We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, cozy place, very friendly atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Bouchon

Le Bouchon
37/17 Soi Patpong 2, Surawongse Rd, Bangkok 10500, Thailand (Bang Rak)
+6622349109
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #214 of 8,057 Restaurants in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 stars 167 Reviews
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Bang Rak
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food, cozy place, very friendly atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

A hidden gem in the middle of Padpong, Bangkok.
Great food, reasonable priced and very cozy friendly atmosphere.
Well done!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    52
    18
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“It was so good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I went back the next night and had another outstanding dinner. The first night I had the lamb and the second night I had the pork in a mushroom sauce. The whole dinning experience is extraordinary, the location, ambiance, staff, and the owner, sitting at the bar welcoming his guest.
It's truly an amazing trip of the senses!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“France in Bangkok”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

You have to book. It is a small restaurant with a french touch. Serge is always there to direct you through the blackboard menu.
We ate a perfect tartare made by the "boss'. Maybe too large, difficult to finish it all unless you skipped breakfast and lunch.
I would adive to taste the Rocquefort, the excellent french blue cheese that the restaurant has an abundant supply.
The wine list is well balanced with a variety of well priced wines and a selection of expensive ones that we did not dare to try. An excellent wine at 1400 thb.
All in all very good value for money, excellent food and a beautiful atmosphere where you would least expect it

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“BRILLIANT PROVINCIAL FOOD IN THE QUIRKIEST OF SETTINGS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Le Bouchon is a Bangkok institution. A tiny restaurant set amongst the sleazy nightclubs and bars of Bangkok (Madame Lash, S&M is just up the road and Screw Boys is next door!!!
But once inside, you could be forgiven for thinking you are in a French provincial town. Blackboard menus give an indication of what will come out from the tiny kitchen...and what delicious food it is. Ask for Steak Tartar and the owner will sit at the bar and prepare it himself before ducking out for a Galois. It's a fun place to be and highly recommended....but book or you will miss out.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Reliable and so authentic it's almost a cliché”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I've been coming to this restaurant for years. Nothing changes and that's part of its charm. While you have to run the gamut of hookers on patpong Soi 2 to get to it, the location is what makes it such a find. An extensive menu, all the French classics, simply but honestly done. If you listen closely you'll barely hear a word of English spoken among the customers. If its authentic enough for the French it's authentic enough for me! My favourite starter is the chicken liver salad. A great pile of sweet, crunchy iceberg lettuce (none of your fancy modern leaves), dressed in a sharp wine vinegar, both of which are a great contrast to the creamy and rich livers seared and throw on top. Doesn't get any simpler. I visited before I lived here. I was a regular while I lived here and I am visiting again now. Always busy so be sure to book.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bouchon also viewed

 

Been to Le Bouchon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Bouchon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.