We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Erawan House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Erawan House to your Saves list
Erawan House
17 / 1-2 Chanasongkhram Phra-artid Rd | Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #295 of 764 Hotels in Bangkok
Dublin
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

I have stayed in Erawan House on 3 different occasions while in Bangkok. The hotel was perfectly located, close to the Chao Praya River and all the acctions Bangkok has to offer, yet quiet enough to get a good nights sleep. The hotel staff were very friendly, I was given a room at 5 am after arriving from Koh Samui even that the check in time was 13pm. Big thank you to all of you guys. I would definitely stay again in Erawan!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    148
    57
    15
    6
See reviews for
19
116
39
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quinta Stuart
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Arriving after flying for a couple of days, Erawan was just the answer, quite quiet and as it doesn't have a bar to wrestle through (plenty a few metres away ). We paid about 22 Euros but I guess you can get it a lot cheaper just by walking in and there are lots of hostels everywhere BUT this place is clean air con hotwater and safe.... And we used the travel agent inside with good results (tickets to diem Reap, Angkor Wat)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

While this hotel does have a fairly convenient location, it is not worth the price. Internet does not work at all, even though they are quick to advertise it's speed. A speedy and reliable connection is necessary for my husband to keep up with his work while abroad, and is therefore a major factor for us when choosing hotels.

What's worse was the management's reaction when we asked about the poor quality of the internet and requested their help to fix it. They told us it was "free anyway" and "they were not IT" as if they had no control or insight into resetting the system. They then tried to blame it on the protests (that aren't even going on any more) and said that "they're phones worked just fine" even though there were four separate guests unable to connect in the lobby.

The management made snide comments as soon as we turned our backs to retreat, defeated, back to our room, and their ultimate advice was for us to just go get something to eat and try the internet in a restaurant.

So much for customer service.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

I stayed here twice in 2 weeks. Excellent location. Not too far from the Khao San road, but in a relatively quiet alleyway. Also 30 yards from a main road with (An Phra Thit) with plenty of taxis passing. Room small and basic, but A/C good, shower OK, TV and free bottles of water. They clean the room on request. Staff very friendly and helpful. Travel agency and money exchange at entrance to hotel. Only drawback was patchy Wi Fi. There was Wi Fi, but it kept coming and going. They seem to have 5 or 6 different connections available, (of which I was given password to 2), but 1/2 the time it just dissapears. Maybe they should get rid of all the different options of "Erawan", and get 1 really good one? I would have given this review 5 only for the annoying Wi Fi.

Room Tip: No lift. So a room on ground or 1st floor an advantage. Some of smaller rooms (small doubles/singles...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

I stayed at Erawan House twice during this trip to Thailand.
The important aspects for me are - location, quietness and security, then staff and cleanliness. Erawan House was excellent in all aspects.
Location: excellent - very quite and within easy walking distance to anywhere around the Khao San Road area, eg The Royal Palace
Security: felt I and my belongings were safe and secure throughout my time there.
Staff: were lovely; very helpful (eg: made phone calls for me), friendly and fun.
I would definitely stay again and highly recommend it to anyone who wants trouble-free accommodation in Bangkok.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Czech Republic
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Erawan's house is located very close to Khaosan road (little noisy at night) and near all the attractions.The rooms are basic,but very clean and comfortable, you will also get 2 free bottles of water everyday. It is a very good deal comparing to the other places in the surrounding area.
Really kind staff. Arrived around 9am and our room was already available, perfect! Wifi available at the reception only, not in the rooms - not a big deal. Booked some trips with the hotel agency, had good prices. We would repeat!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Szekesfehervar, Hungary
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Near Gran Palace and Khaosan road. Nice family operating the reception.500 BT to pay as deposit which you get back when you leave. Room to be paid in advance.The room was clean, bathroom could have been nicer, but seemed to be clean as well. Aircon a bit noisy but it worked.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Erawan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erawan House

Address: 17 / 1-2 Chanasongkhram Phra-artid Rd | Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Erawan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erawan House Hotel Bangkok
Erawan Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Erawan House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.