We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“another side of bangkok” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel to your Saves list
Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   46 Thewet Soi 1, Krungkaseam Rd. | Bangkhunprom, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 772 Hotels in Bangkok
Singapore River, Singapore
1 review
“another side of bangkok”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

It is a relaxing place, so different from the busy town of Bangkok. It is an excellent place to rest and enjoy the peaceful moment. The wall paintings are great. The breakfast is unexpected but delicious.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for your nice review : )
It is always our pleasure to know that guests had a good time with us.
I hope to see you again in the future.

Have a slow life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,242
    332
    50
    16
    3
See reviews for
410
741
151
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

We had a great stay last week. Family of 4 in one of the family rooms. Wonderful vintage vibe from all the great collectibles they have displayed. Painted walls were really amazing. Restaurant was good and convenient with kids. Outdoor area was my daughter's favorite thing. I couldn't get her off the tree swing! Easy to get a tuk tuk on the main road. We were only here for 2 nights before we headed north, but I am glad we made the time. Oh, and I had an amazing Thai massage. The store sells lovely things. Especially loved the home made skin products (soaps, lotions & mosquito spray). It's really just a lovely, funky and interesting property! Definitely recommend if you're not looking for a "traditional" hotel, but someplace unique and memorable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your nice review, we are happy to know that you had a good stay with us.
Sometime when you have no plan to go or tried with the busy life outside, we just want here to be the place that you could rest and relax. The massage, food, product, workshop are the service that we willing to provide you.

Hope you come and stay longer next time.
Have a slow life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livorno, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

The atmosphere of this place is pleasant and relaxing. This is what You need after an entire day visiting Bangkok.
For what should I choose it:
-Service/staff (excellent)
-Cleanliness (very good)
-Sleep Quality (excellent)
-Atmosphere
-Originality of furniture and furnishings
Appreciated facilities:
-washing machine
-dryer
-air conditioned in rooms
-wi-fi free
-internal shop
The hotel is located in Old Bangkok, in Phranakorn district. We've choose this hotel also for this reason, we didn't want an hotel in the modern center of Bangkok. In Phranakorn district You can see how the people really live in the city. No skytrain or underground nearby, but You'll be able to move in the city with Chao Phraya boat company (Thewet stop at about 5 minutes walk from the hotel) with a few bahts per head.
Negative:
-no elevator (this is not a problem for me but might be for someone)

You can visit the official website where You'll be able to find all infos:
www.phranakorn-nornlen.com
I highly recommend it to those who want to stay in the old bangkok within an oasis of peace in which to feel at home

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Hello : )

Thank you so much for your nice review. Great to know that you had a good stay with us.
We are located in the old Bangkok area which many historical places are around, The river boat is also convenience to go from one place to another place. Also taxi or tuktuk is easy to catch, you could ask our staff to help to catch one if you have a hard time for bargain the price in case the driver refuse to turn on the meter.

Really hope to see you again in the future if you come back to Bangkok.
Have a slow life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

What a fantastic place !!! beautiful hotel, I loved all of it, the friendly and helpful staff, the decor, the lovely paintings on the walls of the rooms, each one is different, colorfull, the vintage touch, the ecological effort, the organic juices, the little shop ... this hotel has a beautiful atmosphere, you could just sit there, relax, and forget about visiting the city...!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your nice review : ) We are happy to know that you like our place and enjoyed your stay here.
Many guests also just sitting at the terrace (Sala) and read their book all day, seem like staying at home on the holiday ^__^

Hope to welcome you back here again.
Have a slow life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

The hotel has a good aura . It's nice to be there. The first thing was wanted to do - to capture everything on film, but capture the feelings of staying here is impossible.
The hotel welcomes good and healthy lifestyle. Smoking and sex tourism are prohibited here. I think that it's creates a pleasant atmosphere . If alcohol wouldn't be selling - it would be even better. Breakfasts are vegetarian ( but sometimes with eggs ) . The hotel is perfect for families with children. The hotel has a large game room, it's very difficult to pull out child from it. Almost all parents take their children out of there in tears because they did not want to leave :))
The hotel has a washing machine, you can ask for an iron and ironing board, a computer with Internet access.
The location is convenient . Near is the pier from which the boat will get you to BTS. Nearby there is the temple, and you can see the Big Buddha from the windows on the stairs and the roof. At a distance of 1 km from the hotel there is a Thai vegetarian restaurant May Kaidee, you can get there by walking about 15 minutes.
We had some difficulties to take a taxi to get to the hotel: many taxi drivers refused to go after seeing map of the hotel, may be the reason was that the directions on the scheme is described through the protests zone. As a result, from Little India to the hotel the price was 300 Baht. It's temporary problem.
In the whole I'm recommending this hotel. It's very clean & cozily. It has friendly atmosphere. The staff is very nice polite & friendly. Wishes for the hotel: it would be great if the breakfast menu will include options without eggs, eggsfree pancakes , cookies, cakes or other pastries.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice feedback, it is really useful for us and others travelers.
We are located in the old Bangkok area which is easily get to many tourist attractions, even we are in the same area of the government house but actually not that close. The taxi driver may afraid to come not because of the protest battle but for the traffic due to the protest. However until now the situation is getting better, no worry to come to Bangkok at all.
Regarding your suggest about the menu, we are now improving the menu and will have more choices for vegan guests, thanks again : )

Hope to see you again.
Have a slow life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Loved the room, the firm mattress was a delight. Plants everywhere, a tinkling fountain and caring, helpful staff. Clean rooms, and the option of not using aircon, plus lovely home made complementary shower/bath goodies and a cute shop with well chosen thai handicrafts were super nice touches.The breakfasts were great, quirky in a good way and totally delicious. Apparently the 'garden' which attracted us to the hotel was covered over last year and is now an airy wooden sala with a resting/lounging area, so that's not quite what we signed up for, but the hotel still felt like a leafy and peaceful retreat from the busy streets outside. It seems to be popular with families with small children, which is not a bad thing but we did wish there was a teeny bit more quiet in the afternoons when we wanted to nap - we happened to be around while some noisy kids also needed their playtime. Mostly the hotel feels natural, down to earth and very everyday Thai, as in not an aircon cube with tired spa touches which could be anywhere in the world. It's a lovely place to stay on the river side of the city, with plenty of street eats around and a 10 minute walk to the Tewet river boat pier along a street lined with gardening supplies, orchids and potplants. What's not to like?

Room Tip: Might try rooms higher up (we were on 1st floor) to reduce noise from children playing on deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your nice review : ) Nice to hear that you enjoy your stay with us.
Before we have lots of trees so there are many mosquitoes so we decide to reduce the garden space and built the terrace for guests to relax and lay down. However we still keep green spaces everywhere so you can feel the fresh air.

Hope to see you again if you come back to Bangkok.
Have a slow life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Wonderful experience to live in PN, people are very warm and kind here. Only we need to face the protest period in Bangkok, and the tranportation near by PN was not so good. But overall, I am my family feel very comfitable to stay here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback : )
We are sorry for the inconvenience during your stay, the protest is out of our control but now the situation is better. Even some road was blocked but the taxi driver still can go another way, also we are close to the "thewet" pier which is only 5-10 minutes-walk and the river boat stop to many interesting places such as the grand palace, wat pho, wat arun etc.

Hope to see you again next time.
Have a slow life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel

Address: 46 Thewet Soi 1, Krungkaseam Rd. | Bangkhunprom, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear guests: Please be advised we are not associated with any online travelagents. We only accept reservations via our website and our Facebook fan page Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel We are a small hotel situated within Phranakorn district ( Old Bangkok), with the concept of slow life, we hope to bring your trip and rest apart from the usual hectic environment. Learning to respect the way of nature and living among real life community are one of experiences you cannot easily find in this rush and bustle world. Here at PN we don't just offer a place to stay, but we offer experience as well. Please booking from our website only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phranakorn Nornlen Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.