We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bar only - forget the price - just take in the view!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vertigo Grill and Moon Bar

Vertigo Grill and Moon Bar
Banyan Tree Bangkok, 21/100 South Sathon Road Sathon, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
66-02-679-1200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #158 of 7,935 Restaurants in Bangkok
Cuisines: Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Bar only - forget the price - just take in the view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Seriously breathtaking! The minute you step out of the door - which be aware is up quite a few staircases from the top of the lift! - you are iniundated with the wide and wonderful spectacle of Bangkok's high-rise night-time skyline.... keep going up to the bar though and the view is 360 degrees and superb on a warm sultry night with the breeze blowing!
It's extremely vertigious - as is the bar bill (but the drinks were good!)... have a couple, take it all in and head all the way down to earth (for prices too!) ... don't complain about the $$$ - let's face it - it WAS worth it wasn't it?!!
(we ate next door at Nahm - separate review)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,549 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    750
    436
    226
    92
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Wow! Worth overcoming fear of heights for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

My friend and I visited the moon bar for a few drinks recently. The weather was fine so we made our way to the 59th floor and walked up 2 further short flights of stairs... The view really is breathtaking...a panoramic, uninterrupted view of Bangkok. We had cocktails and asked for a table .. They gave us a table when one became free and we ordered a bottle of wine ( all decent wine is very expensive in Thailand) .. And you would expect to pay a little extra for the setting..

The atmosphere was buzzing, staff attentive and the view incredible.

Would definitely visit next time I am in Bangkok. A view I will remember for a long time.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Only for views!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile


The view at night is breathtaking. That is all what you go for, donot expect a fancy cocktail coming up. The cocktails were expensive 370baht and not at all fancy or tasty. Just mixed and put in a glass. The atmosphere was nothing awesome. The bar was crowded and so we were offered seating in restaurant. There were few people dressed really classy, but didn't know that smart casuals also allowed collarless t-shirts.

Just go for view and nice breeze. Also one tip for photographers, I was objected by a stewardess for using tripod. You might want to check first.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gambais, France
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Check the weather first”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The Vertigo is uniqueon the roof of the Banyan Tree hotel meaning on the 61 st floor (you have elevator till the 59 th) and then climb 2 floors. You are completely outside with fresh air compared to street level and in an expensive restaurant for Thailand with Westerner prices but very good moern food. However if it will rain or has rained before they will move you to the 59 th floor restaurnat which is no interest noisy, people more casual than smart and where you are not garantteed to get a window table meaning zero interest to go there so make sure the weather is fine and you will enjoy Vertigo.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“An expensive beer but good view of the city”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Good place to go see the lights of bangkok at night, but it is very expensive. If it rains do, they will ask everybody to go down. We didnt had the chance to eat there but the drinks we're good.

The service do, was very bad. Control freak didnt let us pull a chair with another table... It was a snub atmosphere where the employes expected a very big tip. Not the kind of atmosphere we like.

Worth going for the view of the city.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vertigo Grill and Moon Bar also viewed

 

Been to Vertigo Grill and Moon Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vertigo Grill and Moon Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.