We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and reasonably cheerful” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza to your Saves list
Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   95 Soi Ram Buttri, Chakkra Phong Road | Phra Nakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #353 of 772 Hotels in Bangkok
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Cheap and reasonably cheerful”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

There are quite a few negative reviews of this hotel, but I think this all comes down to expectations. I was looking for a basic hotel/hostel in the Khao San Road area, but away from the madness that felt clean and safe and Rambuttri provided that. For £10/night you can't really complain!

I also read several comments that the staff are very rude and while they certainly could do with some customer service training and sometimes its very hard to attract their attention when you simply want to leave your key, I also stayed in another hotel in Bangkok that is meant to be a 3 star and the staff were the same if not worse there.

Positives relatively cheap, right round the corner from Khao San, 15 minutes walk from the Grand Palace, two (!) rooftop pools.

Negatives: staff not the friendliest, though get the job done. Be aware a 1000 baht cash deposit is required on arrival, meaning you will probably have some excess baht when you leave. Bathroom like a wet room - very wet floor!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    769
    560
    174
    166
See reviews for
154
692
250
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The Rambuttri Village Inn base their reputation on the provision of standard but acceptable rooms at keen prices in a good location. Do not expect any added extras here, for example, there is no bar, no restaurant. This is a 'no frills, low cost' hotel.

The rooms start at standard single to deluxe double - the deluxe double comes with double bed, large colour TV, hair dryer, walk-in shower etc...etc..for about €25.00. There are two swimming pools and free wi-fi.

The Rambuttri Village Inn is located 5 minutes from the backpacker Khao San Road in the Banglampu area near the river but in a quieter, more laid back street. There is no food service but there are mulitple food choices within minutes of the hotel reception - afterall, this is Bangkok.

Do not expect a convivial, smiling welcome from the often over-worked staff. This is an extremely busy hotel with over 500 beds. Do have a 1,000 baht deposit on hand when checking in - the deposit is refunded when checking out.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

According to the hotel description, Rambuttri Village Inn offers airport transfers but when I emailed to book our pick-up and drop-off, the staff told me that I would have to arrange it myself upon arrival. When I replied to ask about coupon taxis and the airport express service to Khao San Road, I received no response at all. Bad customer service, tsk tsk.

Checking in upon arrival wasn’t a very pleasant experience either, as the receptionist wasn’t very welcoming. We booked a room for three but the extra bed that was supposedly in the room wasn’t set up yet, and the lady that brought in the foldable bed and the extra linen was a really grumpy one. My dad offered to help her but she dismissed it and kept grunting as though we were being such a huge inconvenience to her.

The room itself was simple and neat, but the furniture and linen were all old and there was no effort put in designing the interiors at all. There was also no water heater for coffee too, which I found to be terribly inconvenient.

As for other amenities, the swimming pool on the fifth floor is nothing special, although I think this is a good place to chill out and get refreshed after a long day of walking around the temples under the sweltering heat of the sun.

Read more: http://ready-jetset-go.com/2013/08/28/review-rambuttri-village-inn-bangkok-thailand/

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piestany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Hotel has very good location, but it is very average....
The women at receptionist desk is a no smile terminator whose only task is to charge you money and deposit....btw deposit is paid only in Bhats - so if you fly from Bangkok early in the morning you have no chance to spend it somewhere in BGK and you have to spend deposit on airport or take it home.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is typical backpackers hotel: it is right in the centre of nightlife, streetmarket all around, many bars and tourist offices to go by bus to the islands.
We went by train from the airport, then we took a taxi (70Bahts), avoid tuk-tuks: they are more expensive with higgle and without air-con....
Room was ok, clean and simple. There is a swimming pool on the roof so it was very nice to swimm in the morning. They say that in the evening it is closed...
The only annoying thing was to speak with the receptionist: you have to pay a deposit and if you came at night it could be promblem to find a exchange office because they don´t accept dolars..and don´t want to wait to the morning. So, after our long flight it was tiring because the lady at the front desk never smiled and did not want to help with anything.
Never mind, we stayed only three nights and could not wait to go to the islands..:)

Room Tip: I'm afraid that's not much to choose from, the hotel is pretty busy, but the higher floors o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Great in so many ways. It has a pool, is really clean and great value. I came here in 2007 and back again in 2013. My only moan is that it is getting busier and louder. We had an incident at 3 in the morning where a very drunk guy was kicking a door and raging around. It seemed to be dealt with very quickly though, as they have 24hr security and don't stand any crap. Beware drunk felang!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford UK
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The overall memory of this hotel is noise! Stayed in the D wing for 6 nights, just left yesterday. I am a well seasoned traveler and this has to be the noisiest hotel I have ever stayed in. I can't stress the need to wear ear plugs enough! Sadly the noise mainly is created by the cleaners on tiled corridors who start work at precisely 7:05am. How do I know this? Every morning I was rudely awaken by multiple cleaning trolleys, slamming doors and very annoying ringtones. Vivaldi's Four Seasons will never ever be the same again! The last two days we were also subjected to drilling and hammering from work being done on our wing starting at 8am. Putting all that aside, the hotel is very well positioned for the main market area, bars and eateries. Also contrary to other reviewers we found the reception staff to be very helpful. This is a very big hotel, always humming with guests so you may need to wait a little to be seen. There are always at least 3 staff available behind the desk. Just one tip, to get your room cleaned you need to hang a notice outside your door. Rooms are only cleaned by your request. The taxi back to the airport cost 400Baht so just beware of airport taxi's trying to charge you more to take you to the hotel. Great hotel for the low budget backpacker wanting to party - myself though I will never stay here again.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a good room - well a quiet room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza

Address: 95 Soi Ram Buttri, Chakkra Phong Road | Phra Nakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#40 Best Value Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza Hotel Bangkok
Rambuttri Village Inn And Plaza
Rambuttri Village Hotel
Rambuttri Village Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.