We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unique” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel

Save Saved
You added Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel
46 Thewet Soi 1, Krungkaseam Rd. | Bangkhunprom, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 756 Hotels in Bangkok
Lavender bay
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“unique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

one of the best hotels we stayed in South East Asia by far. The murals are unique, very nice concept with lots of plants and tree in the garden. Location is not really in city center. The service is good and the breakfast is yummy although quite pricey with the add ons. The room is clean and comfortable with themes.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your nice review : )
All the murals in the rooms has their own theme, hope you come and try another room next time.

Have a slow life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,090
    303
    48
    15
    2
See reviews for
367
654
137
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
WA State
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Overall experience at Phranakorn Nornlen was very good. Staff and gardens are absolutely beautiful. However, whatever you do, DO NOT USE their airport transport service (more below).
Now, top/bottom three features of the Hotel/B&B.
Top 3:
1. Staff. Absolutely wonderful staff. From the front desk, down to the Housekeepers, everyone makes you feel right at home;
2. Food. We felt the breakfast was very good. Alternating between an English/American, to what is close to a light Thai breakfast on alternating days; the breakfasts were a good way to start the day. I also believe that the food and drink is locally sourced;
3. Location is very good. In Bangkok, this hotel is not in the proximity of the SkyTrain or any type of Metro, but taxis and (the fun!) water transport (from the Thewet station down the street), will get you anywhere to the tourist sites in Bangkok. Boat ride is only 15 Baht!
Bottom 3:
1. DO NOT USE THE AIRPORT TRANSFER SERVICE. Overpriced and may be a Thai scam. I notified them three times of our arrival. Pre-paid them (a mistake) an exorbitant amount of 1,250 Baht ($42 USD) and THEY WILL NOT refund. Followed their instructions, and wandered around the airport for over an hour. Guess what? No one to be found. Took a taxi for 300 Baht (yes, one quarter the price), and got delivered right to the doorstep of the B&B. Just make sure the taxi drops the meter;
2. No electronics. No TV, radio, or even radio. So don’t expect any of that. A little disappointing given the price one pays to stay there;
3. Little inconveniences. We were in room 313 and were woken up every day around 5:00 am by a dog barking (now, that is the alarm clock).
As mentioned, overall positive experience. Thai people and food is excellent. Few words of note. If you go in March/April, expect heat. Was 40C in Ayutthaya. If you are Caucasian, EXPECT to be scammed if you walk the streets (it will happen). Not as bad as India/some parts of China, but you are a target. We loved the Blue Sapphire scam (and whatever you do, don’t go into a tuk tuk that drives right up!). Very elaborate and you will be caught up in it if you are not careful. And these scammers can be real good.
Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time write us the feedback, it really helpful both to us and other travelers.
Regarding the transfer service, I am apologize for any inconvenience, maybe some misunderstanding as if they didn't show up because of their mistake they must refund the amount you paid. Please contact the reservation about this issue and we will help you talking to the transfer as we are difference company. The transfer service price is more expensive than the normal taxi. however those who need this kind of service; pick up at the gate, drive direct to the hotel without confusion, nice driver, the pick up service is could be one of your choice.By the way the taxi from the airport is also convenience and of course the price is cheaper : )
About the scam, I also would like to warn everyone about that, there are good and bad tuktuk driver (not all), if they convince you to go somewhere that you don't want to, just say no to them. Be careful, especially the tuktuk at the tourist place such as the grand palace or some temples.They will not force you or do bad thing to you, they just convince you. For the price, please find some information before you go that how much should it be, please feel free to ask at the reception : )

Finally we really appreciate your comments, it really useful.
Have a slow life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Really, really great place to stay! The rooms aren't plush but they're quirky as hell. Each room has different murals on its walls, as do the corridors and common areas. Like a magical world! The hotel keeps its guests very well hydrated with free water and juices. You also get a free smoothie or toiletry bag when you check in. There are two large mac computers in a chillout area for internet use and there is free, homemade insect repellent to use when you're sitting out in the restaurant/garden area. The breakfast is wholesome and local, they even grow some of their ingredients on the roof. Despite the construction going on up there that was very loud in our room, we ventured up to see the rabbits and had a great time playing with them. They're adorable! Staying here is worth every penny. Make sure you take the hotel card for the map and directions to give to taxi drivers otherwise it'll be hard to find.

Room Tip: Look through the pictures others have put up and choose a mural you like!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review : ) Really nice to hear that you like our place.
You mentioned about the hotel card, yes it very good idea when you go out. As I always said, everyone know the area but they don't know there is a small hotel locate here : ) So it good that you have our map and hotel number with you.
I apologize for the noise that disturb you from the rooftop, now the construction is finished up there, I hope you can come and see the best view next time : )
Have a slow life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I have to say I wasn't that impressed with this hotel. I did absolutely love the building, furniture and décor. i'm a huge vintage fan and this place was full of quirky, beautiful furniture and fabric and had a great colonial/70s mishmash feel which would, normally speaking, have bowled me over.
however, the staff- apart from the receptionists- weren't at all friendly, the bed was the most uncomfortable I think I've ever slept on (think rock like) and the breakfast was the worst food I've had in Thailand. add to that dogs barking outside all night ( I can get used to traffic noise, but not amorous dogs!) and mossies from hell (they do provide f.o.c. insect repellent, but it didn't quite cut it)...oh and heaps of kids, if you're into that. and no taxi or tuk tuk drivers were interested in taking us into town from here, or back to the hotel. can't believe how many times we were turned down! last thing you want on the last night of your holiday- traipsing for miles because you're in an awkward spot that people haven't heard of, or can't be bothered driving to. :o(
kind of glad to have experienced this place, but won't be returning. Bangkok loft inn all the way!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am very sorry to hear that you have a difficult time here : ( I will keep your comments into our mind and discuss with the team how we can improve.
Have a slow life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

really nice hotel, friendly staff, very good breakfast, maybe a little expensive - quite a few mosquitos, overall a really nice place to stay, 10 mins walk from koh sang road. really nice hotel, friendly staff, very good breakfast, maybe a little expensive - quite a few mosquitos, overall a really nice place to stay, 10 mins walk from koh sang road.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your nice review, we appreciate it : )
Hope to welcome you back here again some day.
Have a slow life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neurope
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Been a few times here and will keep coming back for the super family friendly service, unique style, good food and ideals in this hotel. For kids you cannot go wrong - great space in the hotel for relaxing and playing with the kids and many visits are made down to the jetty nearby to feed the hoards of "royal" fish. The ferries at the jetty provide an easy way into town and meet with the metro so getting around is easy. A nice way to ease into a Thai vacation

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very for your nice message : )
From the hotel to the pier is about 5-10 minutes-walk, yes a good activity is to feed the fish at the pier ^ ^
Have a slow life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Of course the "excellent" rating makes reference to what might be expected from a guest house/B&B, rather than a hotel. Given this premise, if you are looking for a place: clean, in a strategic location, nice and warm, with excellent reception service 24h operating, together with a nice small restaurant serving excellent breakfast and other meals, well...do not waste time in reading about others.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice review and recommend us to others : )
Hope to see you again next time you come back to Bangkok.
Have a slow life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel

Address: 46 Thewet Soi 1, Krungkaseam Rd. | Bangkhunprom, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#33 Best Value Hotel in Bangkok
#149 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear guests: Please be advised we are not associated with any online travelagents. We only accept reservations via our website We are a small hotel situated within Phranakorn district ( Old Bangkok), with the concept of slow life, we hope to bring your trip and rest apart from the usual hectic environment. Learning to respect the way of nature and living among real life community are one of experiences you cannot easily find in this rush and bustle world. Here at PN we don't just offer a place to stay, but we offer experience as well. Please booking from our website only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phranakorn Nornlen Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.