip is complete without a visit to Chesa. I'm surprised this place doesn't get more press but its truly excellent - it was recommended by a Swiss friend who said this was his favorite in BKK and is super authentic. Recommended dish - rosti potato with bacon and raclette cheese on top - it just might be my favorite dish EVER. Choking your arteries have never tasted so good! The fondues and cordon bleu are also excellent. I also note that there is a Sunday all you can eat brunch, but wife won't let me go. If anyone has tried it, please write a review!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Friendly & Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I have eaten here regularly over the years, usually as part of a large crowd. Thomas, Rene and all the staff can not do enough to make you feel at home. Service is always impeccable and comes with a smile and some friendly chit chat, not some stiff, crusty robotic service. It is natural and makes guests feel very relaxed.

I have never been let down by any of the many dishes I have tried from the menu here and there are always very drinkable wines of the month at very reasonable prices by Thai standards ( for the uninitiated wine is ordinarily extortionate in Thailand).

For group bookings or parties, there is also a private room - useful if you are as loud and obnoxious as our group tend to be after a few too many glasses of wine. Also if there are enough of you, Thomas and Rene are very accommodating and will provide pretty much whatever your group want as long as they know ahead of time. Our group for example have been lucky enough to enjoy all sorts over the years from whole veal racks to lobster pastas, soups with malt whiskey in ( lovely) roast beef, etc etc.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Busan, South Korea
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Pricey, but great food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

It's kind of expensive, but that was expected. They have a large menu with a lot of offerings. It was one of the best dinners my wife and I ate during our week in Thailand, and the service was fast and friendly. They brought our meals out at the same time, and the owner came over to our table to check upon us and shoot the breeze. He made the rounds to other tables as well and made everyone feel quite at home.

I don't know much about Swiss food, so I can't speak for its authenticity, but it was very delicious and well worth the price! It was a great welcome back to Bangkok after a tiring day of hiking around Ayutthaya. Highly recommended!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chesa Swiss Restaurant also viewed

 
Bangkok, Thailand
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Chesa Swiss Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chesa Swiss Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.