We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Diamond City Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Diamond City Hotel to your Saves list
Diamond City Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   594/23 Soi Payanark ,Rama 6 Road | Thanon Phetchaburi,Ratchathewi, Bangkok 10400, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #496 of 772 Hotels in Bangkok
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Do not stay here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights in August 2012 and it was terrible. Room did not have windows, although there was a curtain covering a wall, bathroom was dirty, hallways smelt overly perfumed and worst of all, the front desk staff could not be trusted. I felt like they were working with the taxi drivers to overcharge us. The taxis the hotels provided, did not turn on their meters and we were overcharged to go to JJ market and other tourist attractions. Of course because this was Thailand, all the ripping off was done with a smile. Also there is a "deposit" for everything, deposit for the room key as well as a lock for the safe in your room.

Breakfast was mediocre, overly cooked gray eggs, weird hot dogs and usually noodles that looked like they've been sitting out for hours.

Pool is in an extremely weird area at the front of the hotel, I'm not sure I saw anyone using it.

I know this is a budget hotel but i think you could use your money elsewhere for a more enjoyable stay and beware of the Front Desk staff!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennyDen, Manager at Diamond City Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Dear Customer,

Please kindly be informed that our standard room has no window. If you would wish to have a window, please kindly informed us so that we can arrange room accordingly to your preference. As you have mentioned the smell in the hallway, please kindly be informed that all hallway has been put with the light of essential oil smell not a dirty smell. We have not heard any guest complain about the smell in the hallway in the past. If you do not like the smell, please kindly inform us. Our hotel is more than happy to remove the essential oil machine from your floor.

Moreover, most of hotels would require certain deposit. It would be either by credit card or cash to ensure the extra spending during your stay. If the guest has not used any mini bar or room service, all the amount of deposit will be return back to guest when the guest check out. Please kindly be informed that the deposit amount is 500THB (16 USD) or one ID card.

With the transport that you have mentioned, please kindly be informed that the transport service was being ordered from the guest and the price has been told before the guest's confirm. If the guest think it is expensive, the guest do not have to order the hotel transport service. Please also be informed that the hotel DO NOT have the taxi meter service. The transport charge is the hotel transport car for your own transportation. Arrange in the time the guest wish, waiting at the different point of stops as the guest's wish. It is acted as guest's personal transportation. Therefore, the charge is impossible to be accordingly to the public taxi meter. We hope for the guest and all readers to deeply understanding us in this perceptive

We are budget hotel in the center of Bangkok with the rate not over 35USD for the lowest room category with Free buffet Breakfast, Free WiFi, Free tea, coffee, and soft drink 24 hours. We have tried our best to provide the most we can possibly do for our guest to enjoy their stay with us.

We hope to seek all your kind understanding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    87
    84
    37
    38
See reviews for
34
68
23
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The best thing about this hotel is the manageress who could not do enough to help us and seemed to work a 15 hour day. Having stayed in other hotels on this street I would choose this one because at least the rooms have a window and balcony (which another hotel doesn't) and the staff treat your wife with respect.
Yes it is on a long street but if you want the authentic Thai experience then this is the best hotel
in Bangkok.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
READING
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. The location is good only a short walk to the bts station and easy to find however it is a bit out of place where it is. You have to walk down a road which is full of street vendors and small slumish houses/shops. Not pleasing to the eye. You also have to give a 500 baht deposit when you check in something we were not aware of or had budgeted for. The pool is next to the lobby and seating area with no privacy at all there is a massive waterfall feature in the middle of the pool hanging from the ceiling making it very difficult to do anything apart from getting splashed in the face. When we booked via late rooms it said the hotel offered a free tuk tuk service to the bts station this however is not the case and you have to pay to use it. The tuk tuk service was good however to go to the grand palace, it takes you directly there for 200 baht which saves the hassle of getting the bts then the boat however you do need to make your way back. The room was no where near a superior room, the shower was built into the wall and extremely weak most of the water ran down the wall and the shower curtain did not come to the wall where the shower was so water splashed everywhere. There were no bathroom towels only two large shower towels. We had a balcony which consisted of a maximum two foot slated ledge with a table on it but no chairs and the chairs in the room we're to big to fit out there. The wardrobe is very small and you won't be able to fit much in it. The maid stole some loose baht coins that we left on the side, she also tidied the room perfectly on the second day refilling toilet roll making the bed and giving us new towels etc however the next day she just put the pillows back normally and folded the towels onto the table. The air con is very poor it keeps directly underneath it cool but did nothing for the rest of the room. There are 3 sets of curtains and a tinted window I presume so no body can see in. The bed was very comfortable so were the pillows it was not a standard hard Thai mattress. The security at the hotel is very poor late at night they padlock the doors together with a bike lock. The wifi is not very strong in the rooms. Outside of our room was what looked like a storage area which had items dumped on it and there was also a room balcony which directly backed onto it.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We spent 3 nights in this hotel during our Bangkok stay.For us this was a good hotel. We had a clean and nice room and the staff was friendly. Low price and quite convenient location .

Its very near to all shopping malls if you don't mind a bit of walking . This hotel is 15-20 minutes walk to Bangkok's most famous shopping destinations - Pratunam, Platinum fashion mall, Pantip Plaza. In fact, it is just 15-20 minutes to Indira market. Very convenient for those who want to do shopping and come back to hotel to sleep.

For shopping and dinner we never hired any vehicles or tuktuk.

We never rang-up for cleaning room but everyday when we returned from our day trip found room cleaned .
They have very small swimming pool but its cute and attractive too.
We enjoyed their Buffet breakfast also . They look after every tourists taste too, indian thai etc ect .
Near the hotel can enjoy lots of sreet food and variety kind of local fruits during evening.
As the BTS very near to the hotel we tried sky train and rail link upto airport on the day of return . Its took 30 minute to reached to airport and spend 120 baht for 2 person .

One think annoyed us when we asked to use safety box they charged small deposit or passport I asked the guy at the reception, isn’t the copy of my passport enough but they insisted , ok we managed for hotel manager's polite behavior.

Room Tip: we stayed in 312 its good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We spent around 8 hours, basically one night at the hotel and had enough! The street of which the hotel is located is NOT AT ALL SAFE.You will find drunks and junkies all around--in fact, the hotel has put up boards at places asing you to be wary of strangers right outside the hotel. The hotel has NO GATE...you step out of the premises and it's the road.

Coming to the hotel itself--it's musty and smells like it's been smeared with Vicks all through. There's a 'pool' right in the lobby and if you dare to take a dip, be prepared for a lot of stares. The rooms are OLD...NOT well maintained--you'll find old murals hanging and don't bother parting the curtains to look out of the window--there's not view anyway. The sheets were clean, but the bed was damn shaky...my husband (90 kgs) sat at the foot of bed and we felt it would give way. Bathroom fixtures were OK but the shower was rusty or dirty--couldn't figure out what..
All in all, what they show on their website/brochure is complete sham. The entire hotel gives you a gloomy, creepy feel.

Breakfast was strictly okay...but the diary creamer was stale. The only saving grace is--it's very close to the airport rail link at Payathai. but i'm sure there are better hotels around. and Oh, they have their own tuk-tuk service to the payathai station for 70 bahts and that's nice too. We were so glad to get out of the hotel and hop onto that tuktuk

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Diamond city hotel is a great place to stay in Bangkok. its located near large shopping malls which are extremely cheap and the hotel will provide a tuk tuk service if needed although you can walk there in 20 minutes. the rooms are clean and have a fridge with mini bar, television, working A/C, decent shower and even a bath. free tea, coffee, juice and water is available 24hr in the hotel lobby and the swimming pool in the lobby is also open 24hr. the staff are also friendly and helpful. we stayed there because it is only a 30 minute drive to the airport and we had a flight to catch early morning so it was ideal. all in all a good place to stay. definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

A friend picked this as a overnighter for our last day in Bangkok - her reasoning being that it was close to the malls and the train station which is where we were arriving. Oh, and she wanted a pool (please be warned - the "pool" is in the reception, and has a cheesy waterfall and fake fern forest. I dare you to enjoy lounging on one of the "sun" beds, soaking up the smells of chlorine while everyone checks in).

The hotel's interior is dated, dark and feels like the inside of an oven. Its furnished with plush carpeting, old cabinets filled with antiques and fake plants galore. I got the feeling it was a grand old hotel in the 70's that has never been updated, but instead of this giving it character, it just made it seem creepy. Our room was equally dated, the view was of broken balconies and a dodgy alley, the shower sprayed everywhere except on the person in the shower.

Really there isn't much redeeming about this hotel except to say that the staff did their job of checking us in and out & ordering us a taxi to the hotel. And the location is ok - down an alley, but 10 min walk to the malls or skytrain.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennyDen, Manager at Diamond City Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
We are deeply aplogy for any inconvenience during your stay with us. As we are a budget hotel located in the center of Bangkok, we have tried our best to provide the best facitlity and decoration we possible can for our valued customers with the rate we have received. The pool inside the hotel is for our customers to relax and for their kids to be able to play. This is due to the limited space we have since we are not a big hotel. Moreover, our hotel is a boutique hotel. Therefore, the decoration as well as the light is the style and do not have the furniture you have mentioned because it is old. It is our boutique style. The hotel has been renovated in different part to meet up with the quality. The tree can not be grow inside the hotel, therefore, the fake tree is just for a decoration. Different customers have both like and dislike and we are deeply apology to make you feel this way. We have tried our best and we will keep developing to make our customers enjoy their stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Diamond City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond City Hotel

Address: 594/23 Soi Payanark ,Rama 6 Road | Thanon Phetchaburi,Ratchathewi, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #496 of 772 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Diamond City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Diamond City Hotel, BangkokExplore yourself in this boutique hotel styles in the center of Bangkok with our friendly staffs that will always welcome you, cater to your every needs, and anticipate your every desire.At the heart of Bangkok, Diamond City Hotel is located in the best shopping area and at the core business area. Please visit us and enjoy our warm hospitality at a reasonable price with excellent services, newly furnished guest rooms, convenient location, security and privacy, and not to mention our delicious cuisine available 24 hours.Here you will receive 5-star service from our team with years of experience and friendly staffs that will go above and beyond their call of duty to ensure that your stay with us will be a comfortable and memorable one.We offer hotel accommodation within your budget. Diamond City Hotel embraces and takes pride in our boutique mood setting, situated in the heart of Bangkok.Location: Minutes away from Siam Square, MBK Shopping Plaza, Pratunam, and Siam Paragon. Less than 10 minutes to Ratchathewee Skytrain Station Less than 2 minutes walking distance to 7-eleven, local markets, and variety of authentic Thai Restaurants ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Diamond City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamond City Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diamond City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.