We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serviceable but not really up to French standards” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Bouchon

Le Bouchon
37/17 Soi Patpong 2, Surawongse Rd, Bangkok 10500, Thailand (Bang Rak)
+6622349109
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #215 of 8,069 Restaurants in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 stars 168 Reviews
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Bang Rak
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Serviceable but not really up to French standards”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

If you blink, you'd miss the entrance to Le Bouchon, a little French restaurant tucked away in the heart of the rowdy red-light district. I was pretty hopeful when I saw how many French people were actually eating there, but was fairly disappointed by the food. I ordered the lamb shank -- it was very overcooked and the sauce didn't have much flavor. The service is efficient and quick, but not attentive. The room was quite dark and the atmosphere romantic -- you could forget that you're in Bangkok. A perfectly nice restaurant if you want a break from Thai food, but it is not great French cuisine. I'd give this 3.5 stars if I could.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    53
    18
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Oui ... I love it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Not the easiest place to find and a location that some people may find kind of ole-ole! maybe it is the contrast between the surroundings and the restaurant itself that makes it such a fine place. Tiny one, always crowded but full of nice people with an ever caring owner ... always the one to offer you a "pousse-cafe" if he feels you enjoyed your meal. Good service, wine at an acceptable price and a vast menu for these demanding ones.
I like it and do visit it everytime when in Bangkok

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice amiente, Good food, french owner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I enjoyed the ambience in the middle of the Pat Pong Market, which is in between all these girly bars... Ordered a tenderloin medium with spinach and that's exactly what I got. Great food, great wine and a good atmosphere would come back. The only drop down part is they do not serve a lot of varieties of side dishes (no french fries, no rice etc...)

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice food, service french”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Enjoyed my food a lot there nice choice and a weekly changing menue as well. Had the nice Bottle of Medoc. Ordered a tenderloin with spinach (no french fires though) medium and it just came as ordered medium with a bernaise house made on the side. Would definety go back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“We All Come for the Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Not far from my office, Le Bouchon is one of the places I escape when I cannot stand the way my day is going and I need a treat. Yes it’s a gem, but no, it’s not on Patpong 2, it’s on the smaller Patpong One, tucked away among the girlie bars and tattoo studios.

This is not a mere restaurant, it is a bistro oozing with Frenchness. I love the kitchy French country décor and all the daily specials (which seem to seldom change) written neatly on a blackboard. Even the Thai staff speak French.

Nothing you order will be a disappointment. I really love the melt-in-your-mouth tender fillet, the cassoulet, the foi gras and the wines by the glass. You have to overlook the seedy neighborhood (especially at night) and the occasional insect dashing across your table. They come for the food, too.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bouchon also viewed

 

Been to Le Bouchon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Bouchon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.