We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Evening with the Right Table” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vertigo Grill and Moon Bar

Vertigo Grill and Moon Bar
21/100 South Sathon Road Sathon | Banyan Tree Bangkok, Bangkok 10120, Thailand (Sathorn)
66-02-679-1200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #70 of 8,369 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene, Scenic view, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Sathorn
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
834 reviews
250 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 500 helpful votes
“Great Evening with the Right Table”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We had been an on-and-off customers of the Vertigo Grill and Moon Bar since they opened for business. Being on top of the building over-looking the Bangkok panoramic view is definitely exciting especially for the present iPhone photo craze. However with the limited space, the tables tense to be quite tightly arranged. Braving the weather and the uncertainty of no-show, the management tried to position each assigned table with the best view and proper surrounding. We always enjoyed our evening with the Vertigo however we also bear in mind of the advance reservation and cooperation with the waiter for the best available table. Beside the view, the wine and food in the Vertigo were quite good disregard to the distance from the kitchen.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Charn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
144 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Bar only - forget the price - just take in the view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Seriously breathtaking! The minute you step out of the door - which be aware is up quite a few staircases from the top of the lift! - you are iniundated with the wide and wonderful spectacle of Bangkok's high-rise night-time skyline.... keep going up to the bar though and the view is 360 degrees and superb on a warm sultry night with the breeze blowing!
It's extremely vertigious - as is the bar bill (but the drinks were good!)... have a couple, take it all in and head all the way down to earth (for prices too!) ... don't complain about the $$$ - let's face it - it WAS worth it wasn't it?!!
(we ate next door at Nahm - separate review)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slhguys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Wow! Worth overcoming fear of heights for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I visited the moon bar for a few drinks recently. The weather was fine so we made our way to the 59th floor and walked up 2 further short flights of stairs... The view really is breathtaking...a panoramic, uninterrupted view of Bangkok. We had cocktails and asked for a table .. They gave us a table when one became free and we ordered a bottle of wine ( all decent wine is very expensive in Thailand) .. And you would expect to pay a little extra for the setting..

The atmosphere was buzzing, staff attentive and the view incredible.

Would definitely visit next time I am in Bangkok. A view I will remember for a long time.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank C-A63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
99 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Only for views!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile


The view at night is breathtaking. That is all what you go for, donot expect a fancy cocktail coming up. The cocktails were expensive 370baht and not at all fancy or tasty. Just mixed and put in a glass. The atmosphere was nothing awesome. The bar was crowded and so we were offered seating in restaurant. There were few people dressed really classy, but didn't know that smart casuals also allowed collarless t-shirts.

Just go for view and nice breeze. Also one tip for photographers, I was objected by a stewardess for using tripod. You might want to check first.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ankismile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gambais, France
Level Contributor
251 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Check the weather first”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The Vertigo is uniqueon the roof of the Banyan Tree hotel meaning on the 61 st floor (you have elevator till the 59 th) and then climb 2 floors. You are completely outside with fresh air compared to street level and in an expensive restaurant for Thailand with Westerner prices but very good moern food. However if it will rain or has rained before they will move you to the 59 th floor restaurnat which is no interest noisy, people more casual than smart and where you are not garantteed to get a window table meaning zero interest to go there so make sure the weather is fine and you will enjoy Vertigo.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Trotteglober
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vertigo Grill and Moon Bar also viewed

 
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Vertigo Grill and Moon Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing