We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diamond in the rough” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vertigo Grill and Moon Bar

Vertigo Grill and Moon Bar
21/100 South Sathon Road Sathon | Banyan Tree Bangkok, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
66-02-679-1200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #160 of 8,068 Restaurants in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 stars 1,711 Reviews
Cuisines: Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Diamond in the rough”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

It is much more quaint and casual than the Sky Bar. Great for an intimate setting or small group of friends. Definitely a great hidden gem!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,711 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    829
    494
    240
    99
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kokstad
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best restaurant and view in Bangkok”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Amazing place, amazing food, amazing staff, amazing view.
This place is worth visiting. Even if you cannot get a table, go to the Moon bar just for the view. It is amazing!

We had an amazing time. It is close to Patpong night market, stop by on your way there

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Venue for cocktails, NOT a meal!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Alot of the reviews of Vertigo advise against having dinner there (just go for cocktails), but I couldn't resist having a Bangkok experience of dining at a skybar. I should have listened to the reviews - the meat set menu was one of the most expensive, but THE most disappointing meals I've had. The carpaccio was flavourless, the foi gras was ok, and the main... I could have had better at my local pub in Sydney - it was steak on mash with mushroom sauce, nothing more. Finishing with the tiramisu for dessert, I just could not believe somewhere would charge you over $500 for food that is neither inventive, nor freshly made (aside from the steak). Take my advice: Go for a sunset cocktail, but somewhere else for dinner!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Not Just 61st Floor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

After reading the many reviews we have decided to book a table for two well ahead. After arriving to the hotel we took the lift to the 59th floor where we were greeted by the staff and informed that due to the rain few minutes ago (well, yes, it's the rainy season here) the Vertigo restaurant is closed for cleanup and would remain so for the next 30-45 minutes. We were given three options – to wait at the bar downstairs, to wait at the bar on the 59th floor or to cancel our visit. We decided to take a Singapore sling and the bar up here and enjoyed the already extraordinary view. After 40 minutes we were taken up to Vertigo roof top restaurant to a table on the highest deck. The difference between the restaurant two floors below and here was striking. There was an unobstructed view 360 degrees. Our waiter spoke very well English and was perfect. There is nothing we could say negative about the food. It was what one would expect at this price level. The cutlery could have been silver and the glasses made of crystal but overall impression was good. The two main assets were the view and the waiter. Expect a pricetag around 10.000,- bht for a complete dinner with drinks (champagne excluded, that would increase the price by a factor of 2-3)

The value for money ratio if looked at only through the prism of getting dinner is not good. But our conclusion is – worth the visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
417 reviews 417 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 175 cities Reviews in 175 cities
216 helpful votes 216 helpful votes
“Great Evening with the Right Table”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We had been an on-and-off customers of the Vertigo Grill and Moon Bar since they opened for business. Being on top of the building over-looking the Bangkok panoramic view is definitely exciting especially for the present iPhone photo craze. However with the limited space, the tables tense to be quite tightly arranged. Braving the weather and the uncertainty of no-show, the management tried to position each assigned table with the best view and proper surrounding. We always enjoyed our evening with the Vertigo however we also bear in mind of the advance reservation and cooperation with the waiter for the best available table. Beside the view, the wine and food in the Vertigo were quite good disregard to the distance from the kitchen.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vertigo Grill and Moon Bar also viewed

 
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Vertigo Grill and Moon Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vertigo Grill and Moon Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.