We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hand painted old world charm with friendly service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel

Save Saved
You added Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel
46 Thewet Soi 1, Krungkaseam Rd. | Bangkhunprom, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10210, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Room rate 1,800-3,600 THB
Ranked #9 of 750 hotels in Bangkok
2 reviews
“Hand painted old world charm with friendly service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Staying at Phranakorn Nornlen for 5 nights really added to the enjoyment of our stay in Bangkok. The decor has been thoughtfully created with murals and hand painted decorations throughout. The covered outdoor eating area has plants and water features making it a relaxing space to unwind. The food is genuinely Thai and the fruit smoothies are fantastic. Most of the staff speak reasonable English to help plan day trips, and went out of their way to help such as when a cheap phone charger I had blew up, Sam loaned me his for the night. Wifi is free and fast enough for Facetime. A 5 minute walk to the river gave easy access to ferries to get to the centre of the city (30 Bt) but the Skytrain and Airport Express station is a 15 minute (70 Bt) taxi ride away. It is worth printing off the map and instructions in Thai from the website to give to taxi drivers as the place is tucked in a back alley. Overall a very positive stay, thank you.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,401 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,044
    295
    45
    15
    2
See reviews for
350
644
133
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Brilliant hotel! Stayed there due to the feedback on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed.
From the moment you get there you are made to feel so welcome, your name on the board, a drink on arrival, a gift and bite cream (essential and you can help yourself to insect repellent in reception). The staff are extremely helpful, the food was amazing and great location for exploring the temples in the old city. We both enjoy walking and found all the main sites within easy walking distance, not far from Thewet pier and the river tax's which is a great way to avoid the congested roads.
A beautiful, small, bohemian hotel, well worth a visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

We were staying here for three nights, extended it to four because the place was so perfect: relaxing spot in a chaotic but lovely city. The staff was very friendly and tried to help us where ever they could. The breakfast was delicious as well as the food, cocktails and smoothies. The thaimassage was pretty perfect, so we can not recommend the place enough. We will come back, if we are in Bangkok again - that's for sure.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I would describe the Phranakorn Nornlen more as a guest house than a hotel. Having said that, I would add that it is a very comfortable, clean, and welcoming guesthouse. The whole establishment has a lot of character, even quirky if you look at the architecture closely. But quirky in an pleasing way.

Here are some facts:

Interesting old quarter of Bangkok, within walking distance of the Thewes Ferry Pier on the Chao Phraya, the Thewet Market and Khao San. Very quiet location.

Very Clean, with convenient facilities like a laundry room and a shower to use after you've checked out but have wandered around all day in muggy Bangkok before a late-night flight.

Staff extremely nice and helpful.

Good kitchen, exotic (from a western standpoint) breakfasts but always with toast as a stand-by.

Little nice gestures like free beverages, discounts on their products and services, and small giveaways.

Transportation: very close to river ferries, close enough to town to always have taxis, tuk-tuks and motorbike taxis (not for the faint-hearted!). They organize taxis on request from a trusted taxi company. Very well situated for buses! Tip: figure out how to use the Bangkok buses!

Very family-friendly with a playroom, meaning a lot of little kids running around the central courtyard. Since they can be very loud, this is a positive or negative feature, depending on your perspective.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Loved the " make yourself at home " feel to the place and staff were very helpful with giving directions to places that we wanted to visit, even a couple of lesser known green spaces that I had read about. Breakfast was fantastic with different dishes each day beautifully presented. The best cappucinos we've had in a very long time. On arrival the complimentary drink vouchers were much appreciated as was the free laundry entitlement, especially having been on the road for a few days in the heat and dust. Staff had kindly forewarned us that a temple festival nearby could be quite noisy and so had presented us with earplugs, stylish eye shades and a lovely soothing, lavender balm. The noise that annoyed us the most was from some of the guests children left to run around as if in their private playground. This was particularly evident as the rooftop lounging area that was a big attraction when making the booking, was closed for renovations, so couldn't really escape from the children. River boat pier close by making it a very stress free way to get to the city.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Tranquility in a city like Bangkok it is possible. A gem to stay. Great place for children there is lots of room and entertainment from sandpit to blocks etc. We spend New years eve at PN and we had the best of fun playing games and they also cooked up the best food for everyone that night, all for free, our kids were very much entertained. On their roof top we watched some great lanterns set of in the sky.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This is a very nice family-style hotel. The staff were very helpful and happy to help with taxis, massages, etc. It's in a great neighborhood, though far from the center. As everywhere in Thailand, though, the beds have very hard pillows! Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel

Address: 46 Thewet Soi 1, Krungkaseam Rd. | Bangkhunprom, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10210, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#48 Best Value Hotel in Bangkok
#95 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small hotel situated within Phranakorn district ( Old Bangkok), with the concept of slow life, we hope to bring your trip and rest apart from the usual hectic environment. Learning to respect the way of nature and living among real life community are one of experiences you cannot easily find in this rush and bustle world. Here at PN we don't just offer a place to stay, but we offer experience as well. Please booking from our website only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phranakorn Nornlen Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.