We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Order the Fried Crab with Special Garlic and Black Pepper!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Je Ngor's Kitchen

Je Ngor's Kitchen
68/2, Soi 20 of Sukhumvit Road, Bangkok, Thailand
66-02-2588008-9
Update restaurant details
Ranked #802 of 7,695 restaurants in Bangkok
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Chinese, Thai, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations
Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Order the Fried Crab with Special Garlic and Black Pepper!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We tried but failed to secure a reservation on the second day of Chinese New Year so decided to just walk in. In the event we were given a table without too much waiting. The menu is extensive so we stuck to the dishes recommended by previous reviewers - fried rice with crabmeat, fried black pepper crab, mimosa with vermicelli, spicy fruit salad, fried seafood rolls, fried silver fish, and tom yum hot pot - a lot for a family of 5! The food was tasty and we managed to polish off everything! The fried crab with garlic and black pepper was especially delicious, different from Singapore's black pepper crab, but still delicious. Our meal cost 2,500 Baht. Will return to try other items on our next trip.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

73% Recommend
    12
    28
    8
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Just an average Thai Chinese cuisine, some over-priced items”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We tried this Je Ngor outlet in Sukhumvit Soi 20 which is in a bungalow. Chinese arts hanging drap throughout the dining area. red painting. I find it not pleasing to eyes.Only one person there could barely understand English.
We ordered Thai salad, two type of whole steam fish, one is Seabass, the other is goby fish.(picture). The seabass has some muddy smell. asked if it's sea water type, the wiater said yes, but I doubted it. though the name called seabass, in Thailand this fish is mainly fresh water, and most of them has muddy smell from the mud of the water. We only enjoyed the goby steam fish.
Anyway we had some other dishes nice. Service is average. Price here is on the average, except for the crab which is very high.
Dessert have plenty in the menu, but many were not available during the weekdays.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Crab Fried Rice in Bangkok!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

The atmosphere, food and friendliness of the staff has made this my favourite restaurant for years!

Their Garlic and Black Pepper Crab is a decadent delight and is an occasional treat!
The Pla Kow Nam Manow ( steamed grouper with lime and medium spice) accompanied by their homemade green chili that'll sizzle your lips if you like hot...I do! Pla/Fish Kow/Grouper
The Rad Na is another fave...thick noodles in a tasty gravy with veg and shrimps.
I get them to leave out the carrots and broccoli and put in King mushrooms and Chinese broccoli instead (I bring my own prepped and ready to toss in) my pen rye means no problem!
Kow Pad Poo (Crab Fried Rice) is consistently the best I've found in Bangkok (Seafood Market on Sukhumvit Soi 24 comes in 2nd www.seafood.co.th)
Average price for two $25 do a splurge $40
I also get 10% discount by paying cash. Great place www.jengorsukhumvit.com

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good 1st impact w thai food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

We came on our 1st night in BKK just landed, was late noone in the whole restaurant, chopsticks and a lot of plastic silverware on the table, plastic table cloth... All not encouraging, but the staff was very comprehensive with our inexperience on thai menus and with the kids need to walk and run around after 15hours flight. The food turned out to be tasty, spicy as described and the kids unexpactedly liked the chicken. The atmosphere is a little chinese like, fake after having been dining in other thai places. The bill was fair as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“home fix!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

go there and order everything in the menu. Shredded Pak Boong, Oyster Omelette, Green Papaya salad with sea crab and herbal grilled fish!
this is the home kitchen away from home!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Je Ngor's Kitchen also viewed

Bangkok, Thailand
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Je Ngor's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Je Ngor's Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.