We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay is good and convenient location ” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Bangkok

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de Bangkok to your Saves list
Hotel de Bangkok
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   133/48 Ratchaprarop Soi 12, Ratchaprarop Road | Makkasan, Ratchathewi, Bangkok 10400, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #261 of 766 Hotels in Bangkok
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Stay is good and convenient location ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We stayed 3 nights and the bed was comfortable. Breakfast variety is not fantastic. But it is still pleasing. The front desk staff are all very friendly and helpful.
Room is small but with the price. . It is ok.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    89
    35
    11
    7
See reviews for
24
55
18
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
vasad
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

this is a small hotel . I stayed here for 3 nights. its a very cosy hotel with very friendly and helping hotel staff. rooms, corridors and reception is all clean and tidy. if you are a vegetarian, please inform at the reception when you check in.it will help them to serve you better. standard rooms are smaller and dark compared to the superior rooms where there is a balcony and ample of natural light. location of this hotel is very good. metro station is just 5 mins. away and the main shopping area is just 10 mis. away. the hotel provides free wifi not only in the lobby but even in rooms and works well. overall a good stay.

Room Tip: on the front side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

May 2014, we booked this hotel mainly because of its location and the fact it had wifi. This has been probably my worst experience ever. We were there for 3 days and the wifi never worked one single day. We complained to the hotel staff and all they had to say was sorry. And the nightmare doesnt end here by the way. Last day at the hotel, there was no electricity since 9am. You would think a hotel of that size would have power back up but you are wrong. They have no generators. Which also means that we had no power the whole morning and also no water in the bathrooms. The only good thing that happened that day was we checked out at 12pm.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSerene, General Manager at Hotel de Bangkok, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Harshita S,

Thank you very much for your feedback from your recent stay our hotel.

First of all please accept our apology regarding inconveniences you encountered. Please be guaranteed that we have tried our best to minimise the problem but all the problems came from the same cause which is the sudden power failure in the whole district because of the big thunderstorm in BKK. It did not happen often before.

As a consequence of the sudden power failure, our internet equipment was damaged resulting in the network on the top floor does not work. Also our high pressure water tank supplying water to the top floor was damaged.

Our quick solutions were;
- we did provide the internet network linked from our main office for our guests to use in the lobby. It worked well.
- we opened a new clean room for you to take a shower. It is on a lower floor so there was no problem with the water in the shower at all.

We really hope that you and the review readers understand that it is an uncontrollable circumstances due to the big thunderstorm and that we had provided solutions that are practical and helped a lot of our guests.

We did appreciate your stay with us and wish we will have an opportunity to welcome you again in the future.

Kindest regards,

Hotel de Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

Value for money,excellent for room and everyday room and towel always clean, i'm stay at De Bangkok hotel for 5day and 4night and sadly because everyday menu of breakfast always same :( , but i'm verry recommended this hotel because staff hotel very nice and always helping really good service

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSerene, General Manager at Hotel de Bangkok, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Ysp99,

Thank you for your recent stay at Hotel de Bangkok and for sharing your experiences to other travelers.

We will pass your compliment towards our staff. They would be very happy to have repeated compliments from our lovely guests.

In regards to our breakfast arrangement, please let use reassured you that we change the menu every day and we are happy to giveaway our daily breakfast menu. We think it could possibly be because the looks of the menu are too closed. We will revise them all again within this week.

Thank you once again. It is very lovely to meet you and we wish to welcome you back to Hotel de Bangkok in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Hotel de Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Located in a small street about 3mins walk away from the main road, 6 mins from the airport link. the hotel was very quiet as it was located on the small road. Lobby was maintained and we were served by welcome fruit juice. the lady on arrival was friendly and efficient. The room was abit small with 2 bed. the towel was worn out, thin and torn. bathroom amenity was not sufficient, no toothbrust at all. there were 2 bottles of water per day. there was a safety box inside the wardrobe.

Breakfast was good but same everyday. you can order egg upon arrival.

location is a bit far from shopping mall, you can walk for both way so you need to take taxi or tuk tuk which cause 100th per way.

The manager was friendly but some of the staff was not even look at you or greet you.

The aircon was very noisy with up and down so i could not sleep peaceful at night. WIFI always disconnected.

They did not inform me that there will be a breakfast fee for my 8yrs boy upon arrival and charge from the second day at 150TH per day with less variety of food.

In overall it was okay.

Room Tip: Tip: Verify the booking and inlcusion upon arrival.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSerene, General Manager at Hotel de Bangkok, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Dear Da_Da_S_83,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel and sharing your viewpoints to other readers.

Please allow us to share stories from our side after thorough investigation with all the departments and the manager in order to ensure that our daily operation is running perfectly. We believe you are upset with the surcharge of breakfast for extra person. Therefore please let us clear up some misunderstanding occurred during your stay.

The hotel is a 3 star hotel and actually located in a small alley just 15 meters from the main road to make all the noises from the main road absent.

Our location may be far from from your preferred shopping malls which clearly are not in our area. We can see if the taxi costs you 100 baht, it must be some place quite far. But you can choose to ride on Airport Railway to go around very easily as the station is located just 4 mins from the hotel. Please be ensured that famous shopping places closed to us are King Power Duty Free Shopping,Pratunam Market,Platinum,Central World,Palladium and many others.

The hotel does not provide toothbrush and shaver for free as clearly indicated on our website. You would not see those in 3 star leisure hotels in Thailand and most of hotels around the world as well as those managed by chain hotels. Please understand that our rate is as low as from 950 baht a night for a full service accommodation in the central of Bangkok. We really believe what we provide is even more sufficient than many hotels around.

Our room size is from 25 sq.m. for our standard room type which is more spacious than many other hotels in the same category. Please be ensured that our hotel room provides larger space than other 3 star hotels.

Thank you for your compliment regarding our quality and quantity of our breakfast. We guarantee you that we change the menu everyday. We do have 3 options of each noodle, rice, vegetable menu to choose from. Please feel free to contact us to provide you our daily breakfast menu. We are happy to share it.

Hope above clarifies the situation.

Thank you for your kind understanding and we wish to have a chance to welcome you back here again.

Kind regards,

Hotel de Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Located in a small street but 2-3min away from restaurants, convenient stores, shopkeepers etc; 5min away from airport rail link and 10-15min away from shopping malls.
Rooms are welcoming, spacious and clean. Bedding is particularly good.
The restaurant offers good food and allows discover a large range of thai specialties.
Staff is really nice and always helpful !

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSerene, General Manager at Hotel de Bangkok, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Aroundyourworld,

Warm greetings from Hotel de Bangkok.

Thank you for your recent stay with us and also your valuable feedback.
We will pass your compliment towards our place and the staff. They would be very happy to have repeated compliments from our lovely guests.

We look forward to welcome you back to Hotel de Bangkok in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Hotel de Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Hotel situated within walking distance of airport rail link, 1 stop away from BTS. About 15 mins walk to pratunam market and platinum mall. Breakfast was almost the same for both days. Relatively quiet hotel. Was upgraded to a family room for free.

Aircon and water was very strong/ very soft, too hot/ too cold very abrubtly. Other than that, no complains.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Bangkok

Address: 133/48 Ratchaprarop Soi 12, Ratchaprarop Road | Makkasan, Ratchathewi, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #261 of 766 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Bangkok 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BANGKOK CITY HOTEL NEAR PRATUNAM. EASY ACCESS BY AIRPORT RAIL LINK. BUDGET FRIENDLY HOTEL Perfect hotel to start exploring the city of Bangkok. Located right in the heart of Bangkok at Ratchaprarop Road, yet in a tranquil district of Pratunam - popular shopping arcade. Free Internet WiFi is available.Stay in downtown Bangkok with the starting budget friendly rate for the boutique hotel in Bangkok. Hotel de Bangkok is a boutique and cozy city hotel near Pratunam local shopping arcade & airport rail link at Ratchaprarop station. The unique design of Thai contemporary adjoining with the atmosphere of Western blended well together giving Hotel de Bangkok a warmth and friendly ambience. This lovely Bangkok hotel is also exceptionally positioned in one of the finest Bangkok locations near Pratunam shopping arcade where guests can easily access to several Bangkok attractions including markets, Platinum shopping mall, King Power Complex, night entertainments and etc. Thus, undoubtedly Hotel de Bangkok is the perfect place to stay for leisure, business, take a rest or long stay. All offers are certainly budget friendly including our fine culinary at Bistro de Bangkok Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel de Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.