We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the special one” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel to your Saves list
Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel
46 Thewet Soi 1, Krungkaseam Rd. | Bangkhunprom, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 766 Hotels in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 stars 1,524 Reviews
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“the special one”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We spent the last two nights of our trip in Thailand.
During the 21 days of our trip we saw any kind of accommodation so we're able to tell that Phrana is the perfect hotel in thailand: it mixes any other traditional or modern accommodation we saw in that country.
You can relax in the garden, you can surf the net, you can lay down in your room surrounded by colors, and you're in the city but far away from city noises or chaos.
It's perfect if you're a backpackers, it's perfect if you're a shabby chic traveller and it's perfect even if you're a hipster... well, quite perfect cause hipsters are never completely satisfied.
So...Stay there and don't move.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your lovely review ^ ^
We just would like you to feel that we are the same family, even we are difference but we can be friends and family here ^ ^

Have a slow life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,142
    315
    49
    16
    2
See reviews for
376
688
143
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this charming property mid June. However our stay was all too brief as was only for one night. I absolutely adored the hotel as was just so fun and styly. My husband also surprising liked it too. Our room was so cute, pretty and quirky I really didn't want to leave it! We arrived early evening however sadly amongst a heavy rainstorm which was overflowing the courtyard and common area. Perhaps due to the weather,we did find the main 'downfall' to be the humidity. So during that evening and the next morning the only solace was the wonderful air con in our bedroom as the humidity anywhere else in the hotel we found unbearable. Note too there is no lift so you have to lug your suitcases up and down to whichever floor you are on... and when it is hot and humid, not much fun. Sadly too the rooftop bar area was closed due to renovations. The breakfast was interesting, no choice but a satisfying plate of mixed vegetarian options. Pleasant and different. Great coffee though! I would like to stay again but worried about the humidity aspect. Perhaps we just arrived at a bad time!?

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review we really appreciate it : )
Rainy season in Thailand start from the middle of May until October, so I would suggest you to come after that would be our winter which is not cold but the weather is quite nice. Summer maybe too hot in Bangkok but very nice at the beach : )
We are sorry for any inconvenience during your stay and hope to see you again next trip : )

Have a slow life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We've been staying to PN for 2 nights and we fell in love, so we decided to go back for other nigths during our stay in Thailand.
The common places are perfect to relax, with a nice atmosphere, colors and cafe/restaurant. The rooms are specials, everyone decorated in a different style. The people working there think about all the details, so you have free water and tea every day, a cd in the room and helpfull advices every time you need...
Thank you for making our stay in BKK unforgettable, we hope we will come again :)

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time write us your review : )
We try to make our place not only just a place to stay overnight but we would like to make guests feel like home, even you don't have plan to go anywhere, you still can chill out here and relax.

We also hope to welcome you back here again.
Have a slow life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Beautifully decorated, unique, small hotel in convenient location outside the madness of central, modern Bangkok. Friendly, helpful, speedy staff. Great atmosphere, philosophy and food. Highly recommend it. We'll definitely stay here again if visiting Bangkok in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your nice review and the recommendation : )
We also hope to see you again next time you are in Bangkok

Have a slow life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oeselgem
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Nice place with relaxing atmosphere. Childfriendly and very nice family rooms. Very friendly and helpful staff. One remark regarding breakfast: could be more child friendly. A tempura green pepper for breakfast is not really our kids favorite's :-)

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your comments : )
As we also have family, so we understand what family want especially family with kids, we try to provide service that make your trip easier. Always open for any comments. However we are not only for guests who come with family or with kids, we welcome everyone, you can be one of our family member ^ ^

Regarding the breakfast, we change everyday and I hope you also like it. For the pepper, I will discuss with the team and improve.

Have a slow life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

At first step into the hotel, I was awe-struck by the startling attention to detail and beauty of the space's design. Never one to take photos or be particularly interested in interior design, it all changed with this place. The first evening I walked around the small, cozy, and gorgeous hotel - and took nearly 20 photos to capture the colorful murals, thoughtful arrangements of objects around the space, and the quaint rooms with quirks such as an open-face CD player hanging vertically from the wall that plays upon a pull of string, that make you fall in love. The impeccable service and quirky hospitality was also beyond expectations - a welcome drink, a free smoothie voucher, tasty, generous and varied breakfasts, a roomy outdoor lounge area, free handmade laundry detergent, and a warm, friendly staff.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the lovely review : ) We are happy to know that you like our place and the services.
You may share some of your photos with the favorite space on our Facebook page as well ^ ^
Have a slow life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I spent our first 2 nights in Thailand here having found it through trip advisor, it was the perfect start to our holiday especially after our long journey. As soon as we walked through the front gate we were thrilled with the peaceful atmosphere, the quirky decorations and the genuine friendliness of the staff. It was a great location away from the westernised touristy kao San road, yet close enough to see all the sights.

The food was delicious and the staff were exceedingly helpful when it came to us moving on to our next destination, they even rang our next hotel to book for us in thai and they found us a tuktuk and made sure we got on the right minibus!

Best place in Bangkok! Thank you!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your nice review : )
Base on the idea of " FAMILY" , so we are happy to serve you like a family member. Hope you also feel like home when you stay with us : )

Have a slow life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel

Address: 46 Thewet Soi 1, Krungkaseam Rd. | Bangkhunprom, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#35 Best Value Hotel in Bangkok
#166 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear guests: Please be advised we are not associated with any online travelagents. We only accept reservations via our website We are a small hotel situated within Phranakorn district ( Old Bangkok), with the concept of slow life, we hope to bring your trip and rest apart from the usual hectic environment. Learning to respect the way of nature and living among real life community are one of experiences you cannot easily find in this rush and bustle world. Here at PN we don't just offer a place to stay, but we offer experience as well. Please booking from our website only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel and TripOnline SA so you can book your Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phranakorn Nornlen Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.