We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Evening with the Right Table” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vertigo Grill and Moon Bar

Vertigo Grill and Moon Bar
21/100 South Sathon Road Sathon | Banyan Tree Bangkok, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
66-02-679-1200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #206 of 7,590 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Southwestern, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Doing business, Scenic view, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Drinks, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
743 reviews
232 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 424 helpful votes
“Great Evening with the Right Table”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We had been an on-and-off customers of the Vertigo Grill and Moon Bar since they opened for business. Being on top of the building over-looking the Bangkok panoramic view is definitely exciting especially for the present iPhone photo craze. However with the limited space, the tables tense to be quite tightly arranged. Braving the weather and the uncertainty of no-show, the management tried to position each assigned table with the best view and proper surrounding. We always enjoyed our evening with the Vertigo however we also bear in mind of the advance reservation and cooperation with the waiter for the best available table. Beside the view, the wine and food in the Vertigo were quite good disregard to the distance from the kitchen.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,446 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,175
    736
    336
    131
    68
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
140 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Bar only - forget the price - just take in the view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Seriously breathtaking! The minute you step out of the door - which be aware is up quite a few staircases from the top of the lift! - you are iniundated with the wide and wonderful spectacle of Bangkok's high-rise night-time skyline.... keep going up to the bar though and the view is 360 degrees and superb on a warm sultry night with the breeze blowing!
It's extremely vertigious - as is the bar bill (but the drinks were good!)... have a couple, take it all in and head all the way down to earth (for prices too!) ... don't complain about the $$$ - let's face it - it WAS worth it wasn't it?!!
(we ate next door at Nahm - separate review)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wow! Worth overcoming fear of heights for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I visited the moon bar for a few drinks recently. The weather was fine so we made our way to the 59th floor and walked up 2 further short flights of stairs... The view really is breathtaking...a panoramic, uninterrupted view of Bangkok. We had cocktails and asked for a table .. They gave us a table when one became free and we ordered a bottle of wine ( all decent wine is very expensive in Thailand) .. And you would expect to pay a little extra for the setting..

The atmosphere was buzzing, staff attentive and the view incredible.

Would definitely visit next time I am in Bangkok. A view I will remember for a long time.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
98 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Only for views!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile


The view at night is breathtaking. That is all what you go for, donot expect a fancy cocktail coming up. The cocktails were expensive 370baht and not at all fancy or tasty. Just mixed and put in a glass. The atmosphere was nothing awesome. The bar was crowded and so we were offered seating in restaurant. There were few people dressed really classy, but didn't know that smart casuals also allowed collarless t-shirts.

Just go for view and nice breeze. Also one tip for photographers, I was objected by a stewardess for using tripod. You might want to check first.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gambais, France
Level Contributor
225 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Check the weather first”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The Vertigo is uniqueon the roof of the Banyan Tree hotel meaning on the 61 st floor (you have elevator till the 59 th) and then climb 2 floors. You are completely outside with fresh air compared to street level and in an expensive restaurant for Thailand with Westerner prices but very good moern food. However if it will rain or has rained before they will move you to the 59 th floor restaurnat which is no interest noisy, people more casual than smart and where you are not garantteed to get a window table meaning zero interest to go there so make sure the weather is fine and you will enjoy Vertigo.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vertigo Grill and Moon Bar also viewed

 
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Vertigo Grill and Moon Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vertigo Grill and Moon Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.