We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Citichic by iCheck Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Citichic by iCheck Inn to your Saves list
Citichic by iCheck Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Sukhumvit Soi13 | Klong Toey, Bangkok 10110, Thailand (Formerly Citichic Boutique Suite Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #145 of 772 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Our only issue with citichic,was maybe our ignorance, but it was the first hotel we have stayed in that you could smoke in the rooms...you would hope different floors are non smoking,so make sure you check it before booking, that said, after bombing the room with deodorant, we did manage to get rid of most of the smell..
Apart from that, the location was great, lots of local food, short walk to train and major shopping centre.. The rooms are a little bit old(damage to walls etc) but very clean.we havnt stayed anywhere else in Bangkok, but compared to everywhere else we've stayed in Thailand, I thought it was great value, we were going to book another couple of days, reception told us we had to go through agoda, the price had gone up significantly, I didn't think it was worth the extra money, so we went around the corner and paid 30.00 a night, which was cheaper than citichic, but not as nice.the huge big bath did it for me, after busy days in bangkok, it was a real treat to come back to the huge bath at night..we havnt got theses extras in this price range before, normally paying 70.00 and up..travelling for a year, it was nice to have a big tv,good Internet,great aircon and a great bathroom for a cheaper price in a city..right next to Fraser suites who have an awesome rooftop bar..we had noodles for brekky on the street every morning for 20 bht and they were awesome.

Room Tip: Ask for a non smoking floor, if they have them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    174
    38
    6
    4
See reviews for
19
97
62
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Citichic is a nice little boutique hotel in the central Sukhumvit area. It's a bit far down soi 13, but I managed to walk it the entire time I was there without much problem. That's really the only major negative I could find. If walking is a major inconvenience, they do offer a shuttle every half hour (I believe) and there are also restaurants, massage parlors, etc, far closer than Sukhumvit.

The first two wi-fi access cards they gave me upon check-in were expired, but a quick walk back down to the front desk remedied that, so that's an honest mistake and not a real problem at all.

I wasn't there long and didn't use the pool, the fitness room, or the restaurant, so this review is based on the room only. The room itself was nice, a fair size, and clean. The bed was comfortable and there wasn't much noise coming from outside or the surrounding buildings at the time (a far too common problem in Bangkok), so I was able to sleep well after a long flight. The bathroom is nice although I had a tough time getting the overhead, rainfall shower head to stay on. The wall mounted shower head worked fine, though. My traveling partner reported ants in her bathtub, but mine looked clean.

Overall, I wouldn't think twice about staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telluride
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed at Citichic in April 2013.Was really pleased about everything,great staff,close to everything ,nice and cleaned rooms.Stayed there twice and really loved that,definitely recommend this hotel.
Close to the sky train and shopping area,,,lots restaurants around.The breakfast was amazing!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I recently booked and stayed at this hotel for five nights in April 2013. On the first morning my 8 year old son who was swimming normally, cut his back on a sharp corner tile on the decorative feature at the pool when he pushed off the bottom of the pool.

He required 30 stitches to a wound that cut down the muscle meaning three layers of stitches. A traumatic incident for all and a lousy start to a month of travelling.

While the hotel service manager was apologetic, nothing was done to fix the tile to prevent others from injuring themselves. After asking each day what was being done to fix this safety issue, the General Manager finally spoke with me. He did not seem apologetic or overly interested in doing anything. He said that it was difficult to fix the problem and in a future refit it would get looked at. He offered a small discount for our last night’s accommodation, which really was an insult. A scarred 8 year old and a traumatic start to a holiday and no concerned action to fix this safety issue, with a discount that didn’t even cover a fraction of the hospital bill.

After enquiring again, I was told on the last day that fixtures were on order to put over the sharp corner tiles – I wonder if this will happen. Poor attitude and response by senior management at this hotel who seemed more concerned about money than fixing a situation and giving an excellent concerned and appropriately apologetic response.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I stayed at Citi Chic on my first holiday and trip to Bangkok on 28th April - 2nd. May 2013. I must say, i am totally impressed with the service, cleanliness and friendliness of the staff here.

Rooms were clean, spare soft pillow in cupboard was good, bathroom was excellent with Private shower and Toilet, Bathtub. Laptops could fit into the Safe without the casing. Not to worry about charging your phones, laptops, just ask Reception for an Adapter. Housekeeping was friendly and good.

Free Tuk-Tuk service to Nana station which is just 5 mins away was good. The Driver named Yo Yo was so friendly and informative.

Coffee House attendant Mr. Dome was very friendly and helpful, he helped me to fix in my Thai sim card and i forgot the gentleman at the Reception who did the same. Breakfast at 200 THB was worth it!

The Hotel Manager Ms. Onn was very informative too and helped me to do a booking for my brother when i got back to KL.

For those who wants to swim, you may have to look elsewhere as the pool on roof top is really small but they have a nice gym.

Citi Chic is ideally located at Sukhumvit with so many shops / restraurants/ massage centres / market (Villa Market / Supermarket), fruit stalls, cononut water, nite bar set up by a Van (cool concept) and road side food stalls at nite.

If i were to come back to Bangkok again, I will definitely stay here and also recommend this to family and friends.

Overall Citi Chic was value for money and i felt safe! Go for it!

Nina K
Subang, Kuala Lumpur

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I always stayed at Le Fenix at the end of Soi 11 which is in the same ballpark as Citichic. However, after trying Citichic, I will give it the thumb up in future if the price per night is not more than 30% above Le Fenix'. Such a price difference is justified by the better quality accommodation Citichic offers. Granted, Le Fenix has some things going for it, too (an overall more attractive common area --> reception, restaurant, bar and - of course - the Nest) but this is a matter of preference. If the quality of accommodation ranks high in your needs, you will appreciate Citichic's better in-room offering (size, style and maintenance of room, bathroom with shower AND bath). Citichic also seems to be a somewhat smaller establishment, less busy and therefore a lot quieter (no Q-Bar type of establishment in-house or in the vicinity). Breakfast is a mix of buffet and a la carte. The offering is complete and of good standard. The coffee deserves special mention as it is individually brewed (espresso) and comes with a little pot of hot milk.

Room Tip: They have rooms at the entrance level. I did not try any of them but imagine that they could be gett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Berlin, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We´ve booked the citichic in advance and we were quite happy with this decision. It´s in the Sukhumvit area (13), so very near to a lot of bars and restaurants (there are to roof top bars with restaurant in wakling distance, the Nest and the Fraser suites - very nice!!!!!). Although it´s in this area, it´s very quite in the hotel. The staff was extremly helpful and nice. F.e., we´ve booked for another time in 2 weeks (after our trip to the south) and had a misunderstanding with the date. The were very kind and gave us the room to the same booking.com-price we had before. The sky train is not that far away (10 minutes to walk or tuktuk service), and it´s easy to make your own sight seeing program. The breakfast was okay, nothing overwhelming. The only negative thing was during the second stay: the aircondtion smelled one day! But altogether, we can recommend the citichic - nice hotel for a good price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Citichic by iCheck Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citichic by iCheck Inn

Address: 34 Sukhumvit Soi13 | Klong Toey, Bangkok 10110, Thailand (Formerly Citichic Boutique Suite Hotel)
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#97 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#115 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#154 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Citichic by iCheck Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you ready to experience one of Bangkok’s hippest settings? A modern, stylish, affordable place to stay in the heart of Bangkok awaits you. iCheck Inn is just meters away from Sukhumvit Soi 11, home to some of the area’s best bars and restaurants.Our inviting, lifestyle rooms are available with the very latest amenities, including free Wi-Fi, perfect for today’s modern leisure travelers. Within easy reach of Terminal 21, Bangkok’s trendiest shopping and entertainment center, use our free tuk-tuk service to BTS Nana to explore the rest of this thriving metropolis. A great choice, centrally located - welcome to one of Bangkok’s most exciting boutique hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Citichic by iCheck Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citichic Boutique Hotel Bangkok
Citichic Boutique Suite Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citichic by iCheck Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.