We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow Life!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bangkok
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel
Save
You added Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   46 Thewet Soi 1, Krungkaseam Rd. | Bangkhunprom, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand (Banglamphu)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 805 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Slow Life!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This hotel is a hidden gem, i could expected everything, but not this surprise.. the hotel has a very special vintage atmosphere - like the time has stopped there 30 years ago in the center of old Bangkok!! we surprised upon arrival with a welcome note written on a black-board and weird delicious welcome drink. The room interiors are amazing, but the bed is little hard for the kids..

Very friendly people (especially Betna .. Thanks; i hope that i have spelled her name properly).. with good service and yami-yami breakfast :)

The location is in the center of old bangkok, very close to all of the temples an the River. The area is not so clean, but this is part of the fun ... street food just few steps away.. 7/11 supermarket, etc.

If you were expecting a 5 star boring luxury environment, this is not the correct place... but otherwise.. if you really want to feel that you are on another planet and experience something different.. then this is the one..

Defiantly will be happy to be back again :) and thanks Donald for the Music Mp3's.

REAL SLOW LIFE..

Room Tip: Try to get the Room with the Golden Budda View..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank asdarwish3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the review : )
Really great to know that you like our place and services. I think the staff that you said mean Peyton , thanks for her.

We hope to welcome back you here again next time.
Have a slow life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Sydney
Level Contributor
121 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I wish I could keep this wonderful place to myself, but since I discovered it on Tripadvisor, that would seem a bit unfair!

From the minute we turned off the main road along a khlong to discover the guesthouse tucked away down a tiny picturesque alley, we knew we'd found a keeper. Walking in to the public area, a large open pavilion with comfy daybeds and a rabbit warren of interesting little spaces - guest laundry, bakery, quiet reading room, massage rooms - gave an immediate sense of calm and relaxation. One notices the famous murals first, closely followed by interesting displays of old sewing machines and the like, but the impression that lingers is the kindness and friendliness of the staff.

Our room was basic but spotlessly clean and very comfortable, with an excellent firm mattress. The bathroom looked as if it had been designed by Heath Robinson, and I will admit it wasn't the best shower I've ever experienced, but it did the job. The murals continue in the bedrooms - ours had potplants on every surface - which adds to the whimsical charm.

Food is available most of the day, and was very good if a small menu. The smoothies are superb!

But I keep coming back to the staff. Our flight left at midnight, and I should have, but didn't, book another night so we could keep the room. They were fully booked, but allowed us to leave our luggage in their luggage room (including lockers with keys that you keep yourself, big enough for something like a laptop) and then come back and spend the afternoon and evening in the public area, eating, drinking, charging devices and even showering and changing.

When it was finally time to go, we went to our car (arranged by the guesthouse) with a retinue of four staff members to come and bid us farewell, give us bottles of iced water, and urge us to come back soon. From our point of view, we can't go back too soon - I can see we will make Bangkok our default stopover between Australia and Europe from now on, if only to spend a few nights in this wonderful haven.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MandiB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time write us the nice review : )
It is really good to hear that all the little details that we provide can touch you. We are in the middle of Bangkok which is always busy, we try to keep this place relax and be your second home even just a few days.
Guests are always have differences flights so we know that it would be better if you could just leave your luggage with us and go explore the town then get back for a shower to refreshment before the long flight.

Hope to see you here again next trip.

Have a slow life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Very elegant, family run hotel tucked away in small alley. We stayed here for 3 nights and we enjoyed the quit ambience in their garden, where they served the breakfast, lunch and dinners. Unfortunately the rooftop garden wasn’t finished (getting ready for the high season!).

The breakfast was delicious; soup, a small salad, wrap and served with toast with jam/butter. The rooms were spacious and all with a personal touch. Our walls were decorated with paintings of cats, lovely. The room was well-equipped with air-conditioning and a rooftop ventilator. The only minor thing was that the double bed/mattress was too hard.

This hotel is an excellent choice when staying in Bangkok!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the lovely review : )
Our rooftop bar is now opened. I hope you can come to see it yourself next time.

Have a slow life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaneohe, Hawaii
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed here twice on our way up north for several nights and again on our way out of Bangkok. The decor of the hotel is delightful, the restaurant has amazing food, the shop has fun spa items and souvenirs, and the service is wonderful. The staff was very helpful in telling us the best way around town and the best means of transportation. The rooms are simple when compared to Western standards, but more than comfortable with everything that you need. We loved staying here and this will be our first choice when returning to Bangkok in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, Public Relations Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review : )
We always keep improving, the rooms, the area but we will definitely maintain the relax atmosphere here as much as we can. I hope to feel like home when you stay with us and looking forward to see you again next time.

Have a slow life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This is the third time that my wife and I have stayed here and love the place for all it's quirkiness and calm. The staff are extremely helpful yet non-obtrusive. Although it is situated down a back alley, it is in a really pleasant location (Baghlamplu) and only a short walk from the water taxi station, which is a great way to get down to the Palace, Chinatown and the financial district. The only downside is that there is no Sky Train station nearby. The street food outside is very good and it is really pleasant to wander around the area during the day to sample how the Thai's live and work.

The meals are tasty and extremely good value, and the staff were more than willing to take my wife's dietary constraints into account when preparing the meals. The breakfasts are certainly original!

The rooms are very comfortable and decorated in a hippy / organic sort of way, which adds to their charm. There is a laundry with free detergent, a sitting room with internet access, and the Thai massage service is excellent. The whole place is themed on retro styling with plenty of interesting artifacts on display in various kiosks on the ground floor.

There is an air of calm throughout and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel. It's not big budget four/five star accomodation, but instead is a charming, casual retreat from the stresess and strains of a very busy city at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kendalmackem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, Public Relations Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time write us your review : ) We are glad to hear that you have a good time with us.
Thank you to stay here again and again, like you said we are not close to the sky train, but the nearest station only takes 20minutes to get there (by taxi). However we are close to the river which the water transportation is also easy. If you are not in a hurry, I suggest to take the public boat to to see the view along the river.

Looking forward to see you both again.
Have a slow life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Let me tell you a little story about 3 young girls arriving in Thailand at 11:00pm after 24hours of traveling, taking a taxi with a dude who didn't speak a word of English through Bangkok only to be driven down what looked like the sketchiest back alley ever. Thinking those moments might be our last, we finally arrived on the doorstep of the most wicked hotel in Bangkok. This place would make any NA hipster feel like they just walked through the gates of heaven. The place is oozing with character, amazing food, and is well priced. Good walking distance to Chef Leez (best cooking class ever), temples, shopping, etc. All this being said, the highlight of this hotel had to be the amazing staff, who were extremely helpful and super friendly! Enjoy your stay at this awesome oasis! Breakfast is included ;)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BobbiJeanB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, Public Relations Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review : )
As you said many interesting places around here are in the walking distance, you can walk to the temple with the big standing Buddha, to the market, to the pier to visit the grand palace etc. All the staff are willing to suggest you if you have any questions.

Hope to welcome you back here again next time : )
Have a slow life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrnambool, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Donald and his staff are amazing and the most helpful crew I have ever had the privilege of dealing with. I have stuffed them around no end, have to cancel and re-book my holiday on two separate occasions due to family illness. No problem for Donald, who happily altered and re-altered my booking and also recommended accommodation and trip advice for the rest of the country like Chang Mai. I could not speak more highly of Donald and this establishment. A++++++++ customer service.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JasonPushy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, Director of Sales at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your message ^__^ We just would like to make you feel comfortable even before you come stay with us. So we are willing to assist you as much as we can. Guests come from many difference places and even they read on guide books or any review may not enough. So feel free if you have any questions, we will try our best to find the answers for you.

Have a slow life and hope to see you in the future.

Donald : )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Ariyasomvilla
Ariyasomvilla
#2 of 805 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 stars 1,198 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#8 of 805 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 stars 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel

Address: 46 Thewet Soi 1, Krungkaseam Rd. | Bangkhunprom, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#105 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear guests: Please be advised we are not associated with any online travelagents. We only accept reservations via our website and our Facebook fan page Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel We are a small hotel situated within Phranakorn district ( Old Bangkok), with the concept of slow life, we hope to bring your trip and rest apart from the usual hectic environment. Learning to respect the way of nature and living among real life community are one of experiences you cannot easily find in this rush and bustle world. Here at PN we don't just offer a place to stay, but we offer experience as well. Please booking from our website only. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Phranakorn Nornlen Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing