We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay in Bangkok” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel to your Saves list
Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel
46 Thewet Soi 1, Krungkaseam Rd. | Bangkhunprom, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 764 Hotels in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 stars 1,522 Reviews
Frankenberg, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely stay in Bangkok”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and we love it. The room was very comfortable and the staff was very professional and efficient. The concierge service was perfect at explaining city and suggest place to go. Location was good also. We would stay again if we visit Bangkok.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,140
    315
    49
    16
    2
See reviews for
376
687
143
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
This One
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

If Phra-Nakorn is able to maintain their current pricing, they should remain one of the best places to stay in Bangkok. The uniquely painted interior including hallways and rooms adds a very calm and home-like ambience. The staff are very helpful, and the available food and drinks are well done. It is quiet - just a short distance from major streets and most anything you will need. The only slight drawback was the hard mattress which I actually think was quite good but some people might think otherwise - one really good thing about it is you cannot tell at all when someone else is moving in the bed.

I recommend this hotel highly!

Room Tip: No elevator - be ready to go up and down one to two levels of stairs (not a problem if you are of av...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Nice oasis in busy Bangkok. Rooms are original, spacious, bathroom is unique, atmosphere and design very genuine. Good taste.
We did not like the typical thai breakfast served every morning, should have more variety and alternatives to it.
Speaking about food the restaurant is average, concerning prices, choice and the taste of the dishes.
The massage we booked was excellent.
The bad thing is that there only seems to be tons of children occupying the hotel with their families, we seemed to be at the time we stayed there almost the only couple.
Because of that the noise can be huge.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights, as a family of 4 in an interconnecting family room, both en suites. Very comfortable, staff wonderful, breakfasts were a culinary delight, used the vouchers for free lunches too as a mid- day break. Loved the walk to the boat pier, feeding the fish etc. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blonay
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

The place is awesome. Nice atmosphere friendly staff , a lot to do for children . Warmly recommended definitely return with kids. For non family guest it could become an little noisy with all the litlle playing around. This was not a problem for us as we just added more noise with our own :).

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed here for three nights from the 13th Dec to the 16th Dec 2012.

All I can say is that it's in a perfect location - with pretty much perfect service and decor throughout.

Unfortunately the roof garden was out-of-bounds during our stay which was being updated, however this didn't put a downer on our stay there. The staff were all friendly and helpful, and booked us a taxi to the airport when our stay was over. There is a laundry service available, and in-house massage facilities. They also make their own soaps and balms - the Lemongrass being very effective at keeping the mosquitos at bay and as a pain-killer. Try some on your forehead if you've got a headache, and it'll aid with sleep too!

The river is a short walk away, and there is a river-boat terminal which provides access to the city center for 30 baht per person. This is a much more efficient way of getting into the city as opposed to jumping in a taxi, as the traffic is pretty much chaotic all day until late in the evening. Yes, this hotel is quite far away from Siam Square or Central World, but the location pays for itself when you got to bed and can hear hardly anything at night.

All the rooms have air-con, which keeps the room nice and cool at night, and there is a nice big shower in the large bathroom.

We ate one evening in the restaurant, and the food was absolutely delicious - all made with super-fresh ingredients, both vegetarian and meat dishes alike.

Breakfast consisted of a platter of traditional foods, along with the option of toast with jam and fresh fruit available.

All in all, a great experience, and highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Sometimes difficult to find for some taxi drivers but so worth it! In fact, we prefer if no one else find this place because we will go back again and again. Real, authentic, healthy, moral and full of character but with 5 star service. Free wifi, shower and baggage storage for checked out guests puts this spot in a league of its own. Superb.
Tip: they hand out cards at reception with directions in Thai for taxi drivers. Take a couple in the morning with you and you will be fine. They also arrange airport pick ups if you ask.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel

Address: 46 Thewet Soi 1, Krungkaseam Rd. | Bangkhunprom, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#20 Best Value Hotel in Bangkok
#166 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear guests: Please be advised we are not associated with any online travelagents. We only accept reservations via our website We are a small hotel situated within Phranakorn district ( Old Bangkok), with the concept of slow life, we hope to bring your trip and rest apart from the usual hectic environment. Learning to respect the way of nature and living among real life community are one of experiences you cannot easily find in this rush and bustle world. Here at PN we don't just offer a place to stay, but we offer experience as well. Please booking from our website only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel and TripOnline SA so you can book your Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phranakorn Nornlen Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.