We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Home Away from Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel to your Saves list
Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel
46 Thewet Soi 1, Krungkaseam Rd. | Bangkhunprom, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 766 Hotels in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 stars 1,524 Reviews
Malaysia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A Home Away from Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

My partner and I stayed for 5 nights at PN and were not the least disappointed. We arrived ahead of schedule (we took the train from Malaysia) and were promptly checked in even though it was 11am. Our room was clean, simple and beautiful. It was a lovely feeling to return to PN after our full days; indeed entering the PN gates felt very much like returning home to a family.

The area of Thewet, in which PN is located, is an ideal location for travelers who crave the local Bangkok scene. It is not touristy, which is a plus. 10 minutes' walk away is the ferry stop, a very convenient and easy mode of transportation.

We were very sad to leave PN on our last day; we are still missing PN's healthy breakfasts and their friendly staff. PN family, thank you so much for making our trip a memorable one; we promise we will return in the near future!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, PN Gangs at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2009
Sawasdee ka khun christineMalaysia

Thank you for your response.
We feel the same as you, this is not just our office to work but it's our home as well.

Keep slow life and smiling :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,142
    315
    49
    16
    2
See reviews for
376
688
143
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2009

All the staff (especially) Kasana were so thoughtful, patient and generous to me and my mother during our brief stoppover in Bangkok.

Simply the best Customer/client care ever experienced anywhere.

Stayed June 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, PN Gangs at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2009
Sawasdee ka khun albertmunroscotland

Thank you for your response, it's our pleasure to take care of you and your mom ka.

Keep smiling :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingstown
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2009

We had the privilege of staying in this very peaceful corner of the very bustling Bangkok for one night and was heart broken to leave. This is a really good effort at conservation. We were very impressed with all the recycled stuff. The attention to detail can be felt all around this place and one definitely feel human touch everywhere. The serene garden was a big plus. The place is alive in a very calming way. If you'd like to take a break and slow down your life this is the place for you. We will surely return to here for a longer stay in the future.The staff is very friendly and helpful and are a big part f the soul of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, PN Gangs at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2009
Sawasdee ka khun spidabug

We are very welcome you back at anytime and thank you for your review :)

Keep your life slow by the rythm of nature.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2009

My husband and I planned a trip to Thailand with our two sons, aged 3 and 6. We found this place under Trip Advisors hidden gems. And boy, we were not dissapointed. In fact it far exceeded our expectations. It was a great welcome to Thai culture and hospitality.
Nestled away down a back street it was really an oasis. as you entered through the artisan gates, you entered a secret garden. The garden has a swing- which our boys adored. A waterfall to a small fish pond and a open retaurant area decorated with care. The kitsch design included many exhibits of examples of Thai products and styles. The walls had murals depicting scenes of nature ad still life which were made with a fabulous attention to detail and vibrancy. I cannot compliment it enough. We arranged transfer from the airport with the hotel and were greeted with an ice cold drink and then taken to our taxi.
At the hotel we were greeted by beautifully mannered staff with a cool drink and a snack. The reception staff made us comfortable whilst they checked us in. They immediately befriended the children and made us all feel very very welcome.
After we checked in we were shown our room which was a really good size with balcony and air con. Complimentary water and towels were provided. Breakfast was very enlightening. It began with a small stack of pancakes with cocolate sauce and banana, we then had a savoury dish- omlettes, with wild musroom, or pancakes with creamed spinach, followed by fresh fruit. served with freshley squeezed juices, watermelon, papaya, and more, and coffee. It was a feast. they had no problem in changing items for the kids when they did not like the taste and did not charge any extra.
There was a free internet area where soft music played and they provided holisic therapies too. There was a stack of toys for the kids which we could drag out and the staff did not mnd at all when the kids ran through the courtyard, past reception, twanged the piano and jumped over the computers whilst screaming over and over again.
The staff even played with the kids whenever they could.The boys were a little bit nervous at first, but the Thai's persisted past the boy's shyness and hiding behind mum's skirt and they succeeded in making them comfortable with the attention from strangers. I would highly reccomend this place to couples, singles, families with children and would definately return again and again ad again.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, PN Gangs at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2009
Sawasdee ka khun LailaPete

Thank you so much for your response, it been many months since you were back to your home. Now we open our kitchen with 3 styles of Pad Thai.

Waiting for you to come back :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taiwan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2009

Great place for slow life. I really appereciate staying at PN!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nathta, PN Gangs at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2009
Thank you ka

Keep slow life and smiling :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, il
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2009

i loved this place. 2 of my girlfriends and i stayed in bangkok for a week and we were VERY pleased with PN. the hotel's location wasn't ideal however cabs were so super affordable, we had no problem paying. plus we were allll over the city so it wouldn't have mattered where we were.

the decor, breakfast, and ambiance were by far our favorite things about PN. it had a lot of character and the staff was helpful & very friendly.

keep in mind that if you're planning to stay out to let the front desk know since they lock the doors at night.

Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, PN Gangs at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2009
Sawasdee ka khun gsrgrl023

I guess you are Agnes, Annie and Grace, (pardon me if this is not them)

Anyway, thank you for your response, all with smiling when the guest are back with happiness.

Don't worry about locking the gate, we have staff stand by 24hrs, whenever you came back we'll please to open the door for you.

Your Truly,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisborne
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2009

best HOTEL . The most awesome staff, amazing breakfast , It provides tranquil ty and the most relaxing atmosphere in busy Bangkok. An experience that was unexpected and will stay with me forever. Recommended for all those adventurers and backpackers out there who value the good things in life. Thankyou Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel for providing a fastastic stay. Seeyou soon. JUDY OHARA NZ

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, PN Gangs at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2009
Sawasdee ka khun JUDY OHARA

Thank you for your response.
We're glad to hear that your stay here was a good experience for you.

Hope to see you soon as well :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel

Address: 46 Thewet Soi 1, Krungkaseam Rd. | Bangkhunprom, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#36 Best Value Hotel in Bangkok
#166 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear guests: Please be advised we are not associated with any online travelagents. We only accept reservations via our website We are a small hotel situated within Phranakorn district ( Old Bangkok), with the concept of slow life, we hope to bring your trip and rest apart from the usual hectic environment. Learning to respect the way of nature and living among real life community are one of experiences you cannot easily find in this rush and bustle world. Here at PN we don't just offer a place to stay, but we offer experience as well. Please booking from our website only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel and TripOnline SA so you can book your Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phranakorn Nornlen Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.