We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel to your Saves list
Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel
46 Thewet Soi 1, Krungkaseam Rd. | Bangkhunprom, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 764 Hotels in Bangkok
La Seyne-sur-Mer, France
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“perfect !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

1 great week , everything was charming, people, place, price ! a very peaceful place where i felt real harmony, thai massages avalable for a good price, computeurs areas, childrens have their spaces too, all of this surrounded by nature with a little pond inside the cosy ground ! even tehe mosquitos repellent was there to use for free,,, and a little shop composed with home made furniture, i bought some beautiful souvenir to decorate ma home. I can only say : go to the phra-nakorn norn-len hotel you will not be disapointed if you like real life !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your nice review : ) We are glad to hear that you had a great time with us.
Now we are doing the renovation in the garden zone, will have more space for kids and something interesting. I hope you can come here again and see it yourself next time.

Looking forward to welcome you back again.
Have a slow life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,138
    315
    49
    16
    2
See reviews for
376
686
143
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Whenever I travel to Bangkok this is the first place that I check for vacancies. And since I have been at the Phra-Nakorn Norn-Len for the first time in 2010 I have come back a couple of times. You know that this place is different from any other place in Bangkok the moment when you leave the busy streets of the old town, walk through the back alley and suddenly stand in this beautiful garden like reception and open area. It is almost like an oasis in this moloch of a city. Everything is just lovely and decorated with a lot of love for the detail. By then you should find your name on the blackboard they have with a a warm hello to all the new guests of the day.

The welcome is warm and friendly. While you sort out all the details you can refresh with a cold drink and are then guided to your room. Whenever I have stayed here the rooms have been immaculate clean. The decoration is just lovely. Oldschool and with lots of charm. If you're lucky you even get one of the rooms with small balconies.

Breakfast has always been special. Though I have to admit that since my first visit it has been adapted to the more European taste. Back in 2010 it was spicier and every day was a surprise with fresh ingredients from their garden on the rooftop terrace (if you have time you should definitely check it out).

Definitley do one of the tours that the Phra-Nakorn-Norn-Len organises. They get you to places that you won't find in your typical guide book. And enjoy one of the massages they offer. For a good price you get a proper thai massage. I have always enjoyed them.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Sebastian,

Thank you very much for taking your time write us your lovely review.
Travelers are far away from home to come visit , we try our best to make them feel comfortable like staying at home. It is always good to see many differences guests come visit everyday, especially return guest like you, we feel like welcome back old friends ^ ^
We also keep improving everything here, always open for any comments. Even many things changed, staffs, decoration etc. one thing we will never change is the feeling of home here.
Have a slow life ^__^
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

There are so many hotels in Bangkok and we decided to stay here which is located in a quiet road. The artic walls, ancient devices/signs and others feature gives this hotel a different look and it stands out from any other hotel just because of its look. The staff is friendly and helpful. They gave everything to book another accommodation for me and also some advice for us what we should see in Bangkok during our 1.5 days stay. We also received a check-in present which was a body lotion, soap and a fan, which was really nice. The room was great too, equipped with a radio as well. The only downer was the shower, as soon as the rain head shower was turned on the water splashed horizontal through the window into our room, so we had to take the normal shower head to prevent a swimming pool in our room which I wouldn’t have mind :) Breaky was a bit small, but we could eat toast in addition which was quite yummy, definitely eat the strawberry jam which is very delicious. As we had to fly out very early, we kindly got a sandwich for on the way or at the airport plus small bottles of water and juice. That was really nice. The hotel has a small shop inside to buy body lotions, soap, etc. from and the products also smell really nice. As we had no time left we couldn’t check out the drinks at roof top bar where you can catch a good sight of a huge golden Buddha statue. It looks quite cosy up there. As there are a few mozzies the hotel kindly offers free mosquito-spray at the reception, it smells great and it works. Thanks. We had a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your nice feedback, every comments really useful.
Regarding the shower room, I apologize for the inconvenience, we should have notice that and fixed it for you. That's very kind that you did not mind but I have to say sorry again.
We hope to welcome you back here again in the future.
Have a slow life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

This is the first hotel that we stayed in Thailand. We arrived at night and it took some time by taxi as the taxi driver didn't know the location of the hotel. It is in the middle of rather narrow alley. We went in the street, but couldn't find the hotel at first. The taxi driver asked someone, and it was actually right there on the corner. We laughed.

When we went into the entrance, we could feel straight away that we liked this place.

The rooms has got kind of olden days feel, nostalgic something like that. In our room, we used the CD player and even the CD player was kind of old style. The quiet and soft music also had old South East Asian feel. I don't even know what South East Asian feel, but I felt that way, anyway. (Maybe from movies...)

The staff, service, food, massage, free small gift, the shop, dining area everything was fine.

In the morning, we went to catch a boat and we passed a market. It was all interesting. Getting the boat to go to the inner city was not difficult at all. I recommend the boat trip.

However, If I travel alone (middle aged woman), I would have to make sure I know where to get off at night. Or I might be put off coming back after dark or going out at night at all because it seems taxi drivers do not know the place.

Other than this, it was all good. The price seems to be a bit higher compared to other places with similar price bracket. However, this place has got this distinctive atmosphere and it was very nice.

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time write us the review : )
We are hiding in the busy Bangkok, in the small street, that's why some driver doesn't know how to get here. The area is well-known, they just don't know that there is a hotel here. So I suggest to keep our map and the phone number to show to the driver when you get lost.
There are some street that too dark to walk at night, so make sure that you ask some advise from our staffs, they always willing to give you good tips.
Hope to see you again when you come to Bangkok next time.
Have a slow life
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk, Sakhalin, Russia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

What a find! PN was delightful in every way- from in-house massages, incredible vegetarian breakfasts, amazing rooftop bar, to a super friendly and helpful staff! Originally, I was concerned that PN wasn't close to a metro stop, but the river is just a five minute walk, and I found river travel much preferable (especially in super hot May). PN was quaint, different, and super relaxing in the middle of bustling Bangkok. I would recommend this place for anyone looking for a different taste of Bangkok!

Room Tip: There isn't an elevator, so if you have a lot of bags, request a room on a lower floor:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for give us your feedback : )
Regarding the transportation, we are not close to the sky train, the easy way to get to the town is to take a taxi, tuk tuk, a bus or a boat. As you said the pier is easy to get by walk and to travel by boat is very nice experience.
Hope to see you again in the future.
Have a slow life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fuengirola, Spain
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

A Thai friend of mine recommended this great hotel for our 3 night stay in Bangkok and it was a perfect choice. The access to get there might feel a little rough, but once you get there you understand it's actually in the perfect place, in a quiet soi away from the bustling city. This place was a former school, which you can tell from the great style they have decorated it with. The staff runs it in a very Eco Friendly atmosphere. Food is great and the rooms are decent sized, although we felt it was quite hot (fan, no aircon). It's a great place if you don't need to stay at a traditional hotel. This place is full of character and the people are really friendly and helpful. The only litter "but" I would say is that the room rates are a little too high (in our opinion) as we know there area lots of nice places in Bangkok at cheaper rates, but all in all we were happy to pay the extra for staying at this charming and really cosy place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time write us your feedback, it's really helpful.
The hotel actually was a old hotel before, after renovated we still maintain some old constructions.
The idea of this place is to give the feeling like you stay at home, everyone is willing to assist and welcome you as much as they can, this is not rules but this is what they feel : )
Have a slow life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamiers, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

This guest house is the perfect place to stay in Bangkok, especially if you come with your kids. Our kids loved our stay there and really miss the staff girls who took such good care of them.
It is ideally situated near a pier where boats can take you to the Grand Palace and Wat Pho.
It's in a very quiet neighbourhood and the view from the rooftop is great.
The rooms are very nicely decorated and the bathrooms are really fun !
Excellent food and ice-cream.
Try the massage! It's quite an experience!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for you nice review.
I agree about the boat, it's very easy and no traffic also you could see the good view along the Chao Phraya river. Another fun public transportation is the canal boat which you could take to Siam square and many difference place, it fast and fun.
Please tell your kids that we also miss them : )
Have a slow life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel

Address: 46 Thewet Soi 1, Krungkaseam Rd. | Bangkhunprom, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#27 Best Value Hotel in Bangkok
#166 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear guests: Please be advised we are not associated with any online travelagents. We only accept reservations via our website We are a small hotel situated within Phranakorn district ( Old Bangkok), with the concept of slow life, we hope to bring your trip and rest apart from the usual hectic environment. Learning to respect the way of nature and living among real life community are one of experiences you cannot easily find in this rush and bustle world. Here at PN we don't just offer a place to stay, but we offer experience as well. Please booking from our website only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel and TripOnline SA so you can book your Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phranakorn Nornlen Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.