We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved our stay in Urbana” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Urbana Sathorn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Urbana Sathorn to your Saves list
Urbana Sathorn
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   55 South Sathorn Road | Tungmahamek, Bangkok 10120, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #272 of 772 Hotels in Bangkok
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“We loved our stay in Urbana”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We booked an executive suite with two bedrooms for the price of one room in the hotels of similar standard. It was huge and had tow balconies with amazing views over Bangkok on 27 th floor.. We loved everything: service was excellent, breakfast- good and various, beds- very comfortable with very nice pillows and linen. Pool - big and clean. It cost 300 bhat and half an hour with taxi to the airports- and almost nothing anywhere else. In the restaurant downstairs- a splendid selection of Belgian beers. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrbanaHospitality, Manager at Urbana Sathorn, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Margaux62

Thank you for sharing your lovely experience during your stay with us. We are truly delighted that you appreciated everything, from our facilities up to our services.

We enjoyed reading your compliments and we’ll try our best in bringing out quality service to our guests. It would be of great honor if you would choose to stay with us again and we would want to exceed your expectations in the future.

Best regards,
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    173
    69
    29
    22
See reviews for
107
75
50
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

My family of four stayed in a two bedroom suite on the 33rd floor. The room was beautiful. It was large, well equipped and in excellent condition. With two bathrooms, a lounge, office area, dining table and kitchen we had everything we needed. The pool was lovely, not enough seating when we were there :-(
We ate breakfast there everyday and although the food was varied and plentiful it was not a pleasant experience - far too many people in a very small space - not a relaxing start to the day. This lets the experience down - otherwise I would rate it at 5 stars.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrbanaHospitality, Manager at Urbana Sathorn, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear ChCh73

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us. We had a great time reading your reviews and gained information for improvement as well.

Please accept our apologies for the unpleasant queue at the restaurant. We will let the restaurant management know to find a solution as soon as possible. We sincerely apologize if this made your stay displeasing and we do hope that you’ll give us another chance in your future visit. We are eager to see you again at Urbana Sathorn.

Best regards,
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

There are plenty of decent hotels in bangkok and I think you should just give this a missed. We stayed in the penthouse on level 34. It was a huge apartment with dated furnitures. We had hot water only in the afternoon and it lasted for 10 mins or so. On top of that, the water pressure was just pathetic. We rang up the receptionist and she sent a technician who doesn't understands English. After 45 mins of checking, problem remained unsolved. We had to take a cold shower on the first night and to make it worst, with extremely low water pressure. We made a complaint the next morning and the manager offered us another penthouse and assured us that the water heater was working fine; same goes with the water pressure. We happily went shopping around the city and went back to the hotel about 12.30 am after a massage. And guess what? We had the exact same issue as our previous apartment. We had extremely low pressure cold water in the middle of the night. Again, they sent somebody up for repair works. As you can already guessed, yes the technician left without fixing anything again! We were so frustrated that we requested another room with hot water just to take a shower. They gave us a room on the 33rd floor with perfect water pressure and boiling hot water. Bliss! We left the next day even though we were supposed to spend another night here. Breakfast was lousy. I am not sure how one can go wrong with an american breakfast spread but really you might wanna eat somewhere else!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrbanaHospitality, Manager at Urbana Sathorn, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear 512Carmen

We thank you for choosing our hotel as a place to stay in Bangkok. And also, thank you for sharing your experience with us.

We do apologize for the problems you experienced during your stay. All your comments were brought to the department concerned and also to the management to avoid future occurrence. As for the breakfast, we apologize as well if you weren’t satisfied with the food served and we will let the restaurant know. We are sorry if we fail to deliver the quality service that you deserve.

Overall, we hope you could give us a chance to satisfy your expectations and to be able to create a perfect experience. We thank you for taking time and please accept our apologies.

Best regards,
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Good location. Approx 10 walk to sky train station Sala Daeng. Good breakfast selection. Hotel room is spacious, contains a living room, dining area, kitchen, washer/dryer, large bedroom and a good view of the city from the balcony. Will definitely come back if in Bangkok.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrbanaHospitality, Manager at Urbana Sathorn, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear sohe

Firstly, thank you for choosing to stay at Urbana Sathorn. We appreciated your kind words during your stay with us.

We are delighted that you liked our facilities and services. We really do enjoyed reading your reviews and we are glad to share this compliments to the entire team. Your review would be a good inspiration for us to do better in our service with each of our guests. We hope to see you again in our property and you’ll still choose us as a place to stay in Bangkok.

Best regards,
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Situation close to Silom and skytrain BTS (10min walk), confortable, would need a refurbishment.

The plus:
. Handy locatin close to Patpong night market and to BTS skytrain station of Sala Daeng.
. The suites are vast (65 sq.m.)
. Suites include bedroom, kitchen with fridge and electric cooker, and sitting room with couch and cable TV.
. Bed is confortable.
. Staff is friendly, smiling and helpful.
. Easy check-in/out.
. The room is well cleaned every day (though no replacement of the shampoo and soap used).

The minus:
. Special requests are not taken into account: I asked for a room on swimming pool side and got a room on another side of the building.
. Design of the rooms and hotel is old-looking.
. Some water-taps are leaking.
. No chair nor table on the balcony, it's a pity that you can not enjoy seating there.
. Not enough deckchairs around the swimming pool.
. Overpriced wifi if not included in the room's price (350THB for 24hrs). For an hotel of this standing it should be included in any case.
. Description of the room doesn't match exactly what is provided: no ironing material, no slippers.
. The free toiletries are not replaced when used.
. Kitchenware is really minimal (though not so important when you eat everyday out).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrbanaHospitality, Manager at Urbana Sathorn, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear christophe p

Thank you for choosing to stay at Urbana Sathorn. We appreciated how you specified each of the pros and cons that you had experienced during your stay with us.

We are glad that you enjoyed our facilities and service though you find some inconvenient matters. We always try of our best to fulfill every guest’s room request; however, it is also depending on the room availability. On the other hand, if you plan to visit us again, our team would always be glad to provide with what you need.

We would be focusing on your reviews and would ask each department to maximize their service in order to provide quality rooms with all of the guests. We would be delighted to see you again in our property in the future. And thank you for taking your time in putting your reviews.

Best regards,
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

Pros: (deluxe) had a washer, kitchenette

Cons: service, from top to bottom was very poor. Location.

Started by my friend asking the bell men if they got all the baggage out of the cab. Then we had to run to stop the cab WHO WAS DRIVING AWAY WITH OUR LUGGAGE IN THE FRONT PASSENGER SEAT! Bell men just looked on!!
No hot water 3 of 5 days. Got no help from managers so asked to speak to the GM. Response was that he does not talk to 'customers' and if I don't wan't to talk to her I can hang up and she'll send a letter. ?? A letter to say sorry.?? We could not get a refund if we wanted to leave because we paid already through a travel site....Stay Away!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrbanaHospitality, Manager at Urbana Sathorn, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear EatCookTravel

Thank you for sharing you reviews with us. We are sorry for the unpleasant experience that you had.

We do apologize if we didn’t reach your satisfaction during your stay. The management is well-informed about the problems and we are taking a serious measure in improving our staff’s service standard.

We do hope would give us a chance to give you better service in the future.

Best regards,
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Spent 2 nights here upon entering the country.
Was an awesome hotel about 10 minutes from the nightlife and the sky train with friendly staff, a iPad to use with wifi at reception and an incredible pool, gym and room!
Was great value for money for what we paid for 2 people, and was a great start to our trip.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrbanaHospitality, Manager at Urbana Sathorn, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Lorenzo L

Thank you very much for booking with us and sharing your experience about your stay. We do appreciate you for taking time to give us your review.

We are glad that you enjoyed our location, facilities and services. Our swimming pool and gym are indeed one of the highlights in our hotel with a good view of the city. To fully indulge in our property, we recommend you to try our squash, badminton and half basketball court and our fitness staffs would be more than glad to assist you.

You could always reach any of our staffs if you have anything you need upon your next return. We will do our best to give you the best service and we do hope to see you again at Urbana Sathorn.

Best regards,
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Urbana Sathorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urbana Sathorn

Address: 55 South Sathorn Road | Tungmahamek, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#161 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#172 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Urbana Sathorn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Urbana Sathorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fraser Suites Urbana Sathorn Hotel Bangkok
Fraser Hotel Bangkok
Fraser Hotel Urbana Sathorn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Urbana Sathorn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.