We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“feeling like at home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel to your Saves list
Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   46 Thewet Soi 1, Krungkaseam Rd. | Bangkhunprom, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 778 Hotels in Bangkok
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“feeling like at home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

a beautiful and pleasent place! wonderfull persons !!! :)
Clean rooms, great breakfast and strategic location, quiet . very close to the river that is a great means of transport.
the staff was friendly and amenable!

I suggest anyone to stay here!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review : )
Great to know that you have a good time with us.

Have a slow life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,282
    342
    51
    16
    3
See reviews for
421
762
161
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This hotel is a hidden gem, i could expected everything, but not this surprise.. the hotel has a very special vintage atmosphere - like the time has stopped there 30 years ago in the center of old Bangkok!! we surprised upon arrival with a welcome note written on a black-board and weird delicious welcome drink. The room interiors are amazing, but the bed is little hard for the kids..

Very friendly people (especially Betna .. Thanks; i hope that i have spelled her name properly).. with good service and yami-yami breakfast :)

The location is in the center of old bangkok, very close to all of the temples an the River. The area is not so clean, but this is part of the fun ... street food just few steps away.. 7/11 supermarket, etc.

If you were expecting a 5 star boring luxury environment, this is not the correct place... but otherwise.. if you really want to feel that you are on another planet and experience something different.. then this is the one..

Defiantly will be happy to be back again :) and thanks Donald for the Music Mp3's.

REAL SLOW LIFE..

Room Tip: Try to get the Room with the Golden Budda View..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the review : )
Really great to know that you like our place and services. I think the staff that you said mean Peyton , thanks for her.

We hope to welcome back you here again next time.
Have a slow life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
106 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I wish I could keep this wonderful place to myself, but since I discovered it on Tripadvisor, that would seem a bit unfair!

From the minute we turned off the main road along a khlong to discover the guesthouse tucked away down a tiny picturesque alley, we knew we'd found a keeper. Walking in to the public area, a large open pavilion with comfy daybeds and a rabbit warren of interesting little spaces - guest laundry, bakery, quiet reading room, massage rooms - gave an immediate sense of calm and relaxation. One notices the famous murals first, closely followed by interesting displays of old sewing machines and the like, but the impression that lingers is the kindness and friendliness of the staff.

Our room was basic but spotlessly clean and very comfortable, with an excellent firm mattress. The bathroom looked as if it had been designed by Heath Robinson, and I will admit it wasn't the best shower I've ever experienced, but it did the job. The murals continue in the bedrooms - ours had potplants on every surface - which adds to the whimsical charm.

Food is available most of the day, and was very good if a small menu. The smoothies are superb!

But I keep coming back to the staff. Our flight left at midnight, and I should have, but didn't, book another night so we could keep the room. They were fully booked, but allowed us to leave our luggage in their luggage room (including lockers with keys that you keep yourself, big enough for something like a laptop) and then come back and spend the afternoon and evening in the public area, eating, drinking, charging devices and even showering and changing.

When it was finally time to go, we went to our car (arranged by the guesthouse) with a retinue of four staff members to come and bid us farewell, give us bottles of iced water, and urge us to come back soon. From our point of view, we can't go back too soon - I can see we will make Bangkok our default stopover between Australia and Europe from now on, if only to spend a few nights in this wonderful haven.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time write us the nice review : )
It is really good to hear that all the little details that we provide can touch you. We are in the middle of Bangkok which is always busy, we try to keep this place relax and be your second home even just a few days.
Guests are always have differences flights so we know that it would be better if you could just leave your luggage with us and go explore the town then get back for a shower to refreshment before the long flight.

Hope to see you here again next trip.

Have a slow life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Very elegant, family run hotel tucked away in small alley. We stayed here for 3 nights and we enjoyed the quit ambience in their garden, where they served the breakfast, lunch and dinners. Unfortunately the rooftop garden wasn’t finished (getting ready for the high season!).

The breakfast was delicious; soup, a small salad, wrap and served with toast with jam/butter. The rooms were spacious and all with a personal touch. Our walls were decorated with paintings of cats, lovely. The room was well-equipped with air-conditioning and a rooftop ventilator. The only minor thing was that the double bed/mattress was too hard.

This hotel is an excellent choice when staying in Bangkok!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the lovely review : )
Our rooftop bar is now opened. I hope you can come to see it yourself next time.

Have a slow life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaneohe, Hawaii
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed here twice on our way up north for several nights and again on our way out of Bangkok. The decor of the hotel is delightful, the restaurant has amazing food, the shop has fun spa items and souvenirs, and the service is wonderful. The staff was very helpful in telling us the best way around town and the best means of transportation. The rooms are simple when compared to Western standards, but more than comfortable with everything that you need. We loved staying here and this will be our first choice when returning to Bangkok in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, Public Relations Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review : )
We always keep improving, the rooms, the area but we will definitely maintain the relax atmosphere here as much as we can. I hope to feel like home when you stay with us and looking forward to see you again next time.

Have a slow life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This is the third time that my wife and I have stayed here and love the place for all it's quirkiness and calm. The staff are extremely helpful yet non-obtrusive. Although it is situated down a back alley, it is in a really pleasant location (Baghlamplu) and only a short walk from the water taxi station, which is a great way to get down to the Palace, Chinatown and the financial district. The only downside is that there is no Sky Train station nearby. The street food outside is very good and it is really pleasant to wander around the area during the day to sample how the Thai's live and work.

The meals are tasty and extremely good value, and the staff were more than willing to take my wife's dietary constraints into account when preparing the meals. The breakfasts are certainly original!

The rooms are very comfortable and decorated in a hippy / organic sort of way, which adds to their charm. There is a laundry with free detergent, a sitting room with internet access, and the Thai massage service is excellent. The whole place is themed on retro styling with plenty of interesting artifacts on display in various kiosks on the ground floor.

There is an air of calm throughout and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel. It's not big budget four/five star accomodation, but instead is a charming, casual retreat from the stresess and strains of a very busy city at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, Public Relations Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time write us your review : ) We are glad to hear that you have a good time with us.
Thank you to stay here again and again, like you said we are not close to the sky train, but the nearest station only takes 20minutes to get there (by taxi). However we are close to the river which the water transportation is also easy. If you are not in a hurry, I suggest to take the public boat to to see the view along the river.

Looking forward to see you both again.
Have a slow life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Let me tell you a little story about 3 young girls arriving in Thailand at 11:00pm after 24hours of traveling, taking a taxi with a dude who didn't speak a word of English through Bangkok only to be driven down what looked like the sketchiest back alley ever. Thinking those moments might be our last, we finally arrived on the doorstep of the most wicked hotel in Bangkok. This place would make any NA hipster feel like they just walked through the gates of heaven. The place is oozing with character, amazing food, and is well priced. Good walking distance to Chef Leez (best cooking class ever), temples, shopping, etc. All this being said, the highlight of this hotel had to be the amazing staff, who were extremely helpful and super friendly! Enjoy your stay at this awesome oasis! Breakfast is included ;)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, Public Relations Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review : )
As you said many interesting places around here are in the walking distance, you can walk to the temple with the big standing Buddha, to the market, to the pier to visit the grand palace etc. All the staff are willing to suggest you if you have any questions.

Hope to welcome you back here again next time : )
Have a slow life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
3.5 mi away
Ariyasomvilla
Ariyasomvilla
#2 of 778 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 stars 1,090 reviews
3.6 mi away
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
3.1 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Okura Prestige Bangkok
4.0 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok
3.1 mi away
The Peninsula Bangkok
The Peninsula Bangkok
#6 of 778 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 stars 2,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel

Address: 46 Thewet Soi 1, Krungkaseam Rd. | Bangkhunprom, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#102 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear guests: Please be advised we are not associated with any online travelagents. We only accept reservations via our website and our Facebook fan page Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel We are a small hotel situated within Phranakorn district ( Old Bangkok), with the concept of slow life, we hope to bring your trip and rest apart from the usual hectic environment. Learning to respect the way of nature and living among real life community are one of experiences you cannot easily find in this rush and bustle world. Here at PN we don't just offer a place to stay, but we offer experience as well. Please booking from our website only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phranakorn Nornlen Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.