We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aurum....Fabulous!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aurum The River Place

Save Saved
You added Aurum The River Place to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aurum The River Place
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   394/27-29 Maharaj Road | Pranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
THB3,999 (THB)
Ranked #106 of 750 hotels in Bangkok
Douglasville, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Aurum....Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

This little boutique hotel may be one of the best kept secrets and best values in Bangkok! Our room is lovely; we asked for a partial river view and that's exactly what we got, with a lovely balcony! We could watch the river traffic and had a gorgeous view of Wat Arun. We could not be more pleased with our selection; all thanks to Trip Advisor. We wanted a hotel that was close to our Grasshopper Adventure Night Bike Tour(another TA recommend) and this is great! We plan to take this bike trip again with friends in December and we will definitely bring them here for the stay! So quaint, quiet, and peaceful.....away from the maddening crowds that ARE Bangkok!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    97
    33
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
22
74
12
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Lives the thai hospitality so friendly so helpful. The rooms were clean and gOod size the price I paid was also good. The location ok but transport is so cheap so meant that I could go anywhere in BKK for so little. Thank you to all the staff for your great hospitality and help

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

This has to be one of the best places I stayed. A great situation as you can walk to some of the major sites and easy walking to the pier to use the river buses. Nothing was to much for the staff, lots of help and advice given. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. I would recommend the Thai breakfast! Hope to visit again

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Great hotel in the perfect location. There are only a few hotels in this river-front area of Bangkok. I have been to all of them. They all have trade-offs, but you can't go wrong with this choice.

Positives:
1. This hotel is perfectly located on the river just a few blocks from Wat Pho, the amulet market, the Grand Palace, and the Pak Klong Market. (All are must-see places. Be sure to visit the Pak Klong Market at night when the fresh flowers are delivered. Amazing!)
2. The breakfast is really good, especially since you can sit by the river and enjoy the early morning breeze before it gets hotter later in the day.
3. The staff is very friendly and helpful.
4. It is very quiet at night once the longtail river boats head home.

Negatives:
1. Very few of the rooms have a good view of the river. Most views are partially blocked or are a side view.
2. There are not too many choices for dinner in the area. Most of the nearby restaurants are only open for lunch. I recommend The Deck a few blocks upriver at the Arun Residence Hotel.

Overall, highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, tr
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

To my understanding the are only a handful of boutique hotels with views of the river and the old city of Bangkok: of these, the Ibrik is a bit on the small side for a family with kid and is on the other side of the river, so you have to take a ferry to visit around, and the Arun (which potentially has the best views) had only a room without views available, so the Aurum was our best option (and they were also the most prompt and attentive in their mail correspondence, I might add).

The hotel is perfectly clean and charming, thou maybe a tad less thai-chic than the competitors, as rooms are large but mostly modern in style. It seems indeed that only a handful of rooms have onubstructed river views, as other reviewers have pointed out: we were lucky enough to have room 412 which, large as it is, had sweeping views over the river and its traffic.
The room with views do not open on the most famous Wat Arun (the eponymous Arun Hotel does, while Ibrik opens on the Gran Palace), but on a minor but impressive temple ('Wat Kanlayannamit', my iPhone tells me it is called), and on a beautifully illuminated white stupa further ahead. You can see Wat Arun from the deserted terrace above (too hot to enjoy for much of the time), and from the cafe by the river where you have the nice breakfast arranged for you, and you can sip a coffee at sunset.
The hotel and the location are nice enough, but where Aurum excels is in service: the lady and gentleman go out of their way to provide information and suggestions, and to anticipate your needs: they do an excellent job at it.
The hotel is perfectly situated to visit the golden triangle of Wat Arun, Wat Pho and the Grand Palace, all within walking reach (but do not underestimate the distances: the Grand Palace is a brisk walk).
The real problem starts at dusk: there are actually no proper places to have dinner apart from the Arun Hotel (which indeed offers good food with great views), and to reach downtown (Siam Square, say) is not that simple: a long if pleasant boat trip down to the skytrain and a chilly ride on the train itself. Notice also that the ferry service stops pretty early at night: then you are left at the mercy of taxis and the traffic.
Aurum and its competitors seem all perfect choices to stay in Bangkok if you have only a few days and want to take all the sights at once. I can imagine that staying in the old city might get boring and unconfortable for more than a couple of days.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012 via mobile

A vey well run boutique hotel that makes you feel right at home. Jin, the manager and her team are very helpful and attentive to all our requests. The location is excellent for those who want to stay near the Grand Palace, wat Pho. It is also very near the pier where we can take the water taxi to avoid the traffic during peak hours.

In my next trip to Bangkok, I will definitely come back here again.

Thank you for the wonderful experience.

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

We stayed at the Aurum in Jan 2012. The owner's knowledge of the city and willingness to share is outstanding. Her english is terrific. The breakfast by the water is excellent --We recommend the Thai breakfast. When we complimented them on the quality of the soup -they brought another bowl. You are close to the Grand Palace, Wat Phro (book yourself a massage at their school when you first enter) and across the water from Wat Arun -3 "must sees". Water Taxis zip you around -- take one to the Mandarin Oriental for a sunset snack on the water and be close to the Skytrain. Otherwise like everyone else and for other sites --you have to fight the traffic.

Room Tip: Ask for an "01" room (201,301, etc)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aurum The River Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurum The River Place

Address: 394/27-29 Maharaj Road | Pranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#89 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#95 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#119 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aurum The River Place 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bangkok's riverside boutique hotel on the bank of the Chao Phraya River. Located in "Rattanakosin Island " the historical-cultural reserved area in the middle of Bangkok. Few minutes walk to the Reclining Buddha Temple (Wat Pho), Watpo Thai traditional massage school, and the Grand Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Aurum The River Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurum The River Place Hotel Bangkok
Aurum The River Place Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aurum The River Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.