We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible hotel.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Florida Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Florida Hotel to your Saves list
Florida Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   43 Phrayathai Road | Rajathevi, Bangkok 10400, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #689 of 772 Hotels in Bangkok
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Horrible hotel.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

First time in Thailand so my family decided to try this convenient and cheaply priced hotel. All I can say is convenience is the only good thing going for the hotel. Like other reviews, I thought the front desk and initial service to be not to shabby. At the price point I wasn't expecting much, the beds seemed clean, but the AC was old and physically broke, but could still run. The blinds looked old and dirty. The deal breaker was the toilet . All faucets, sink; shower; tap,spewed hot water! Scalding at that, and I only found out when I was showering. When I tried to call down I realised that the phone didn't actually work. I had to personally walk down to the front desk before they sent someone up. Apparently you have to flush the toilet bowl for any form of cool water runs out. Take it from me, don't come here.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    35
    49
    28
    19
See reviews for
4
15
25
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stayed here for just an evening in order to get a shower and then a quick transit to the airport (it still takes like 30 minutes) with Skytrain when leaving the country to go back home.

They charged 600 bath for two persons staying ~5 hours and while i thought it may have been worth it while OK'ing the offer in the reception (as the hotel gave off a fairly exclusive feel in the reception), i quickly changed my mind when entering the room; they are simply awful. If you are not convinced then just take a browse through the user photos of the place, especially the bathroom would probably make pickier people puke when they see the shower curtain.

I can only imagine the more positive people on this site must have got another room, but then again, some of the picture i see among the user photos are from the same kind of room we stayed in. The whole room was three decades old with no upkeep what so ever.

The location was OK, close to the direct line to the skytrain to the airport. But other than that there's not much positive about the location - rather stay in Silom or Sukhumvit!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Just great location at this hotel because this hotel is so close to airport link and BTS sky train phayathai in really short walking distance. Room condition is really bad for my stay. Shower curtain has mold black dot all over. Hotel is really really old. Water turn brown. I use drinking water bottle to watch my face. The bell boy in front of the hotel want to call taxi for you. He will pull your luggage and one taxi who look like know that bell boy will pick you up. It's scam. Old orange taxi cap , the taxi driver look drunk and try to talk to me. I'm a thai lady who travel alone at this time. The driver asked me "do u have foreigner husband" I say "no" and drive very long drive from about phayathai thai junction road to LadPrao 35... I knew its scam since driver open his mouth and talk to me. But ohh well.. I let him scam and at the end I told him I was born and raise in Bangsue , Bangkok where is very close to Ladprao 35, and I knew you took me for the longest drive ever. My taxi cost me 100bth. Anyway goodness I'm to next hotel safe.. And try not to deal with thai taxi .. Most I will take subway, sky train and airport link in Bangkok... Anyway call taxi by yourself. Study your information really well when getting around Bangkok. I'm bangkokian who was born and grew up in Bangkok and always get scam by thai taxi all the time. Know your information well.. Try to not ask but if u need to ask ... Try to ask thai student in uniform , Most those thai students will not scam you. I have lived in USA 8 yrs now and every time when I back to Bangkok I have always got scammmm....

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The location is very good, few steps to the airport express and BTS, the room size is good. However, the room is really old, there are spider web on the corner of the ceiling, the bath curtain is old, the shower cant stand properly on the wall, and the toilet light suddenly off. Highly suggest the hotel management to upgrade the cleanness of the room, and it could be one of the best hotel in BKK with its excellent location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

BTS and Sky Train station is just around the corner and with a direct line to the airport and to other parts of Bangkok. Although it is on a busy junction and near the trains we heard no traffic through the night. The room was very basic and I hate blankets on a bed, nor do I like plastic on the mattress and the pillows were so hard and large I stuffed my dirty clothes in the pillowcase and slept on that. Air Con was fine. The bathroom definitely needs updating with a high shower not a hand shower. Having said that it suited us to get to the airport easily. No free WiFi.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here one night before flying back home. The location couldn't be better. When they say 2 minutes walk from the Airport Raillink it really is. It's also right next to the Bangkok Skytrain. The rooms are comfortable enough with good air conditioning and fridge etc. I would stay here again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indonesia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Despites bad comments from many peoples About this hotel, we still love it because location, location which few steps away from the hotel to the BTS Phaya Thai Skytrain. The room was quite spacious compare to other budget hotels/inn and clean as they changed the bed sheet, pillow covers, towels everyday. The bed was hard after staying for 4 nights and need to change the curtain to block the neon lighting of the hotel$

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Florida Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Florida Hotel

Address: 43 Phrayathai Road | Rajathevi, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #689 of 772 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Florida Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 301
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Otel and TripOnline SA so you can book your Florida Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Florida Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.