We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An expensive beer but good view of the city” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vertigo Grill and Moon Bar

Vertigo Grill and Moon Bar
Banyan Tree Bangkok, 21/100 South Sathon Road Sathon, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
66-02-679-1200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #167 of 7,818 restaurants in Bangkok
Cuisines: Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“An expensive beer but good view of the city”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Good place to go see the lights of bangkok at night, but it is very expensive. If it rains do, they will ask everybody to go down. We didnt had the chance to eat there but the drinks we're good.

The service do, was very bad. Control freak didnt let us pull a chair with another table... It was a snub atmosphere where the employes expected a very big tip. Not the kind of atmosphere we like.

Worth going for the view of the city.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,347 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    643
    373
    208
    82
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Rooftop dining, magnificent view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The experience of dining on the rooftop is great! Food was good but not excellent. Overall service is fantastic. You even get a free photo taken by the staff as a memorabilia. Nice touch! Pricing is steep but not unreasonable for fine dining in such settings.

As it is outdoor rooftop dining, be prepared to be disappointed if the weather turns bad. Also could be a bit warm, depending on which time of the year you visit!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic views, good food, bad ambiance”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The place is fabulous for its views but the ambience is really lame and can get a bit boring...everything else is good!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“DO NOT GO!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

We should have paid more attention to other postings about Vertigo.

Yes, the view is good. Yes, our waiter was fine, but beyond that we have nothing good to say.

Food was so average, staff were generally poor and even the Banyon Tree Hotel was disappointing.

Prices are outrageous!

Please don't go

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Distinctly average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

As honeymooners we were very excited and looking forward to staying at the banyan tree and our first night at the vertigo restaurant at the very top of the hotel. The views are quite spectacular however the same cannot be said for the food. Very pricey and mainly imported we had the seafood tower at 2,200 Bhat and for the first time in my life left the lobster on my plate.

The service was good but the moon bar and vertigo restaurant hectic and crowed so would recommend going either very early or much later in the evening (we arrived at 7pm and things quietened down by 9)

For those looking for post dinner cocktails this would be great but for us not the luxe experience we were hoping for.

For a more relaxing experience with the same view try saffron a few floors down.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vertigo Grill and Moon Bar also viewed

 
Bangkok, Thailand

Been to Vertigo Grill and Moon Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vertigo Grill and Moon Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.