We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't get it right” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Aoi

Aoi
132/ 10-11 Silom Soi 6, Bangkok 10500, Thailand (Pathumwan)
02664-8590-2
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #853 of 8,046 Restaurants in Bangkok
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery
Neighborhood: Pathumwan
Bangkok
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Can't get it right”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We revisited Aoi in Paragon today and thought after the last experience they might have made some attempt at getting the service of two lunches in sync. We even sat at the sushi counter with two "chefs" working behind it. One of them took our order, but it was misinterpreted by him or the waitress. Anyway, the same issue. One was served his chirashi 20 minutes before the much less difficult tem zaru soba. There is such a difference between this branch at Paragon and that at Emporium. Anyway, I can't really be bothered with it anymore, so I can't recommend it. At all.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    39
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
400 reviews 400 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 174 cities Reviews in 174 cities
208 helpful votes 208 helpful votes
“Quality is the Name”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Aoi Restaurant has several branches. We are familiar with their branches in Emporium Department, the Paragon Department, and their original Silom Road. The Aoi establishment had always maintain their reputation of providing the best food and the most efficient services. Therefore the success of Aoi had been known among the Japanese expiates, local Thais and even tourists that love Japanese cuisine. We always enjoyed their fixed lunch menu which are very good value for the prices. The a la carte menu also offers variety of popular dishes specially for business entertainment. Overall a meal at the Aoi always guarantee good food and service.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Good food, but poor service, and expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We used to go to to Aoi at Siam Paragon, but then stopped because of the poor wait staff - always hanging around and chatting. Then recently we started going again. The one thing Aoi cannot seem to do is serve its customers at the same time. On all recent occasions one of us gets his meal and has almost finished, before the other gets served his. I know, I know. It's VERY difficult to plan and co-ordinate this, (really?), but it's quite nice if you're dining with someone else to actually eat with them at the same time. We asked to see the manager, but whoever appeared as such didn't seem to understand what we were talking about. She apologised and then appeared to do nothing. Aoi in Emporium by comparison seems well managed, and able to get this basic of restaurant service sorted out. It would be nice if the management of the company actually put a proper manager in this venue, and justified their high prices by providing a proper service, controlling the cooks and wait staff.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great hidden find....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

...but it comes a little bit pricey! There are a few Japanese p,aces in Emporium. Unless you know Aoi, you wouldn't really know where to find it! It's a proper Japanese restaurant, ie not like Fiji or Shabu shi all that Mickey Mouse type..! I would certainly come back agai for decent quality food..

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
273 reviews 273 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Outstanding sushi bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Late dinner (20:30) on a weekday with a client. Sat at the sushi bar and were not disappointed. Nicely presented. Had the Aoi sushi. In NYC, this would qualify as omakase (without the price tag). As the restaurant is in shopping mall, it is somewhat hard to find - you have to walk past the usual high-end stores (closed after 18:00 / 19:00...) to the downstairs foodcourt.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aoi also viewed

 
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Aoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aoi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.