We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, clean and lovely room decoration” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel to your Saves list
Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   46 Thewet Soi 1, Krungkaseam Rd. | Bangkhunprom, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 778 Hotels in Bangkok
Taiwan China
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Quiet, clean and lovely room decoration”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I felt very comfortable in the Phranarkorn Norlen hotel. The staff was very attentive and polite. I liked the individual room decoration very much. The rooms are also very clean and welcoming. The beds were a bit hard but you could still get a good night sleep. Very quiet location in an old district of Bangkok. I liked that it is within walking distance from a large temple worth seeing, and just as close to the ferry. In the area where the hotel is located you can also explore some narrow local streets and the small market nearby if you have the time. I would stay here again for sure and I happy to recommend this place to anyone who’s looking for a place to stay in Bangkok.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind review : )

Nice to know that you had a great time with us. Regarding the bed, we were recently changed those hard beds and hope guests will feel more comfortable. There are many interesting places in the walking distance. Those who don't have much time to explore the area, please feel free to ask for more advice from our staff who are willing to help you.

Hope to see you again in the future.
Have a slow life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,262
    338
    50
    16
    3
See reviews for
414
754
155
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lativa Riga
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I love this place! It has a vintage motif and a very relaxed feel. I really like their idea of capturing a specific market that really appreciates nature and strongly believes in its preservation. They offer vegetarian meals and fresh juices. Their rooms are vintage-inspired from the mundane items like hangers to the vintage camera decors. I also like how it's like an artistic yet natural all at the same time. The furniture is made from natural materials, the rooms are hand painted with beautiful designs and most of all, their garden view is amazing! I felt like coming here was not just to relax my mind, but also to cleanse my body and my soul. It was such a spiritual journey coming here and I love to come back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time write us the review : )
We care every details here for guests satisfaction and relax so it is great to know that you like our place : ) All the staff also willing to help you anything you need and want you to feel like home when you stay here.

Hope to see you again when you come back to Bangkok.
Have a slow life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

ditto to all the previous positive reviews. My wife and two teenage daughters fell in love with this hotel/hostel. The people are amazing - friendly, humble and willing to to what it takes to make you feel important.

one note for future travellers - we had a room that was opposite the main stairwell that led to the rooftop and down to the ground floor. As late as 11.30pm and and as early as 6am I could clearly hear people walking and talking up and down the stairs in their thongs/flip flops.
For me personally, this was not a problem as i am an early riser but if we were staying any longer than two nights i would of asked to move to a more secluded area for my wifes benefit. Again, this is not a negative or a complaint - this is a one of a kind place that should be experienced. This is more hostel than hotel so if you are expecting a sleep in or peaceful early night and you are a light sleeper, I would recommend a room away from the stairwell.

Also my wife wanted to mention that she had the best massage here that she had in the whole of Thailand. Unfortunately we left it to the last day so couldnt go back for me! I think the massage ladies name was penny or penn?

Room Tip: If you want a sleep in or peaceful early night, I would recommend a room away from the main stairwel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your lovely review : )
It is really great that you had a good time with us, and sorry for the inconvenience regarding the room.
Hope to see you again if you have a chance to come back to Bangkok
and come try the massage : )

Have a slow life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

There's not much I can say about this place which other reviewers haven't already said! Phranakorn Nornlen was such a pleasant, welcome surprise, very offbeat and quirky, something wonderfully different from the usual generic hotels and guest houses. I've never before stayed in accommodation with so much creativity and loving attention to detail. For Southeast Asian travellers the room rates are somewhat pricey (definitely not budget accommodation), but I felt that it was great value for money, and as the entire time you spend there is an experience in itself, I didn't mind paying extra. Service was great and food was delicious, although if you want more eating options (including Western dishes) and a proper drinking bar, you'll have to search for cafes and pubs elsewhere. The only slight downside is its location further north from the Old Bangkok area, which makes it a bit of a walk away from all the main tourist sites. 15-20 mins walk away from Khao San Rd, 30-40 mins walk away from the Grand Palace area. As we tried to walk everywhere as much as possible to save money, we were exhausted after only 2 days! However the hard mattress in our room had surprisingly magical rejuvenating properties - every morning I woke up feeling refreshed and ready for more action, with all my aches and pains having melted away! And, as I have a bit of a retro obsession, I absolutely loved the painstaking recreations of vintage scenes from a bygone Bangkok, which reminded me affectionately of old-time Malaya. Would definitely return - in fact I'm not sure we would even bother looking for anywhere else to stay in Bangkok!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time write us the nice review : )
It is nice to know that you enjoy your stay and love to come back. To visit the tourist attraction area you could you the public transportation such as, river boat, tuktuk, taxi or a bus. Feel free to ask for any suggestions from our staff, they always have some tips for you : )
Hope to see you again next time you come back to Bangkok

Have a slow life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

A thoroughly enjoyable and excellent hostel - and most of that was down to the staff themselves. We were greeted warmly when we arrived, with a complimentary drink, and help to take our bags upstairs to our room. Our room was a double - not huge, but completely adequate for our needs, and had an en-suite toilet and shower, and a balcony over the street below. The CD player with funky french music cd was a nice addition!

The location was great - out of the way down a side street, but the market stands and shopping area were within walking distance, and we were able to see about with no problems.

I cannot emphasis enough how impressed we were with the staff. They allowed us to store our luggage at the hostel after we checked out to enable us to go into town before our evening flight, and also booked taxis for us on request - and most importantly, spoke to the taxi drivers AND us, telling us what we should expect to pay based on the length of our journey, which saved us being ripped off, which happened elsewhere!!!

Would definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for you nice feedback : )
We all willing to help you feel comfortable as much as we can,even you travel far from home but you will feel like home here.
Hope to see you again if you have a chance to come back to Bangkok.

Have a slow life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

One of the best place that I have ever stayed. I love everything about the place - the vintage theme, the cleanliness, the food, the friendly staff, the cozy atmosphere. My 5 days solo travel is sort of a retreat. There were days that I just stayed in the hotel, and reflect. The ambience of the place helped me reinforce my thought process when I wrote my journal.

I also appreciate how they prepare their food. I'm not a fan of vegetarian dish, but the vegetarian meals here are really good.

I also appreciate the staff. They are very helpful and friendly. You can really see that they are trying their best to assist you. And I love it when they make you feel at home.

And try their cooking class! The complete your travel with the authentic Thai experience, you should try their cooking class :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your nice review : )
Great to hear that you had a nice stay and also like the cooking class. In the future we will provide more class for guests, so stay with us you could get more experiences.
Hope to see you again someday if you come back to Bangkok

Have a slow life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We went there 3 years ago and found this place just perfect. When we meant perfect, we meant perfect according to our criteria, which still explains why there are below 'excellent' grades to this place (which still baffles me...). And our best argument this time is just that we came back. I must state that we are not lazy people, i.e we did not came back here just because we knew it! We spent a month in Thailand this time, landed in Bangkok and booked 5 days there, went to Cambodia, then came back to Bangkok, and booked one night there, then did a round trip in Thailand, and came back to Bangkok before living, and booked, again, 3 days there.
For people who need more specific details : the whole crew is very kind and helpful and is always ready to help whatever you ask for (provided they can do something about it!), breakfast is delicious, rooms are clean and comfortable, the place is very nice and original.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your stay and the lovely review : )
It is always good to see old friends here. We try to keep the slow ambiance so after you come all around the city you could feel like home when you back here.
Hope to see you again and again.
Have a slow life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel

Address: 46 Thewet Soi 1, Krungkaseam Rd. | Bangkhunprom, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#113 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear guests: Please be advised we are not associated with any online travelagents. We only accept reservations via our website and our Facebook fan page Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel We are a small hotel situated within Phranakorn district ( Old Bangkok), with the concept of slow life, we hope to bring your trip and rest apart from the usual hectic environment. Learning to respect the way of nature and living among real life community are one of experiences you cannot easily find in this rush and bustle world. Here at PN we don't just offer a place to stay, but we offer experience as well. Please booking from our website only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phranakorn Nornlen Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.